We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay. New Year's Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay. New Year's Eve”
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here with eight friends to celebrate the New Year. We booked it months ago because we have eaten here a few times before and found the food to be of a high standard. We stayed in The Sweet William room. All rooms are very comfortable, well equipped and our room along with our friends was in a quiet position. We all agreed, this was on of our best New Year Eve's we have ever had.The food was just fabulous ( let's be honest, how many disappointing meals have we all had on NYE ?). The pub wasn't too crowded and there was a lovely atmosphere in there. The disco was excellent. Added to this and most important was the staff. As always they made the night. They were so friendly,professional and also great fun. We can't thank them enough for making our night so special. We can't recommend this place enough and look forward to returning soon.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank haventravellers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    160
    33
    28
    12
See reviews for
123
237
21
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed here for a weekend with friends. We did initially get lost from the M20, as our directions were to go along the A249 and then turn off, when in fact the turn for Detling was less than a few hundred yards from the M20. The road to the Black Horse is very narrow too, so beware if there is something coming the other way!!!!

The resturant was packed and it was a bit difficult to get round to the bar for a first drink. Too chilly to stay outside. OUr accommodation was in 'cabins' - wich are named after flowers. Very nicely appointed with all that you need, although to get the TV to work means using twio different remote controls!!! A word of warning, these cabins are built on to a slope. If any member of your party is diabled in some way, it is a bit of a hard walk, espeically if your cabin is at the bottom of the hill. I suppose one could ask for a cabin near the top, but we did not make the booking and were unaware of the position of the accommoation.

The food was okay but then I am quite a fussy eater - I just like plain simple food and a lot of itc came with dressings/sauces, etc. For various reasons we were unable to have breakfast, but I am told by my friends that it was more than adequate. If we were to stay again, it wold be with the proviso that we had one of the cabins at the top near the pub and not at the bottom.

Room Tip: If disabled/incapacitated in any way, get one of the cabins at the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sussexite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I found this place on the Internet ... We wanted an overnight, with our dog and somewhere near the shuttle.
The whole experience was pleasant, from calling to book.....through to booking a table where our dog was made welcome.

The room was a cottage annex and set in well lit grounds. It's bed was comfy and the room was warm. There was a lovely touch....instead of a bedside light it was a small table top Christmas tree.
There were lots of fluffy towels and the bed was comfy.
We ate in the bar, our steaks were done to perfection and the bar was very comforting with a log fir crackling in the corner,

This is a place I would defiantly stay again. A real find

Room Tip: Sweet William was our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cchristinej9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

The Black Horse Inn is historic at its core, no doubt providing rest and comfort to countless travellers on their ancient Canterbury Pilgrimage route and inside it doesn’t disappoint.

As much as I like contemporary style, I would be happy to spend some quality pub time in a cosy old chair with a pint of real ale and a paper just looking up occasionally to admire the ceiling of Kentish hops and enjoying the olde world charm of this characterful hostelry.

Unfortunately my stay was a very brief one night on business; by contrast the accommodation chalets had more of a holiday village feel about them than a B&B. This is not a criticism, merely an observation.

The service in I enjoyed in reception was friendly and relaxed both at check in and check out.

The Room was comfortable even though the floors throughout were my “pet hate” light wood laminate giving the room an undeserved austere feel but that is a very personal like/dislike; If I have a criticism it would be the TV which was very small and quite far away from the natural viewing position.

Great shower and good bathroom facilities and most importantly for the business traveller, the room was equipped with an Iron and Ironing Board.

My room was relatively distant from the Main Inn building but an umbrella was provided for when the weather was inclement, it's quite a steep uphill walk to dinner in the main building.(More about the Restaurant in the in my other guide).

The breakfast service was again friendly and efficient; I ordered the full English which was hot and quickly served. One egg; 1 bacon rasher; 1 sausage and 1 small field mushroom! The produce was reasonably good just needed to be a little more generous.

In my opinion, breakfast is the last impression you have of a B&B; good is not sufficient, it needs to be memorable even better if it’s a spectacular; very often it is what differentiates and in this respect I was a little disappointed.

Would I stay again, yes probably but there is stiff competition out there with some great privately owned B&B’s that offer a great value and quality; so my advice to the fine folks at the Black Horse Inn would be to check out what the opposition is up to and make sure you are one step ahead of the competition.

Sort out the Breakfast, make it a signature and a showcase of the best Kent produce and make it something we remember this lovely Inn for.

Room Tip: If you have problems with mobility, maybe ask for rooms that are near to the main Inn building, that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nubiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed just one night but everything was no problem. We had an accessible family room that was perfect. Dinner was very good and breakfast was the best English breakfast we've had. I'd go back just for the breakfast! We would love to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thekla924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Black Horse Inn - the surprise was that it was much better than we expected.

The staff were terrific. We enjoyed dinner and breakfast over two nights. Food was great.

The room was fairly basic but very clean.

Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammanford
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed for two nights this October whilst visiting Brands Hatch for British Superbikes.
How many ways can we compliment the staff. Absolutely wonderful. They've obviously undergone extensive training in customer service. Multi tasking is a norm. We had a minor problem on the busy Saturday night, quickly resolved with a generous offer from the restaurant manager. The chalet rooms were lovely and the planting and general aspect was beautiful. However, people with mobility issues really need to highlight this to the staff as the layout of the chalets could prove a problem. A gastro pub, recommending wines to accompany the meals is a really nice touch. Say hello to Ben the cat in reception.

Room Tip: People with mobility issues need to ask for a room at the top of the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
1.7 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.9 mi away
Detling Coachhouse
Detling Coachhouse
#7 of 15 in Maidstone
213 reviews
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#3 of 15 in Maidstone
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,522 reviews
14.5 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,154 reviews
7.3 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Property: The Black Horse Inn
Address: Pilgrims Way, Thurnham, Maidstone ME14 3LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Thurnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century Pub / Restaurant with beams, hops and open fireplaces serving real ales and country wine. 27 beautiful en-suite rooms in the grounds provide a peaceful haven around the duck pond. Ideal for business or tourists. Close to Leeds Castle and only a 50 minute train journey to London. Lovely gardens and outside dining area. Also licensed for Civil Marriage Ceremonies.Fully equiped air conditioned business centre ideal for conferences, meetings and training seating up to 80 delegates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Maidstone
Black Horse Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing