We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and idyllic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pech-Luna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Domaine de Loustalviel
Ranked #1 of 2 Pech-Luna B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful and idyllic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is our second holiday at Loustalviel. Last year we stayed in 'L'Ostalet' and this June we were a little more self indulgent, renting 'L'Oustalbeau'.

The domaine is easily reached from Toulouse airport, and is situated in peaceful rolling countryside, with views of the distant Pyrenees.

L'Oustalbeau is spacious and airy, and the fittings, equipment and furnishings are of a very high standard. The grounds of the domaine are very large, and are as immaculately kept as the house and the heated swimming pool.

Julian and Nigel, who are friendly and very (unobtrusively) helpful, clearly work hard to make the experience of staying at Loustalviel a relaxing and comfortable one for their guests. We greatly enjoyed our dinners with them. The food was delicious, matched by the abundant wine.

This is a great place for a holiday with or without families. We walked along the Canal du Midi, strolled along the ridge which stretches west from the house, and apart from the obligatory trips to charming Mirepoix, visited several other places small and large, including Toulouse itself - well worth it if you have less than blisteringly hot weather.

We will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCrisell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Despite the mixed weather this was as good as it gets. Nigel and Julian run a really professional business are friendly yet unobtrusive, offer a great well priced 20 euro dinner ( the perfect way to get to know both your fellow holidaymakers and the hosts ) and are always there to help. Beautiful well kept pool, excellent accommodation ( Loustalneuf ) and above all a perfect location with great views, beautiful walks and spectacular surrounding countryside. If you don't enjoy winding roads, total peace and dramatic French countryside and expect perfect Wifi reception it's not for you. If on the other hand you prefer to relax with a wine glass in hand this will definitely hit the spot! Good luck in your new venture guys - you deserve your success.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anguskeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

My husband and I, avid travelers, made a stop at the domaine during our recent road trip through much of Europe, starting and ending in our home in Sweden. The location of the domaine, achieved after driving wonderfully winding roads through striking yellow fields of rapeseed, was one of the most idyllic of the whole journey. We had the opportunity to stay in LoustalBeau with its huge window framing the view of the Pyrenees, and join Nigel and Julian for their extremely tasty dinner.

We also have to thank them for introducing us to the village of Mirepoix. The medieval plaza was like nothing you'll typically see and its covered walkways and picturesque square beside the lovely church make a perfect spot for a cold beer and a lazy afternoon of people watching.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jes6ica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Spent a fantastic relaxing week here with family. We stayed at LoustalBeau with great views over the Pyrennees that you never tire of. Perfect hosts, Nigel and Julian, make sure that you have everything you need and it is worth asking for their hosted meal - delicious! We managed to visit lots of the local sites while we were there. Although the Domaine is in a peaceful and quiet spot away from it all, it doesn't not take that long by car to get to Carcassonne, Mirepoix, Toulouse, Grotte de Niaux, etc and have a day out. Would highly recommend this accommodation to anybody!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Rand0m_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

My husband and I spent the first week of our honeymoon in Loustalbeau in September and we had the most wonderful time. Loustabeau is a gorgeous house with a huge glass arched window which frames the pyrenees in the distance - a view you could never tire of! The house is very comfortably furnished and felt like a home away from home.
Nigel and Julian are absolutely lovely hosts, so welcoming and kind and very knowledgable about where to visit to make the most of your time in the region. We chose to join them for a dinner they host for guests and we had a lovely evening eating delicious food, drinking wine and chatting to the other guests.
There is lots to do in the area, you do need a car but it is well worth it to explore the stunning surrounding. We would highly recommend visiting the local areas of Mirepoix to sit in the village medieval square to watch the world go by and Castelnaudary for a walk along the canal - pick up some sweet treats from one of the patisseries whilst your there. We completely fell in love with Montségur - a castle ruin up on a steep hill. It is a bit of a hike to the top but the views from the ruins are breathtaking! We also visited a very interesting waterfall nearby to Montsegur (ask NIgel and Julian where this is as we can't remember the name) which is well worth a visit.
After a day out and about we would head back to the house for a refreshing dip in the pool and then sit watching the sunset over the mountains.
A beautiful place to stay, we could not recommend it enough and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

My wife and I spent a delightful week in late September in the L'Ostalet house. The accommodations, the grounds, the scenery and, especially, the hosts could not have been nicer. As we traveled about the surrounding area, we experienced a wide variety of very interesting sites. We walked the narrow lanes and pedestrian squares in the small hilltop villages, we enjoyed market day excitement, small bakeries, sidewalk cafes, a bike ride on the Midi Canal, a visit to the great walled city at Carcassonne, and many other activities all within a very short drive of the Domaine. However, and perhaps most importantly, we also made sure that we carved out enough quiet time to really soak in the Domaine and just relax. The ever changing views of the Pyrenes, sometimes enjoyed while swimming in the pool, provided a aura of peace and comfort. We also had a thoroughly enjoyable meal with some other guests and our hosts. The food and the surroundings and the company surpassed anything we had experienced the previous week in Paris. The whole week was indeed unforgettable.

Dwight and Nancy
from Roseville, Minnesota USA

Room Tip: Our house would have been quite comfortable to enjoy with another couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dwight c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

We spent a lovely week in LoustalNeuf. The location is beautiful and the views of the Pyrenees as you wake in the morning are spectacular. The property was beautiful and well equipped with TV, DVDs, books and Wii. Plenty of space for the kids and a lovely big bedroom upstairs where they were able to chill out.
The swimming pool area was great, some of us enjoyed a few days in the pool, even in October, and the others watched while relaxing at the side. The kids had a lovely time as they were able to relax by the pool, or 'help' feed the chickens. The adults also had a great time as it is such a beautiful and quiet location we felt very relaxed even after a couple of days. The hosts Julian and Nigel were absolutely amazing from our arrival right through to departure. We took them up on their dinner offer on the first night and the food was spectacular. The 'Welcome Basket' was a lifesaver as we had flown from Scotland and did not land till late - so did not need to worry about food till the following day. Julian and Nigel were also great for advising what to do/see and when, we did the local attractions which was great and traffic was minimal.
Will certainly be back again - fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vBFamily_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Domaine de Loustalviel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine de Loustalviel

Property: Le Domaine de Loustalviel
Address: Pechluna | Languedoc, 11420 Pech-Luna, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Pech-Luna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pech-Luna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three beautifully restored houses in glorious Languedoc countryside. Heated swimming pool, en suite bathrooms, lovely grounds and views of the Pyrenees. Close to many activities, including markets, bison farm, walks, historic towns, caves, etc. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing