We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bulleigh Barton Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 Ipplepen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
darlington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

brilliant place to stay , worth every penny , will be going back as soon as possible to try more fudge and carrot cake (home made) have stayed at many places over the years but this is the best. big thanks to Liz and Mark.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonymDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thanks Tony for your really kind and prompt review - and for being the first guests in the Willow Room! We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and very much hope that you will come again when you are next visiting this part of Devon. Best Wishes Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
159
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We (myself and my husband) booked the garden suite at very short notice for 3 nights in August. We had a brilliant time in Devon and at Bulleigh Burton Manor in particular. Liz was most welcoming and on our arrival we were treated to some delicious scones, clotted cream and tea in the garden overlooking the beautiful countryside. The grounds are secluded, quiet, and with good views. Although we made quite a few day trips to Dartmoor national park and the beaches, we could quite easily and happily have spent the whole time here. The garden suite includes a fully stocked kitchen, living room area, comfortable bedroom and clean bathroom. Liz was a great host giving us some delicious treats such as cakes/ cookies, maps and good conversation. We would definitely book again if we were to return to the area and would definitely recommend this place. Thanks very much for looking after us so well.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank hpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you so much for your really kind review. I'm glad that you enjoyed staying here so much and that you had time to explore the surrounding area. I very much hope that you will come back one day when you have time for another break, it was lovely to meet you. Best Wishes
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had a lovely week, staying in the Garden Suite. We were self contained with everything we needed & a wonderfully comfortable bed! The house is set in beautiful gardens & is really quiet & peaceful, yet is easy to access all the tourist spots. Liz & Mark were great hosts and spoilt us with a lovely cream tea, freshly laid eggs & yummie cake, thank you for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thanks very much for your lovely review. It was lovely to meet you and I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay. I very much hope that you will return. Best Wishes
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here one night for my husbands birthday which was a surprise for him. We had the four poster bedroom which was beautiful. Liz allowed me to come the day before to put my husbands presents in the room and wine and bits. When we arrived on the day liz had kindly added some extras ie wine cooler rose petals on the bed and other things. There is not one thing i could fault except i would like to have stayed more than one night. The rooms were stunning and the views were stunning. Liz couldnt be anymore helpful than she was and breakfast was fantastic. Liz thank you so much for an amazing night away. Last thing we were recommended the bickley mill inn ten mins down the road by liz and we went that night for a meal 10 out of 10 it was fantastic. Will defo be going to barton manor and bickley mill again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dc361972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review - I am really glad that you had a good time and very much hope to see you again when you are celebrating a special occasion. Love Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Liz and Mark were excellent hosts. We booked on a very short notice and were welcomed with open arms and cream tea on the lawn. The house is decorated with astonishing sensibility and attention to detail. Everything fits. Tips from Liz and Mark regarding hiking tours and the use of their personal maps, etc. were very helpful and appreciated. We especially enjoyed the very good breakfast and the personal conversations with the hosts.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review Frank, it was really lovely to meet you both. We very much hope that you will return one day, perhaps during the Devon Open Studios event one September. We know that you would both love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Upon arrival, we were met by Liz, who promptly invited us to a lovely Devonshire Tea on the lawn, overlooking the beautiful countryside. It is a very seclude, beautiful house surrounded by rolling hills. We stayed in the Garden Suite, which was more like a little self-contained appartment, fabulously designed and the attention to detail second to none. The towels were big and fluffy and the king-size bed sumptuous with plump pillows, pretty cushions and the most luxurious bed linen. Plenty of storage space in the accomodation and a little box of cakes and fudge on the counter. A real treat from start to finish! And that included their wholesome breakfast! Liz and Mark are very friendly hosts who couldn't have done more to make our stay an enjoyable one. Couldn't recommend this lovely B&B high enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolandanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and only wish that you could have stayed longer. We hope that we will see you again one day. Love Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Liz & Mark made us very welcome with a cream tea on the lawn and a splendid dinner, very well cooked & presented.They have a lovely house & gardens, a swimming pool ,chickens & views to die for! What more could you want, with fluffy towels & a comfy bed, peace & quiet? We slept like logs and reluctantly got up to have a luxurious breakfast of smoked salmon & scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thanks for your lovely review Anna, it was a real pleasure to meet you both. We hope that the rest of your trip was really enjoyable and inspiring and that we will see you again one day. Love Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipplepen
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Abbot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel
17.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bickley Mill
The Bickley Mill
#2 of 24 in Newton Abbot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bulleigh Barton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bulleigh Barton Manor

Property: Bulleigh Barton Manor
Address: Ipplepen, Newton Abbot TQ12 5UA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot > Ipplepen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ipplepen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bulleigh Barton Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bulleigh Barton Manor is a five star country house B&B in the heart of South Devon. It is situated between Dartmoor and the coast and is close to the vibrant and historic market town of Totnes. The house has three guest rooms, all en-suite. Breakfast is taken in the Tudor dining room. The price includes breakfast. There is plenty of free parking and garage space can be booked in advance for classic cars. Well behaved dogs are welcome in two of our rooms for a small additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Bulleigh Barton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing