We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a stop over.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The Black Horse Inn is an interesting pub to visit with an excellent restaurant. The accommodation is spacious and well kept. I would certainly recommend it and will return for further visits.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melec57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
There are newer reviews for The Black Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

What a delight. Ancient old inn with charm good beer and food. Hidden behind are modern purpose built chalets. Best of both worlds. Staff excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelvinYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This is a well run operation with basic accommodation in a series of chalet type buildings in the grounds of a country inn. It is located fairly close to the M20 and although the site is well screened the constant hum of traffic is not entirely excluded.

The inn provides reasonable “pub grub” - the choice is huge, which is always a little concerning. The rooms are plainly furnished to minimal standards; we had a room with a small double bed and a single bed but there was only one chair provided. The motel type accommodation was obviously popular for overnight stays by business people visiting the Maidstone area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nick_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

lovely accommodation, very friendly and helpful staff, gorgeous breakfast and great food in the pub/restaurant too. Would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We had a really good meal in the restaurant and the pudding was huge! Rooms were of a good size and all the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Attention to detail and attentive friendly staff are the key to this place. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable. The meals are top rate. This has been a bolt hole for us for some years now and we never get tired of the area. Although we do not have a dog it was nice to see people with their pets allowed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

It was a lovely sunny afternoon when we arrived so it was lovely, now that we were parked safely in front of our little chalet, to sit in the sunshine and take advantage of the excellent range of real ales available, we had pre-booked for dinner (you must - because its a really popular restaurant and you will soon see why) - the food was great, and reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and efficient. The chalet was lovely, clean, and included generous supplies of tea and coffee etc as well as toiletries and fluffy towels. Our only negative point is to add to the views already uploaded re the fact that the walls between the chalets are very thin and you can hear every noise made by your neighbours, fortunately, our neighbours were quite quiet but if they hadnt been then I dont think it would have worked out so well. This is an ideally situated hotel, near enough to the Eurotunnel to avoid a long drive the following day and far enough to provide you with a delightful country hotel and bar experience to enhance your holiday rather than merely using it purely as a stopover. We were set off on our way after a well served and high quality breakfast, the freshly made coffee was particularly welcome, so many hotels these days think its ok to serve rough and stewed coffee - but not here, it was lovely, we would definitely stay here again on future journeys to the ports.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cag65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
1.7 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#9 of 17 in Maidstone
1,614 reviews
0.9 mi away
Detling Coachhouse
Detling Coachhouse
#10 of 17 in Maidstone
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 17 in Maidstone
1,765 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#12 of 17 in Maidstone
183 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#14 of 17 in Maidstone
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Address: Pilgrims Way, Thurnham, Maidstone ME14 3LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Thurnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range: £87 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century Pub / Restaurant with beams, hops and open fireplaces serving real ales and country wine. 27 beautiful en-suite rooms in the grounds provide a peaceful haven around the duck pond. Ideal for business or tourists. Close to Leeds Castle and only a 50 minute train journey to London. Lovely gardens and outside dining area. Also licensed for Civil Marriage Ceremonies.Fully equiped air conditioned business centre ideal for conferences, meetings and training seating up to 80 delegates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Maidstone
Black Horse Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing