We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality & portion sizes not good.”

The Black Horse Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Black Horse Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nestling in the picturesque North Downs it���s hard to believe that Maidstone is only a stones throw away from Thurnam���s Black Horse Inn. Looking from the outside like the most traditional pub in Britain ��� white washed, tile hung, sash windowed, sign swinging in the breeze ��� inside will come as no great shock. In winter you���ll find a roaring fire in the imposing brick fireplace, dried hops drape from the ceiling and antiquey dark wood is in abundance. In summer diners can head outside to a paradise of shadey pergolas, ponds and green lawn or eat in the conservatory. Homegrown produce is key in a sophisticated menu which combines traditionalism with contemporary dining with impressive results.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality & portion sizes not good.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I recently visited the Black Horse with my family, on a Saturday lunchtime.
Unless money is no object I seriously would steer clear of this venue. A child's meal is £6.95, for a burger, chips and beans. My daughter had the burger and couldn't eat it because it was dry and over cooked. I think £6.95 for a child's meal is extremely over-priced considering the portion sizes - they don't get a lot on their plate for that price.
The whole menu was expensive. A burger and chips is £11, and isn't a patch on the nearby restaurant Oak on the Green.
The Black Horse used to be a lovely place to go with nice portions of well cooked food. It is clearly trying to cater for the more upmarket guests. One of the meals on the menu is £25! In fact you couldn't get a main meal for less than £10.
Look at the prices online before you go. If you want a good portioned, well cooked meal definitely go to Oak on the Green in Bearsted. Beats this hands down

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    136
    61
    54
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, Kent
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Full of character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Had lunch in this beautiful, full of character 18th Century free house situated on the Pilgrims Way.
The gardens are lovely to sit in, and the bar featured beams, hops and open log fires. The menu was excellent, varied with lots of specials including some great fish, good draught beers and Chapel Down wines – all served with a smile. Good experience and would be happy to recommend and return. Only criticism was that we sat in the conservatory and oh my, it was so hot we were mighty glad to retire to the cool bar for a further drink.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner in a beautifully dressed restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

My Husband and I went for an evening dinner to celebrate our anniversary on a Sunday in July.
After reading all the positive reviews, our first impression of the outside we were slightly disappointed as it looks like a typical pub down a country road.

However, when we walked into the restaurant we were blown away by the originality and cosy-ness of the room. It's certainly authentic with it's 18th century demeanour.

There was lots to choose from on the menu. Our food arrived quickly and was delicious.

A great little find, will definitely visit again soon!

Helpful?
Thank dillyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice pub disappointing meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is the second time we had tried this pub, the first time being a Saturday lunchtime last November and we had a very lovely time and the food was good.
Booked a table for my husband and I on the 3rd July 2014 as it was his birthday and we thought we would treat ourselves for an evening out. We were seated by a lady who gave us menus and took a drinks order. A short while later another waitress came and asked us if we wanted to order.
We asked if we could have our drinks that we had ordered and that we had not made up our minds on our food order. She apologised and said that the bar was busy and she would chase them up. We had our drinks and placed an order for our food, we also asked for a jug of water.
A waiter then brought us the jug of water, followed 2 minutes later by another jug of water served by our waitress which we sent back. A little time later our food arrived. My husband had ordered the BBQ ribs with relish and chips and I had the chilli beefburger with chips. They supplied my husband with a finger bowl to use after he had eaten the ribs. We have never seen such a small portion of ribs 5 in total which were black not with sauce but with being burnt. They had tried to cover this by adding a watery BBQ liquid over the top, which ran off when he picked the ribs up to eat. They were so dry that he did not have to use the finger bowl at all. The price of the ribs and chips were £10.95 which when you saw the size of the meal we think was too much. When the waitress came back to collect our plates she asked if we wanted desserts and we said no just the bill as the ribs were a total disappointment. She said she would have a word with the chef and when we received our bill they had deducted the ribs off the total. We appreciated the gesture but we would rather have had a good meal and a pleasant evening than the deduction. All the staff that served us were very charming and the pub is lovely but we won't be going back again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrietsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Poor mass catering”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I were invited to attend a private charity dinner dance in the Black Horses function rooms in June 2014. This cost £50 per ticket and there were three well known medical charities being sponsored. I understood that the meal itself was charged at £37.50 per head, i.e. only 25% of the ticket price was going to the charities. The music was provided free by a third party. Food was pre-ordered from a three course menu plus a cheese course, with just a choice of two items per course.

For £37.50, the meal was terrible. We choose melon for the starter. The portion was minute and it was dried up. I reckon if 40 of the 80 guests there chose melon, they could only have used at the most two melons. Our lamb main course was cold and very unappetising - those who chose salmon fared better I believe. The desserts had all the hallmarks of of being bought in and not made on the premises. Our choice of strawberry shortcake contained only one strawberry and the cream in it was obviously synthetic. At our table for ten, the cheese provided would feed two at the most.

I felt very sorry for the people who, with the best intentions, organised this event to benefit charities but at the same time to provide an enjoyable evening. The small numbers of staff evident worked hard and the venue was pleasant but the meal was a terrible let down for £37.50 a head. £25 a head would have been expensive for what we got but at least this would have doubled the amount going to the charities. The function room's bar must have made a large profit for the pub in addition.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Horse Inn Restaurant also viewed

Boughton Monchelsea, Maidstone
 

Been to The Black Horse Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing