We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Laban Rata
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$66
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$28
US$23
Priceline
View Deal
Hotel Yaho(Kota Kinabalu)
US$26
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$28
US$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$29
US$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$41
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
30
54
49
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
54
49
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot showersummit climbprivate roombuffet dinnerbase camplong hikeplace to staytimpohon gatehot water is limitedmeals providedthin wallssutera sanctuary lodgescoffee and teabreathtaking viewscold weathernoodlesnational park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2011

While there are plenty of negative reviews below I am not so sure what people are expecting considering the location of this property and the fact that the only way to transport anything (construction materials, food, equipment) up is by human labor! They have workers constantly walking up and down 12km total daily for supplies. So of course your beer or hot chocolate is priced above standard...!

We booked through a Malaysian travel agent and received quite low rates (although we are non-Malaysian) and even got upgraded to a VIP room with a heater and hot water. The property is basic but comfortable, with a big selection for the buffet. At first I couldn't comprehend spending that much for a 2D1N Hike I felt like my money was well spent in the end, when you experience everything that is included (2 hour transfer from town roundtrip, all meals, accommodation, guide, fees, insurance etc) and break it down it was very reasonable. Just make sure you bring enough warm clothes for the second part of the hike, however they are fully equipped with everything you may need to rent from head torches to extra layers. You won't get much sleep here as it is quite noisy and your sleep patterns are thrown off. Overall I don't think one should have high expectations for a hike stopover but it is quite comfortable and standard, as we had expected.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandtangg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I had read a lot of horror stories about this place and expected the worst. We were plesantly surprised when we arrived. The restauarnt area was warm (it was very cold and wet outside) and the food was pretty good and filling. If you order anything outside of the buffe, t which is included in the price, it's fairly expensive. The dorm rooms were cold and dark but did warm up through the night so it was fine by the time we woke up (2am). Showers are cold at all times (contrary to the idea that hot showers are available if you are fast enough). Sleep quality was poor due in part to the altitude. Don't expect the marvelous views if the weather is bad. Overall, fine for what you need but pretty basic and obviously over-priced due to it's amazing location but all part of the Mt Kinabalu adventure! PS - Good Luck!!

Room Tip: book as early as possible (we booked 5 months in advance)
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmobum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Stayed in late August/September 2010. Was pleasantly surprised to find such facilities in a national park, in fact a World Heritage national park given that such facilities are generally not available in Australian National Parks.

Pros
The location
The people
The good quality of the limited buffet meals
The range of services, provided you are prepared to pay, including a cold beer!

The cons
No hot water
Toilets bordering on unhygienic, but staff worked hard to clean
On the expensive side

All things considered, I felt lucky to have a safe, comfortable break to split the walk to the summit. The alternative would have been camping which would have been very uncomfortable, damaging to the environment and would have lost the opportunity to relax with the many international visitors and wonderful porters and guides.

You have to remember that you are up a mountain where everything has to be transported in by local porters, enjoy the experience.

Room Tip: Get there first!
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HobartResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

stayed here during mt k climb (no where else to stay :) its cold when you initially come up after day one of the climb but very cosy as small and lots of ppl (depending on when you climd i guess). we stayed in dorms, i was in a room of 4 and the others were in a room of 10. room of 10 was warmer and ours of 4 was very cold.
take ear plugs if you can as can be noisy in the night, however i found most ppl did not sleep well. I got biten by bed bugs or something, no one else did but guess something to be aware.
food is tasty and keeps u warm. water is boiled and fine to drink
when we went no hot or running water and given how cold it was we did not shower, just used baby wipes. a coulpe of ppl did shower in icy water, do it if you can. they do something have hot water.
enjoy the views as they are breath taking and i wish i spent more time looking at views but you do need to rest as the next day you do get up pretty early.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhungryLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

the laban rata house on 3200 meters is not more than a hostel. average rooms, small bed, poor washrooms with limited hot water supply. for mountain climbers it does not have to be luxury but for the price you pay, you could expect a bit more maintainance.
the restaurant is great and they provide very delicious regional and western food including pancakes for breakfast! the restaurant team is making a super job!
at the end, there are no alternatives. if you want to climb mount kinabalu, you have to stay here for one night... so enjoy yor trip, the view, your meals and meeting other mountaineers and just forget about what you payed for the bed...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeckenschreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews