We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Little Gem :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bulleigh Barton Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 Ipplepen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a Beautiful Place to stay, we really loved staying here for the night! Just a shame we couldn't stay longer :( Lovely comfy bed, high Quality and standards in every aspect of the way!! especially the beautiful Cream Tea & Breakfast made by Liz, with Beautiful Surroundings of peacefulness, tranquility & of course the Views...
Keep Up The Good Work Guys!!
We would def recommend for sure ;-)

Room Tip: Lovely cosy Room with some nice little extra's :) and Some Lovely fishy restaurants for an even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Furiousscooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thanks for your lovely review, that's really kind of you, we're very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Your evening in Torquay reminded us that we really need to get down there ourselves soon, there are some great restaurants coming to the town and we need to check them out! Hope to see you again one day and good luck with the future plans you were telling us about. Best Wishes Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were looking for somewhere to stay after a day at Newton Abbot races. We found Bulleigh Barton Manor and what a great find.

We were greeted my Liz & Mark, Mark was soon to offer to carry our luggage for us.

The room was lovely, decorated to the highest standard and it was very comfortable.

We hadn't booked anywhere to eat the evening we arrived and Liz kindly booked us a table at the local restaurant and also gave us a voucher to use.
We walked as it was only 10-15 mins. There was a torch to use in the room in case it was dark when we walked back. Liz and Mark have thought about everything!

Breakfast was excellent, with a great choice.

We only stayed one night, it was such a same to leave.

We would certainly stay here again. Would recommend 100%.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it was great to meet you. I hope that you had a really good holiday, it sounded as though you were going to be staying in some amazing places. We very much hope that you will return if ever you are in the area. Best Wishes Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our second visit to this little oasis of calm was as lovely as our first.

We had a different room this time which was really cosy and had all the same little extras that make this b&b so special.

Liz, Mark & Zenor, make their guests feel so welcome and nothing is ever too much trouble for them

Sadly we didn't have good enough weather to take advantage of the stunning grounds or the very inviting swimming pool - we will just have to go back for a third visit!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank marpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thanks you for your lovely review, it was really great to see you again and we are glad that you had a good time. We very much hope that you will return, with very best wishes, Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Liz and Mark (and friendly dog Zennor) provide the warmest welcome in Devon and probably beyond; a 5-star rating does not do justice to this wonderful accommodation in a perfect setting. A home from home in a historic manor house refurbished to the highest standard, it makes an ideal base for exploring south Devon. Following a recommendation by my brother and sister-in-law who discovered Bulleigh Barton Manor earlier this year, this will definitely continue to be our first choice as the place to stay for many visits to our father who now lives in a nursing home nearby. They really have thought of everything and have even been kind enough to offer lifts locally - for me as a non-driver this has been a huge help. All that prevents me singing further praises is the fear it will become even more popular and I may not be able to book regularly!!

Room Tip: Choice between B&B rooms or self-catering - all good and quiet. The self-catering room has its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildandinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are really glad that you have enjoyed your stays here. It has been lovely to meet you and your family and we look forward to many more visits in the future! Best Wishes Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at Bulleigh Barton Manor for 3 nights while attending wedding celebrations near Newton Abbot. The location is idyllic, with views over the rolling Devon countryside.
Our room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Fresh milk and home made cake on the tea tray was a very nice touch.
We really enjoyed our 3-course breakfasts that featured every imaginable treat from fresh fruit salad and local smoked salmon with scrambled eggs (for me) to smoked haddock and poached eggs or full English breakfast with black pudding (for my husband).
Nothing was too much trouble for Liz and Mark who made our stay so enjoyable.
We have no hesitation in recommending this lovely B&B and hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth8753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it is very much appreciated. We are very glad that you had a good time and very much hope that we will see you again soon. Best Wishes Liz and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

An old Manor House completely refurbished to a high standard set in a rural location. The accommodation is well above your average B&B but home from home. Liz and Mark give excellent service and know the area well. After a busy day touring Devon you can return in the knowledge that you will get some peace and quiet to recharge your batteries for the following day.
Brian & Jenny

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed your celebration weekend with us and that the weather was kind, despite the forecast! We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and very much hope that we will see you again in the future. Best Wishes Liz and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were just staying for a couple of nights and were made to feel very welcome and everything from the location, to the room, and the breakfast and cream tea on arrival was excellent! The house is in a lovely setting, with beautiful gardens and the rooms were very tastefully decorated, more like a boutique hotel than a B&B. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ASD919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizLamport, Owner at Bulleigh Barton Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay here and hope that you will return one day. Best Wishes Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipplepen
0.5 mi away
The Bickley Mill
The Bickley Mill
#2 of 24 in Newton Abbot
440 reviews
3.7 mi away
Belle Dene Guest House
Belle Dene Guest House
#2 of 97 in Paignton
247 reviews
7.2 mi away
Beacon House B&B
Beacon House B&B
#1 of 26 in Brixham
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
373 reviews
7.6 mi away
Higher Gitcombe
Higher Gitcombe
#1 of 3 in Cornworthy
180 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Cridford Inn
The Cridford Inn
#1 of 1 in Trusham
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bulleigh Barton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bulleigh Barton Manor

Address: Ipplepen, Newton Abbot TQ12 5UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot > Ipplepen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ipplepen
Price Range: £89 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bulleigh Barton Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bulleigh Barton Manor is a five star country house B&B in the heart of South Devon. It is situated between Dartmoor and the coast and is close to the vibrant and historic market town of Totnes. The house has three guest rooms, all en-suite. Breakfast is taken in the Tudor dining room. The price includes breakfast. There is plenty of free parking and garage space can be booked in advance for classic cars. Well behaved dogs are welcome in two of our rooms for a small additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Bulleigh Barton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing