We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bulleigh Barton Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 Ipplepen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed in this lovely manor house for 3 nights. Attention to detail by Liz and Mark was superb. They gave us such a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay. Liz is a fantastic cook; wonderful choice at breakfast, all freshly prepared. Dinner on our first night was delicious and we appreciated eating local produce.
Peaceful position with beautiful views and lovely garden. Great location for exploring South Devon. Hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review. We very much appreciate the time you have taken to write it. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay here in South Devon and very much hope that you will be back. Hope as well that you returned home to a scene of calm!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed at this lovely place for 3 nights whilst incorporating a family wedding. Stayed in the garden suite. It was delightful with the most comfortable bed ever. Our hosts, Liz and Mark can't do enough for you. They were gracious, respectful and really easy going. Liz,s cake was delicious, left daily for us. We were welcomed with a delicious cream tea and Liz even gave us a lift to pick up our car which we had left at the wedding venue overnight. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this delightful place to any one visiting the area. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alibee49P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

That is such a kind review, thank you so much for taking the time to write it. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and only wish that the weather could have been better on the day of the wedding for you. At least you did get to see Devon in the sunshine on Friday! it was a pleasure to meet you and we really hope that we will see you again one day. Best Wishes Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We arrived at Bulleigh Barton to have Liz apologise that her husband Mark had been rushed off to hospital with appendicitis. It didn't put her off her stride at all and we were made very welcome with tea and scones. We had the larger bed and breakfast room for two nights and terrific freshly made cooked breakfasts. We chatted about the history of the house (my father had helped in Liz's research into this) and enjoyed the quiet of the location and the views outside, as well as the wonderful rooms inside.
Since we'll henceforth be visiting my father in a local nursing home quite regularly, needless to say we returned a few weeks later for another night (and tried out the self-catering room) and intend to stay there often again, whenever we can make the time to get down to Devon for more than a fleeting visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisF19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hi Chris, Thanks for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stays here. It was lovely to meet you both and to have the chance to find out more about the history of the house. Thank you especially for the photos. It's amazing to see how little the main house has changed. We hope to see you again very soon. Best wishes and thanks again. Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

After a days work contracting what a pleasure to go back to this
Tranquility. The host could not do enough for you
I stayed in the garden suite. Lovely place. Clean and private
Breakfast was magic. Fresh and all local and home made produce. Shame I had to go to work. Loved to have had a walk around the grounds
Even home made cakes when I got home

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gedgard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hi Ged, It was great having you both to stay. I'm really glad that you enjoyed it here and hope that you will come back next time you are working in the area. Thanks as well for taking teh time to write a review, it is very much appreciated. Best Wishes Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We really enjoyed our three night stay at this delightful Manor House in a superb location just a few miles from Newton Abbot. The house has been tastefully decorated and Liz and Mark were the perfect hosts. There was a good and varied choice for breakfast which was perfectly cooked.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfredHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Bulleigh Barton Manor. We are really glad that you enjoyed your visit and very much hope that you will come back again soon. It would be lovely to see you again. Best Wishes Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is the quintessence of B&B. Attention to detail defines the Bulleigh Barton style. All is delivered with warmth and an obvious passion for providing guests with service of the highest standard. The food is superb and the choice impressive. Rooms delightful and beautifully decorated, looking out onto a well maintained garden. The hosts are friendly and genuinely interested in your comfort and contentment. In case you're wondering, the answer is no - there's no hyperbole in this review. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balanced1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

That is such a kind review, thank you very much indeed for taking the time and trouble to write it. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and very much hope that you will come back again soon, Best Wishes
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I have Just had 6 wonderful days in this excellent B&B There is not enough space to do it justice here everything and I mean EVERTHING was just perfect peace and quiet great room excellent food and and an excellent location Liz & Mark (the owners) were the perfect hosts and I have already booked my next break David Stanley Redhill Surrey

Room Tip: They are all good and all individual
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DStanley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

David, Thank you so much for your very kind review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon, there is still much to see in South Devon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipplepen
0.5 mi away
The Bickley Mill
The Bickley Mill
#2 of 24 in Newton Abbot
440 reviews
3.7 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#2 of 97 in Paignton
247 reviews
7.2 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#3 of 26 in Brixham
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
373 reviews
7.6 mi away
Higher Gitcombe
Higher Gitcombe
#1 of 3 in Cornworthy
180 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Cridford Inn
The Cridford Inn
#1 of 1 in Trusham
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bulleigh Barton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bulleigh Barton Manor

Address: Ipplepen, Newton Abbot TQ12 5UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot > Ipplepen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ipplepen
Price Range: £90 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bulleigh Barton Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bulleigh Barton Manor is a five star country house B&B in the heart of South Devon. It is situated between Dartmoor and the coast and is close to the vibrant and historic market town of Totnes. The house has three guest rooms, all en-suite. Breakfast is taken in the Tudor dining room. The price includes breakfast. There is plenty of free parking and garage space can be booked in advance for classic cars. Well behaved dogs are welcome in two of our rooms for a small additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Bulleigh Barton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing