We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL LOCATION, VERY PET FRIENDLY, GREAT ATMOSPHERE, VERY GOOD SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Stayed her while relocating to England with 2 dogs and 2 cats in toe. Chalet style rooms with modern decor, wood flooring, nice furnishings.
Nice little extras like bottled water and fresh coffee making facilities.
Very well maintained gardens.
Very pet friendly. Lots of nice walks and places for dogs to run free. Chalet rooms in horse shoe have there own garden space out front so no long night time walks with the dogs or early morning treks for wee wees. Also benches right outside chalet, great for smokers.
Meals available at the pub. You get a pub atmosphere with good restaurent quality food and so the prices relect that of restaurent quality. Don't expect pub grub. It is fantastic though.
Service was great, rooms spotless and everthing you need.
Would be great for families and couples.
Definately would recommend this and would stay there again. Unfortunately I am now sitting in a hotel in Chester which is more expensive than this hotel and does not have any of the facilities, service or quality of this hotel. Wish I had stayed in this hotel longer:(

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmadavis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2011

Yes, this is our third visit to the inn.
No point telling you about the facilities (you can check my other 2 reviews), but just to tell you that it is as good as ever.
The restaurant within the pub is a must. Can recommend the ham hock terrine, calves liver, fillet of beef and chocolate fondant.
Breakfast was lovely as usual!
Staff friendly, especially the lady in reception (who I believe may be one of the owners).
Don't believe the negative reviews, we always have a lovely time here!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cockneyreggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Our family of four (with one-year-old twins) stayed at the Inn as a stop on our way from Germany to Cornwall.
The weather was lovely so we were able to sit in the picnic area outside the cottages and have drinks from the pub while our babies slept already.
In the morning, they were very friendly and understanding at breakfast, where our kids made a huge mess in the pub.
The breakfast included any variation of full English as well as a buffet with fruit, toast etc.
It was very quiet despite the proximity to the motorway.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Decca78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

The grounds are beautifully kept. The rooms are spatious and clean and the staff is spot on. The restaurant is fantastic, book on the porch if you can. We loved it, The Black Horse Inn is the perfect English Country Retreat!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sexyeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Very friendly service and a nice cooked to order breakfast, this establishment consists of chalet rooms down a small hill behind the pub/restaurant.
The place is dog friendly and the rooms are compact , but there is freeview and wi-fi.
If you like the countryside, you're in the middle of it - recommended value at £80 bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We stayed for two nights in March. The Inn is built up of several rooms built like apartments, with a pub close by. We didn't hear any noise from the nearby pub. We had no problems finding the place with a gps. Lots of parking-space.

The service was overall very good. We got an adapter from European to English plug to borrow so we could use our portable computer. And one of our party forgot his toothbrush, but was given a travel pack with toothbrush and paste for free.

The room was simple, good and clean. If I were to be a little picky I'd say the interior design was a little bad/boring. The TV is also quite small with few channels, but then I'm not on holiday to watch TV. Plus for free coffee, tea, shortbread and water. Personally I don't like huge warning signs about this and that on the wall, but then this is a B&B.

The location is good, and you have to drive through some small countryside roads to get there which I liked. There are also good places to go hiking straight out of the Inn, or just a short walk to nearby castle remains. It is also quite close to the motorway.

Breakfast was very good, but I missed yoghurt and fruit. Full English, cereals and white/brown bread with local spread.

The pub right by the Inn is very atmospheric and serves good food. A table must be reserved if you want to eat dinner as the place is very popular. The check-in lady had already reserved a table for us before we arrived even though we hadn't done so our selves, just in case we wanted to eat at the pub - which we did. On the last day we were a big party for lunch, and the food took ages to arrive - over 30 minutes! But it soon arrived after I went to ask what was going on.

The place is a little expensive at 85£ for a double room. And we though Internet was free, but costs 5£ per go!

All in all the place is to be recommended and is a good change to a normal hotel, but is more like 3 AA stars.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maintitles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

I recently has occasion to spend three nights at The Black Horse, the first night was spent in Dandelion Lodge which was clean, comfortable and well equipped with towels and bathroom toiletries. The room was over warm at first due to the heater being on full but this was soon rectified by turning it off and opening the window. The next day, following an unusual plumbing disaster usually only seen in Laurel & Hardy films, I moved to Larkspur which was a slightly larger room with a double and single bed. This room was also well equipped but the décor was slightly tired and there was a strange sour smell which I couldn’t identify. The beds were very comfortable with nice fresh bedding and lots of pillows for relaxing and when the outside lights went out at midnight it was very dark and quiet so aiding a very restful night’s sleep. My only complaint about the rooms would be the lack of TV channels (I could only get BBC1 & 2, ITV and Channel 4) and the fact there is only one easy chair despite the rooms being aimed at dual occupancy. I was advised that this block is due to be closed for refurbishment very soon.
The pub was very welcoming, warm and cosy – quirky set up with the hops strung along the ceiling and down the beams, there was a very good range of drinks available including real ales and ciders. The food was very good and was all freshly cooked, although the prices were a little expensive, especially for starters and sweets, you did get a good quantity. There is a special menu at lunch during the week and on Monday & Tuesday evenings which offers good value for money – example being 3 courses for £15.50 evening meal.
The staff members were on the whole very pleasant and helpful.
All in all I had a very pleasant stay at The Black Horse and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yollom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
1.7 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 17 in Maidstone
1,641 reviews
0.9 mi away
Detling Coachhouse
Detling Coachhouse
#9 of 17 in Maidstone
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 17 in Maidstone
1,813 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#14 of 17 in Maidstone
378 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#13 of 17 in Maidstone
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Address: Pilgrims Way, Thurnham, Maidstone ME14 3LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Thurnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range: £92 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century Pub / Restaurant with beams, hops and open fireplaces serving real ales and country wine. 27 beautiful en-suite rooms in the grounds provide a peaceful haven around the duck pond. Ideal for business or tourists. Close to Leeds Castle and only a 50 minute train journey to London. Lovely gardens and outside dining area. Also licensed for Civil Marriage Ceremonies.Fully equiped air conditioned business centre ideal for conferences, meetings and training seating up to 80 delegates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Maidstone
Black Horse Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing