We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG too cool”

Iowa 80, World's Largest Truck Stop
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Walcott
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Paris
Level Contributor
57 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OMG too cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped while the truck jamboree was going on. It was amazing. They had everything from A-Z inside & out. We ate in the restaurant & ordered the house ribeye...omg it was cooked perfect & the taste was outstanding!!!! Ready for another one!!!! :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martha-1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    111
    26
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boone, Iowa
Level Contributor
353 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Lived in Iowa all my life and Never Tried this Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Their food was buffet style or choice of sandwich. I got the Southwestern Hamburger with just the salad bar, but I wish I would have gotten the whole buffet for $8.99 after tasting how fresh their salad bar was...well next time. My hamburger was huge and scrumptious! Our waitress was so so, but eventually got the job done. We went shopping and bought a couple of T shirts, their assortment is very impressive and sizes go up to 3xl (adults). A very clean place with a fun atmosphere, will definitely not drive by again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Azona50036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendship, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Attraction, Ho-Hum Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We loved the truck stop, and it made for a great day. However, I highly warn you of the pork or chicken dinner that is served in one of the tents. First of all, it was such a hassle to order because their menu said nothing about a chicken sandwich, which they also served and the guy taking our order couldn't explain what they had in a simple way so we sat there for about 5 minutes being entirely confused. Me and my sister's chicken was tough and not warm or hot. Hers also had a blue tint to it in some parts. We both went without eating the chicken and just ate the bun it came on. Our drinks all had black dots floating in them so we had to buy some bottled water later. Our chips were okay, but otherwise we were all really disappointed.
Anyway, the truck stop itself is pretty cool!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaitlyn Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent stop on I-80, has about anything you need for travelling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This truck stop has everything from hotels to gas stations to multiple restaurants, along with gift shops, fast food, etc. It is right on I-80 so exit from and entry back onto the interstate is easy. It makes a nice place to fill the fuel tank, empty the kids, and eat a decent meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark and Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Truckers Jamboree 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I've never been out to this truck stop before, probably the coolest place ever..I'd say it's 1 of the greatest wonders of the u.s.a ....I drove out with a friend to see the truckers jamboree... it was amazing, the trucks sitting in the Museum were really cool...it's nice to see their collection of restored vehicles.. im going out again this week
,,,this is one place people have to stop at while traveling on I-80 it's definitely a place to see ... nothing in the United States is as big as this truck stop. .
I'll be there in 4 days going out this coming Friday afternoon,anticipating this might be some different truck sitting out there at this year Jamboree
I'll make this probably a new tradition go out every year to see it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iowa 80, World's Largest Truck Stop also viewed

 

Been to Iowa 80, World's Largest Truck Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing