We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Arrived and check-in was quick and easy. Our room was clean and well appointed. The staff is exceptional. Easy on and off I-80.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerGe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    123
    46
    12
    7
See reviews for
138
101
28
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This is a typically good Garden Inn. Nice rooms, helpful staff. Food is good, but the breakfast is not complimentary. The only negative is the morning sun glaring into the breakfast area without adequate window coverings to block the sun. It makes it a bit uncomfortable to need sun glasses to be able to see your food at breakfast.

Room Tip: I80 is close by so a room on the "quiet" side is a good idea. There are no ground floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johndeereguy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Great stay. Staff was exceptional! Clean hotel and nicely cared for. As a Diamond Member and frequent traveler, thanks for the hospitality and pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqTrav24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

As a diamond member, I stay at a lot of hiltons, but they really made me feel special at this one. Making sure my needs were met, sending up a nut and cheese platter, very nice staff. Rooms were clean and pretty standard. My only complaint was that the price seems quite high, I think I paid $180, for a weekday in a surburban location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I kind of hesitate to write this recommendation because I don't want to see this gem getting too full. But I think the staff deserves it.

I have been going there consistently for a few years and I want to compliment the hotel on its consistency.

The rooms consistently clean. The staff consistently well trained and courteous. Cookies ready when check in :-).

Nice little gym. The place just works for us as we travel back there to see family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Very nice hotel. My only complaint was the TV. I had been driving all day and wanted to veg for an hour or two in front of the TV. While the TV was a flat panel HD, it was old and not great. There was not a single HD channel and many of the channels had a sign saying the channel wasn't available without some sort of digital decoder. The SD channels that were available looked terrible (worse than on an old standard TV). I bagged it and just went to sleep. I am writing this review in another HGI while watching HD TV on a much nicer TV. The Urbandale/Des Moines HGI needs to upgrade their TV service. It's way behind the times and a blemish on an otherwise excellent property.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jssp90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Hilton Garden Inn properties typically equate to nice hotel stays. But this property was by far a cut above typical. Although the entry, lobby and eating areas were basic HGI footprint, their indoor swimming pool/whirlpool area was more spacious and brighter than usual. They had a functional Fitness Center, but there was also a large Convention/Banquet Facility with numerous meeting rooms. To a person, the staff were tremendous, but we especially appreciated Taylor and Emily at the front desk. Located immediately next door is a Texas Roadhouse, and the front desk provided us with a coupon for free appetizer :-) As a Hilton Diamond member, our made-to-order breakfast was complimentary as always, but the upgrade to their Executive Suite was totally unexpected. Along with several other guest amenities which were provided, it all made for a superb hotel experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
3.3 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines/Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Address: 8600 Northpark Drive, Urbandale, IA 50322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale Hotel Urbandale
Hilton Garden Inn Urbandale
Hilton Urbandale
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing