We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, quiet, and clean”
Review of Super 8 Walnut

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Walnut
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walnut
Reviewed 6 July 2014

In the midst of a cross-country road trip, we found ourselves without a place to stay for the night as we approached Omaha from the west. The College World Series was in town, and the hotels in Omaha were either booked or triple their average nightly rate. Enter the Super 8 in Walnut, an hour east of Omaha, with an inexpensive rate and a few unbooked rooms. They also score some major bonus points for being located right off of I-80. We booked the room at around 8pm, and we were lucky that we did, since the place would end up fully booked by 10pm (I heard the front desk clerk tell a few people on the phone that there was only one room left, but it was a smoking room).

Speaking of the front desk, Deb (who checked us in) was incredibly friendly and helpful. When you're weary from a 600-mile day of driving, it's nice to be greeted with a smile and genuine warmth. Once we were checked in, we went to our room, which was surprisingly big. The bathroom was nice, with a separate sink area just outside of it. Another nice perk: a laundry room adjacent to our room. Everything was very clean, though the bedspreads and carpeting were dated. On the whole, the place seems like it could use a remodel, which is the only reason I gave it 4 out of 5. The other negative is that the breakfast spread wasn't very good -- small and not a lot of variety.

Despite the drawbacks, this is an excellent hotel for the money. It's an especially solid choice for road trippers or those visiting Omaha during a particularly busy time.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a non-smoking room. Also, closer to the front desk is better.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank preppy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Walnut
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank barnstormer1517
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel every week for a year as part of my work. Even during the down times when they had little business. Then when they sold out (knowing I was coming) they gave away my room for higher paying customers. In twenty years of this job I have never had a hotel do this to me or even hear of such a thing. So stay there if you like. I however will never be back. The hotel down the road said that will never happen to me with them, looks like I will be staying in Stewart Ia.

Room Tip: n/a no comment
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike_m37816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
2  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Irishtomato19
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Alfred P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut
6.0 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Avoca
12.1 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Atlantic
83 reviews
11.6 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites Harlan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Walnut
6.1 mi away
Motel 6 Avoca
Motel 6 Avoca
#1 of 3 in Avoca
275 reviews
6.0 mi away
Capri Motel
Capri Motel
#3 of 3 in Avoca
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Walnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Walnut

Address: 2109 Antique City Dr, I-80 Exit 46, Walnut, IA 51577-3037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Walnut
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walnut
Price Range: £49 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Walnut 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super 8 Walnut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Walnut
Walnut Super 8
Walnut Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing