We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean hotel, staff is friendly”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Story City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is the best Comfort Inn we have ever stayed in. Very clean and the rooms are spacious. We had one of the rooms with a whirlpool tub which was a nice treat. The breakfast buffet was good and lots of it. The staff at this hotel really go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiet. Some of the rooms have whirlpool tubs which is a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Hi Joan,

Thanks so much for your kind words about our staff. I'll pass this on to them and tell them to keep up the good work!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn Story City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

stayed here this past weekend while attending family weekend activities at Iowa State in Ames. Rooms were a little pricey for comfort inn - about 140.00 including taxes - had room with 2 queen bds and one with 1 king bed - arrived late about 11PM - desk clerk - thin it was susan - was very polite and efficient - check in took about 4 minutes - rooms were nice , and bath areas good - enjoyable trip - will stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grover74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Hi Grover,

Thanks so much for leaving us this review. Many people read reviews on TripAdvisor, so seeing positive endorsements like this one is always appreciated!

We hope you *do* stay here again and that you had a safe trip home to Council Bluffs. Thanks again, Grover!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn Story City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for Cyclone Family Weekend. Check in was quick and easy. There was a case that said free cookies by the check I but no cookies were left. :-( The rooms were clean and spacious as well as the bathroom. We put left over pizza in the fridge but did not realize it was not plugged in until the next morning. There was a microwave as well. The breakfast was good and the breakfast staff was very friendly! Name brand items were offered. We were on the bottom floor near an alternate exit. My only complaint would be the noise. The door was very loud every time someone shut it. It sounded like it was slammed shut. We could also hear the tv from the adjoining room. Also we could hear the people above us. It sounded like someone was stomping around or running up and down the halls. It may have been so loud because the hotel was full.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank MolineFamily95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Hi there MolineFamily95,

Thanks so much for visiting us and leaving this kind review; we really do appreciate it!

We're sorry for the noise, Cyclone Family Weekend tends to bring in a lot of excited fans and their families. We will work hard to make it quieter for everyone next time around -- please let us know if there are any individual things or people that need our attention.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn Story City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

They offer a great place to stay at a reasonable rate. Their rooms offer adequate space and are clean. They offer excellent customer service and have a fair breakfast buffet. Their pool and hot tub area they is attractive and fun to use. They are located right off of I 35.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Reviewer567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Hi Reviewer567,

Thanks so much for leaving us this kind review! We're happy to hear you found our customer service and amenities to your liking.

We hope you had a safe trip home and that we'll soon see you again!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn Story City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

It was late and time to stop for the night, Story city was coming up so, I decided to find a place to stay. I passed up a couple hotel/motels close to the exit and drove a few extra blocks finding this property. The desk clerk was very pleasant and accomodating. The room was a typical hotel room but very comfortable & clean. After a sound nights sleep, I enjoyed the large selection of breakfast items (hot or cold) included with the room. I'll stay here again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Hi there L L,

Thanks so much for your business and review - we truly appreciate it. We're glad we able to provide a rest stop for you, and we hope we'll see you again on your way home. :)

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn Story City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Very accommodating staff, friendly and professional . We have stayed in this hotel on three different occasions for an extended period. All three times in different rooms . Clean, spacious , quiet. Pet friendly.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank ldydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Hi ldydriver,

Thanks so much for your repeated business! We're proud to have served you so well and hope to do so again in the future.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn Story City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a good place to stay located right off of I 35. The service is excellent and the rooms are clean. As an added extras the pool and free breakfast are great. It isolated near gas stations and area restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reviewer567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Hi there Reviewer657,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us this kind review.

We like to think we have a perfect location: good service at a good location that's not too far from Ames and Des Moines.

We hope you had a safe trip home and that we'll see you again soon.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Comfort Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Story City
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
10.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Starlite Village Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Story City
Super 8 Story City
#2 of 3 in Story City
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#3 of 3 in Story City
12 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 425 Timberland Dr, Story City, IA 50248-8773
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Story City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Story City
Price Range: £70 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing