We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful place to relax” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinabalu Pine Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kundasang
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Peaceful place to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed here with my family for one night after touring Kinabalu Park and Poring Hotspring.
Although hotel is basic, it is clean and comfortable. From where we were staying at Block D, we had a direct clear view of Mount Kinabalu. Since we were there on a weekday, the resort was quiet and peaceful and the cool mountain air made the stay refreshing.
There was only one restaurant there for meals but the food taste was good and prices reasonable. Definitely worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Rooms in Block D have clear view of Mount Kinabalu from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kopicham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    160
    77
    15
    14
See reviews for
113
94
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

stayed there for a 2D1N for our anniversary,it's a quiet place (minus the noise from the car that passes by at the main road)
for our stay we got block J room if i remember it correctly. both me & my husband love nature,so staying here for the night is just great. didn't get to see the mountain view for it was hazing that month.
for dining,just too bad we cant go for another restaurant outside (we dont prefer the restaurant near the road - dusty) but it wasnt a bad idea to eat in the resort restaurant,food was great & we love the dinner prepared.
the room is clean. not to mention a nice veranda where you can just chill and have an evening tea with your other half. (there is mosquito at night,quite a lot - just incase this info matters)
we have a walk around the resort and found this cute rabbit house and a rose garden. they have quite pretty flowers planted around. just unfortunate that the charges for transport back to the city is very expensive,so we walked those 7k to kinabalu park where we have to wait for cheaper transport. (its a good excercise!)
so if u guys rather have everything hustle free,go with a car or booked with tour agent (a bit costy for us,so we manage our own transport)
hope this help!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed overnights here for 2 days, I just fell in love with the breath taking sceneries.
Fresh air yet comfortable. Go for sightseeing tour to Poring Hotspring, Kinabalu park, desa dairy farm etc. The hotel location is just nice, surrounding with many beautiful Pine tree. Great view from our room. Well done

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulyna_jee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed here on 2 separate nights before and after Climbing Mount Kinabalu. The choice was made to be near mount Kinabalu but not in the park itself, it was selected for the promised views of the mountain. The weather was not kind to us and we never saw the mountain during the day.

The resort is very basic, we booked a superior room and wondered if this was superior then what are the rest like.

The reception and front office staff were very helpful, unlike the restaurant safe that did not understand us, and had little or very basic understanding of english. Even my wife's limited Malay did not seem to help. Luckily the front office staff were able to provide a bridge between us all

The package we booked included meals, and on the first night we did not enjoy dinner at all. The package allowed two choices of main, and if these were not in your diet then nothing else would be offered, beef curry and squid. Neither were pleasant. On the second visit I was prepared to forgo this and order from the main menu, however we were very surprised to receive a totally different meal which we found to be of totally improved quality and quite tasty. Hence the chalk and cheese experience.

The restaurant does not permit alcohol inside and will serve meals on the deck outside if you want a beer with food. Unfortunately if it is raining then there is no cover.

Room Tip: As mentioned superior rooms offer best views when they are available No Minibars in rooms for cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary_TLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Although my stay at this resort was short, I enjoyed myself and am very pleased with the entire experience.

The reception was very helpful and knowledgeable, and their restaurant, called The Pines, served reasonable food. Although the quality of the food itself wasn't always fresh and terrific, but the cooks did what they could with it and they tasted just fine to me. The servers in The Pines also provide great service in the own simple way, and I really felt their warmth.

Rooms are great. Every cabin has its own patio, which is perfect for chilling out during the day. The room itself is surprisingly clean for a place that's situated among the mountains, and I was impressed by the bathroom and the shower.

There's a viewing stage that provides a fantastic view of Mount Kinabalu; I woke up just around sunrise to see the light hit the mountains and Mt Kinabalu in its golden glory. It's beautiful.

There's also a Rabbit House which provides abit of furry entertainment to guests, with 2 feeding times per day (8am & 3pm).

The entire atmosphere of Pine Resorts is so lovely and totally family-friendly, I'd definitely choose them if I were to go to Kundasang again. Great job!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirls B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed there for 1 night to enjoy the Kundasang weather and Kinabalu park.
I saw in the hotel lobby that it is rated as 2-star but I have to say it is more than that!
Location: This hotel is strategically located. You can see the Mt. Kinabalu from the hotel. It is only a short walk away from the stretch of little market place where you can get fresh flowers, vegetables and fruits.
Room: Nothing to shout about but it's clean and comfortable.
Hotel: lovely garden with a variety of flowers.

Room Tip: Getting a deluxe would be better as it's only 1 storey. Standard room then it will be 2-storey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CP K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Kinabalu Pine Resort is somewhat pricey but the view of the mountain is excellent. Go for the Superior rooms - they face the mountains. Breakfast is average but sufficient. The outdoor restaurant is amongst beautiful pine trees - very picturesque. The restaurant food is pricy and average - but it'll do the trick.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyx799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kundasang
5.7 mi away
The Cottage Hotel Kundasang
2.4 mi away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kundasang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.6 mi away
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
#4 of 13 in Kundasang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
#3 of 10 in Kundasang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
14.3 mi away
Sabah Tea Garden
Sabah Tea Garden
#6 of 27 in Ranau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ceaser's Place
Ceaser's Place
#7 of 10 in Kundasang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinabalu Pine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinabalu Pine Resort

Property: Kinabalu Pine Resort
Address: Kampung Kundasang (along Kundasang Ranau Highway, Kundasang, Ranau 89308, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Ranau > Kundasang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kundasang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kinabalu Pine Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinabalu Pine Resort is a multi-award winning & privately run accommodation that caters to budget-conscious travellers.All of our cabins have wide open porches facing Mount Kinabalu. Unlike our competitors, all of Kinabalu Pine Resort's wooden cabins are fully built using the exclusive Selangan Batu hardwood. There are Standard or Deluxe cabins, with blocks S & N at the resort's crest. All rooms come with WiFi internet access, satellite television channels, intercom facility, en-suite bathroom, hair dryer and coffee & tea making facilities.Dining & entertainment'The Pines' caters local, Chinese & Western cuisine. On cool windy nights, try ordering Steamboat (Chinese hot pot). Our karaoke lounge & bar opens nightly from 9.00pm to 11.30pm. A Conference hall to conduct your meetings and seminars surrounded by lush greenery and beautiful landscaping. Our facilites can cater up to 150 delegates in theatre setting, or up to 60 in classroom setting.Other facilitiesIncludes an on-site children's playground, outdoor barbecue pits and public telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kinabalu Pine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinabalu Pine Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing