We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thurnham Keep Country House B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Detling Coachhouse(Maidstone)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Maidstone(Maidstone)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel(Maidstone)(Great Value!)
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel(Maidstone)(Great Value!)
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
184
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskent countrysidehomemade jamswonderful hostsblack horseguest roomslocal pubnorth downsawesome place to staybreakfast was delicioushouse is beautifuldeep bathbeautiful roomthree roomscoffee and cakemoment you arrivestately homewonderful weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and this has to be one of the UK's finest B and Bs!

You stay in one of three rooms in a beautiful country house. Each room has far reaching countryside views and also overlooks the fabulous gardens. NB there are no showers, however you do get to bathe in the original Edwardian baths!

It's like living in a house which you would see in Country Life, however there is absolutely no stuffiness. Amanda and Mark are perfect hosts and also cook a terrific omelette for breakfast! There's even home-made honey!

This is a great place to stay when visiting Kent. You won't regret it if you book!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank JADLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have just returned, from having a wonderful night stay, at Thurnham Keep. Amanda and Mark are the most gracious hosts. Thank you for the delightful scones and shortbread.
Breakfast was delicious well done Mark!
The house is gorgeous with fabulous rooms, it is a real pleasure to stay in such a lovely home.

Everything was perfect! We will definitely be returning in the near future.

Graham and Lesley

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lesleys821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

You know that feeling when you turn in to the driveway of a hotel or a B&B and wait for your heart to sink because it doesn't match the pictures? Thurnham Keep surpassed every possible expectation. It is a GORGEOUS house with fabulous rooms and a breathtakingly beautiful garden which guests see from their bedroom windows. There are wonderful walks along the downs (the owners' dogs like to come along) and the best possible hosts. The hosts were easy going and delightful and had great suggestions for pubs, etc.. We were very glad that they arranged the bookings for us. Breakfast was delicious too. But honestly, it is the hospitality and intelligence and discretion of the hosts that combine with the spectacular beauty to make it a great choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneElliotPersuasion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Thurnham Keep near Maidstone is one of my favorite B&Bs on our whirlwind tour through the UK. Amanda and Mark, our gracious hosts, were immediately welcoming and engaging, in spite of their preparations for a party to meet the parents of their daughter’s fiancé. Not missing a beat, Amanda served refreshing drinks for us to savor in their sitting room. Bearsted, a mile away, offers a larger selection of fine restaurants, and happened to have a classic car show with fairground organ that afternoon. For dinner, Amanda made reservations for us at the Black Horse Inn, an easy walk down their driveway. After dinner, Mark, a second guest and I played snooker on their huge billiard table. This was a unique experience in a renovated mansion that had been in Amanda’s family for decades. Our plush double en-suite (with an old fashioned bathtub and hand shower) was clean and comfortable, and very spacious with great views of the surrounding countryside. We paid BPS 140, which we consider great value for the accommodations, breakfast and company of our friendly hosts. This B&B mansion is a keeper, convenient to Leeds Castle, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oesy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We arrived after a longer than expected journey to a very warm welcome and a glass of wine and nibbles, I was well impressed. Our room was delightful with view over garden. Tea and coffee available in room with television and internet access. Bathroom was fab, for shower lovers you will have to enjoy the experience of a luxury soak in the bath with perhaps a glass of wine!!! Breakfast was excellent served in beautiful room. Gardens were immaculate with swimming pool, tennis court, and bowling green.Just down the driveway, excellent pub with excellent food which we enjoyed for our three night stay. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1960Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews