We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
Nearby Hotels
US$123
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Urbandale)
US$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Renovo(Urbandale)
US$156
US$146
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
81
60
23
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
60
23
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdes moinespancake machinehie propertytypical hiethe breakfast areathe hotel is conveniently locatedroom was cleanoff the highwaythe main reasonyogurtfront desk staffnice hotelwould stay here againstayed here for one nightqueen suiteair conditionereasy access
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night - the hotel satisfied our criteria as we travel, viz:
1) must have gym
2) must have wifi
3) must have breakfast
-- we prefer 'Holiday Inn'
Reception was pleasant and welcoming.
Has great gym.
Bed and room clean and bed was comfortable.
two small "issues":
1) strange smell in one of the stairwells
2) breakfast was pretty average - not as good as we expect from Holiday Inn
Otherwise we were happy with the stayt

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murraygray69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for choosing us for your travel needs. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do apologize that you did not enjoy our breakfast. There are some exciting changes to the menu coming soon. We hope that you get a chance to come see the new changes in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Very clean. Rooms in excellent condition. Close to interstate but no issues with traffic noise. Breakfast was standard HI Express fare but service staff was outstanding. Pool was a big hit with the kids.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank On_The_Road29360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that we were able to provide you with a nice comfortable stay. We hope your travels bring you this way again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We chose this off of the IGH app due to a weather event changing our plans suddenly. Be sure to mark this one you won't be disappointed. Rooms well appointed, clean, modern amenities. Breakfast the standard HIEX fare but presented well in a lovely modern dining area. Peter the evening front desk staff was VERY helpful in helping with a reservation issue and was very personable. When we are back in Des Moines this will be my exit! Oh and the beds are awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

We are so glad that you found our location convenient for your travels and that we were able to help you out with your reservation. It is our goal to make sure every guest has a memorable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My wife and I were on an emergency medical trip to Urbandale and a relative reserved a room for us at this Holiday Inn. The room was excellent with all the comforts of home. The Breakfast Buffet was above par as far as Continental Breakfasts go. One of the main enjoyments was the pool and especially the heated Jacuzzi, bringing soothing relief to our tired muscles after driving for two days from Florida. My only negative comment is on the price. For the motel, we were charged $122.00. I don't believe the price was out of line for the quality and service. The only reason I mention this is because we are retired, on a limited budget and we were on an emergency medical visit which required a minimum stay of at least one week. If we had the money, we would have stayed the full time but the uncertainty of our length of stay forced us to reluctantly leave after one night and find another motel. We found nothing wrong with this wonderful motel. it has excellent staff and is in a great location. Modern, up to date facility. If you can afford it, I highly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: If you have time, match up discounts to defer costs. Coupons in booklets at state line rest areas can be a big help.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We look forward to your next visit to town and hope you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The staff were friendly upon check-in and accommodating. We had a room on the 3rd floor (4 floors) right next to the vending machines. Rooms were nice and smelled clean. Plenty of room in the 2 queen suite for a family of 4. Convenient location to other restaurants and attractions.

Somewhere around 9pm on our first night we began to notice a terrible odor coming from the vending area and it was seeping into our room. We called the front desk to describe the sewer-gas like odor. We were told that due to construction next door, they experience a sewer gas smell in the hotel at night. The front desk clerk did attempt to pour water down the drain to mask the smell, but it didn't make much of a difference. The next morning we were moved to a new room and the smell was better on the 4th floor. I was told once the construction stops then the smell will go away. I'm not sure when this will be, but I can tell you that I would avoid staying here until this issue is remedied. Also, for being a new hotel, the soundproofing is horrible. We could hear each step the people on the 4th floor made as we were trying to sleep.

The breakfast buffet was well stocked, hot, and delicious.

An average hotel at best. Avoid until the sewer gas smell is fixed.

Room Tip: get a room on the 4th floor so you don't hear others walking around when sleeping.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwills0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

dwills0777,

Thank you for your feedback, We are sorry to hear that your stay was not 100% to your satisfaction. It is our goal to do everything possible to make our guests stay a great one. We have taken measures to ensure that the issues you have brought to our attention are not a concern for the future. We hope to see you next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews