We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricey but comfy accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A little pricey but comfy accommodations”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Newer hotel. Very comfortable accommodations. Breakfast had a nice variety. Good location in a Urbandale just off interstate. The only problem was when housekeeping came at 845 and we asked that the room be cleaned later and they didn't return. When my in laws expressed a bit of concern with that, the person at the desk didn't seem too interested. Even so, I think that was a glitch. The rates were a tad pricey fir the area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank IowaStateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
iowastatetraveller,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay, we apologize for any inconvienience during your stay. We have taken your comments and addressed them with our housekeeping department and are continually working to make sure that the issues you expressed do not happen again. We hope you have the chance to come back and give us another try so we can show you just how great we can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    56
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
68
22
8
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel was very clean and well staffed. When we arrived, there were 5 of us checking into different rooms and the front desk checked us in in no time. So well organized.

I cannot say enough about how clean our rooms were and how great our beds were. The beds were super soft, like expensive pillowtops, both my husband and I have back problems and neither of us had any problems.

The bathroom vanity was very modern with open section for towels and extra items and very clean.

I was very impressed with breakfast, as they had plenty for all the teams that were staying in the hotel and seemed very clean even though they had a full house for the weekend.

Location is just off the highway and very easy to get to.

Room Tip: We were on the front of the hotel and still had very little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank futbofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
futbofam,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, we do everything we can to insure that each of our getst have a wonderful stay. We hope that you have a chance to come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Have stayed here before, will try Microtel next door the next time here. Quoted price for king room was $119.99. AARP discount only $5. Finally got business rate, a $10 discount, whee! We stay at Holiday frequently but was not impressed with this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilredlakemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank your for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate any feedback from all of our guests. We have taken your comments and forwarded them to appropriate parties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We decamped to this hotel after a disaster at the Ramada. The prices were a bit exorbitant due to the state fair going on but it was a good choice. The property is brand new and very nice. For this type of property the breakfast was better than most (scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, etc.). Much more than toast and bagels in a lot of places. Get there early though because they run out before time is up and they don't seem to replenish.

The only complaint I would have is the location. If you don't have a car there's nothing close by although we walked to the Starbucks down the road. However, it's not for everyone as we had to walk on the shoulder of the road and cross over the freeway! It's not the safest thing to do but when you need your coffee you need your coffee!

There are many new things going up in the area so I'm sure this situation will change.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floor because there is lots of noise from stomping children above you (if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvMyVespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. We hope that you have a chance to come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Three is no doubt that the doors close, and no doubt that they are VERY heavy. Unfortunately anytime someone goes in or out their door crashed closed and the sound is carried throughout the walls. Nothing the staff can do, just poor building design. One other issue that may be related is that the heating / AC system is louder than many other hotels, perhaps being used as "white noise" in an attempt to cover up the constant banging of doors? (If so, it doesn't help!)

Other than that, the room was clean, large, and a decent price. If you are a deep sleeper or sudden loud noises do not disturb you, then you will probably find this a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasnast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate our guests letting us know where they think we can improve. We apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory for you. Our doors are designed with you and your belongings safety in mind making sure that any time somone leaves a room the doors close properly. We are looking into this matter internally and hope we get a chance to service you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

stayed here Friday July 5 and the parking lot filled quickly after we got there. We were just passing through while the others were there for sports and a reunion. Thankfully, we got a room on the top(3rd) floor at the end by the stairs. We never heard any noise from people or cars but my husband was bothered by the air-conditioning unit. It made a horrible noise each time it kicked on. I was able to sleep through it fine. The place looked new, was clean and the beds comfortable but when we walked into our room, there was an odor that hit me and again when I went into the bathroom(right off the entry). It didn't linger into the rest of the room so it wasn't worth complaining about. Strange for such a new place. Great TV channel choices but frustrating when the tv would freeze and then start up again making us miss part of the show. We have since experienced this at other hotels. Breakfast was good( usual HIExpress choices).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liketotravelr06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank You for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are not sure what the smell you descibed could have been, but we are looking into the matter in house to continually prevent this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Most HI Express hotels are good -- so I often consider those. This one was up to par. It was a newer hotel so everything was in good shape. Desk personnel were helpful and got me a couple more nights there despite everything appearing booked online. Room was clean and comfortable. Exercise room had good equipment - recumbent bike, three treadmills, elliptical, a good pulley-style weight machine, dumbbells up to 50 lbs. and a weight bench. Room was big enough and had TV, water, towels and mats. It was clean, too. Kids used the pool and said it was good. Breakfast was typical of HI Express, well stocked and maintained. Really no complaints at all about this place. I'd go back again without hesitation unless I found something comparable at a lower price. Access was good, just off interstate, and there were a few restaurants in the vicinity, but we ate our meals in other areas of town. Business Center had OK computers and monitors -- but the printer didn't work (or maybe I couldn't figure out how to make it work). Other than that, this hotel was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We hope we have the change to serve you in the future. We have forwarded on your comments to all employees for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
0.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
0.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
Address: 8789 Plum Dr, Urbandale, IA 50322-6245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing