We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough to come back the next night!”
Review of The Buxted Inn

The Buxted Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Buxted
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Southern England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good enough to come back the next night!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were staying locally and out for (long) days of sightseeing so needed restoration in the evening. The Buxted Inn did the first night so well, we came back the next. Relaxed atmosphere and very friendly, helpful service, with excellent food and a manageable bill. What's not to like? We had a "proper cooked meal" one night and a couple of sharing platters the next, and both were delicious. (For the platters, we had the starter size, a veggie and a fish, and they made a tasty full meal for two of us.) The food is modern British. Not a huge number of options, but enough choice - just the right balance, we thought, to be sure they could do it well - and very fresh.
We saw other diners, from old to young to very young, plus there were folks round the other side having a drink and a chat or playing darts both nights. Everyone seemed to be getting what they needed - a great credit to the staff and management. Well done, you lot!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gingergranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Buxted Inn B, Owner at The Buxted Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent visit to The Buxted Inn.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us, and found my staff to be helpful and friendly.
All of our food is cooked to order and is all locally produced to maintain the highest quality. We aim at keeping the menu simple and seasonal, providing a choice for all guests.
From all of the team here at The Buxted Inn, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Jason Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    116
    33
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good English cuisine”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Lovely food served by very efficient staff.

They also do a lunch club with themed menus which I am yet to sample.the next one is 11th August and is Spanish so I will do my best to be there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kohinoor888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Buxted Inn B, Owner at The Buxted Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip advisor regarding your recent visit to the Buxted Inn.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and that you found my staff to be efficient and attentive.
Yes we do hold a monthly luncheon club, on which the theme changes depending on the time of year. I can confirm that August’s luncheon club is on the 11th and the theme is “Flavours of Spain”.
From all the team at The Buxted Inn, we look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards,
Jason Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch treat”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Superb food, and very welcoming atmosphere.. A last minute decision as we were just driving past. To be honest from the outside we were a bit apprehensive, but I am glad we stopped by and can honestly say it was pleasure to eat such lovely food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jones59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Buxted Inn B, Owner at The Buxted Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor regarding your recent meal.
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us.
All of our food is freshly prepared and cooked to order. We take great pride in saying that all of our food is locally sourced and cooked to a high quality.
From all the team here at The Buxted Inn, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Jason Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

great little pub to meet and eat with family and friends. Food good, prices reasonable. Drinks a little on the high $ side compared to others.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graeme A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Buxted Inn B, Owner at The Buxted Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor regarding your recent meal at The Buxted Inn.
I am pleased that you enjoyed our freshly cooked and locally sourced food.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Buxted Inn in the near future,
Kind regards,
Jason Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbeech, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“enjoyable lunch”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had another very pleasant lunch , service excellent, am hoping to return ,with friends for dinner soon !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brenda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Buxted Inn B, Owner at The Buxted Inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent visit to The Buxted Inn.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us and found that my staffs were attentive and met your needs.
We look forward to welcoming you back with your friends in the near future.
Kind regards,
Jason Bailey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Buxted Inn also viewed

Uckfield, East Sussex
 
Uckfield, East Sussex
 

Been to The Buxted Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing