We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Troisgros
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel du Golf(Villerest)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Domanial(Commelle-Vernay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Central(Renaison)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NB Hotel(Parigny)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
196
33
18
10
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
33
18
10
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenestablishmentheavendishesdesignshowercomfortdelightmealbrandzenmonsieurpastsurroundings
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

As usual, the welcome in this wonderful establishment was incredibly friendly and most professional. A delight. The room (a junior suite) beautiful, comfortable and well appointed. Ms Troisgros has a real knack for color and design. The meal was delicious. Cuisses de grenouille, gambas, followed by a canette. I word these dishes in a way as laconic as the menu does. I don't like this new fashion of simplifying the menu. Without going to the excesses of American menus, which essentially describe the whole recipe, this is too simplistic to wet my appetite. And it makes it hard to chose. So did we chose wrong? Maybe? Because the dishes, as good as they were, failed to surprise me. I lacked the excitement that I used to see here. And it's not like everything was perfect either. Service was very friendly but off. Many mistakes throughout. The new decor is beautiful and daring for its minimalism. But we were in a small room, and all the staff turned their back to it, tending as they were to the larger room. Seeing their backs all night was not gratifying. Perfection in the plate? Not always either: the duck lacked any crispiness. The tarte feuilletée was soggy from its tomato and fig garnishing. The fluffed potatoes were greasy. The winelist is wonderful, with many prized bottles, some extraordinary growers like Coche Dury, that you can really only get in 3 star restaurants (and at a reasonable price too), plus a very intelligent variety of rather affordable wines from our next generation of superstars from all over France. Bravo for that! A wonderful evening, but nevertheless a let-down. They'll do better next time I hope. We were in solid one star territory here, not three.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank i-live-for-lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

One of the few places that has kept it's class. Professional, friendly and natural staff. Wonderful food and wine. Very nice dining room with comfortable chairs. We stayed in a lovely big and quiet suite.

It is located next to the railway station in Roanne however the hotel is a quiet little heaven. It is easy to explore the country side and next time we will try their new establishment outside Roanne to visit vineyards. However we will not be able to resist lunch at Maison Troisgros!

Room Tip: Look at the website of the hotel to select a room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solstua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed 1 night in a standard double room.

The staff were highly professional from the first contact and this continued throughout the stay.

Delicious iced tea and brioche were in our room on entering and were a nice way to start. The room itself was small, but good use was made of the available space with chairs, a walk in closet and amenities like a Nespresso machine.

The bathroom was fairly small as well but they managed to get a bathtub, separate shower and twin basins in without it feeling cramped.

Dinner at the restaurant was brilliant, but I'll write about that separately.

Definitely recommended as an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamW_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We like gastronomic spots, not always Michelin rated places, but to go to one of the most famous french haute cuisine restaurant holding 3 stars for years - you need a special occasion for that. We had one in March. So we booked a hotel for one night and the restaurant of course. What can I say? Everything generally is correct - a glasses of champaign in the bar while reading the menu, very innovative cocktails appetizers, maitre d'hotel taking orders, all this is, let say common, for an establishment of this level (remember Louis XV or Manoir au Quat Saisons). But what happens after......it's not the same. They show you the kitchen, ok this is interesting for 5 munites, than you go to your place. No table-cloth... Why? People doesn't come here to get some food before get to bed, this is place of special occasion or a gastro trip, but not a bistro. The room is dark and not welcoming. The food - there are hits and miss, I will not talk about everything we had, but from the seven or eight courses, maybe two were close to 2 or 3 stars. You expect different level when you go to "L'etablissement aux trois macarons"
I don't want to say it's tired, but we were a bit disappointed.
The room was good. The breakfast they serve in your room next morning was excellent, a really Michelin breakfast ! Roanne is very boring town. If don't have a business with local people or not visiting Troisgros, nothing to do at all.

Room Tip: the best room is on the first floor with big balcony
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

While we did not suffer at all. The expectations were perhaps too high as the establishment has been around for a long time and belonging to the Relais & Chateaux. The 3 Michelin stars for the restaurant was the reason for our stay for one night.
The decor was very modern and "minimalistic".
The lights were controlled only from the bedside, so if you were not in bed this was a bit annoying. There were two windows with shutters. They were electrically controlled by only one button, which closed both shutters. So, it was not possible to only close and open one.
There was a step up to the bath room/toilet, which was not "kind to your toes" in the night!
We might just be a bit old-fashioned, when it comes to styles and may be accustomed to the warm and elegant styles of most hotels with the stamp of "Relais & Chateaux". We did not feel we were in a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews