We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Black Horse Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$127
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Maidstone(Maidstone)
US$111
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$85
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$91
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Maidstone (Sandling) Hotel(Maidstone)(Great Value!)
US$113
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel(Maidstone)(Great Value!)
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Maidstone (Leybourne) Hotel(Maidstone)(Great Value!)
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grange Moor Hotel(Maidstone)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (613)
Filter reviews
613 results
Traveller rating
353
177
36
30
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
177
36
30
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsticky toffee puddingbirthday mealchalet stylepork bellynorth downsan umbrellalovely mealvaried menumain buildingsunday lunchcalves liverleeds castleroom keystayed here for one nightcooked to perfectionmain course
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 613 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed one night in early June 2013. Check-in and check-out was a breeze. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean and quiet. The free WiFi was a bit weak but did the job. There is ample free parking. The pub has an excellent outdoor area to enjoy a drink or two. We had a superb dinner at the restaurant which offered an extensive menu. The full English breakfast, cooked to order, was served in the pub and was complemented with a wide selection of cereals, juices, etc. All in all, excellent value and service. While the Black Horse Inn is slightly off the beaten track, it is well worth the effort and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pyctravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed at the Black Horse Inn for three nights while visiting Sissinghurst and Great Dixter.
I cannot tell you when I enjoyed a stay in a hotel more. This place is an absolute gem, from the warm welcome from Michelle in reception to the friendly and efficient staff. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable and the food excellent. The quirkiness of the layout of the inn is enchanting; I would love to see it in the winter with the fires blazing. I'm usually wary of recommending places to other people, but I'd have no hesitation in telling them about this place. Ewan was absolutely charming and has the good taste to be a member of Royal Dornoch Golf Club and special thanks to Lisa for sorting out our table for dinner on the Saturday. The only slight hiccup is that, if you're a bit dicky on your pins, it would be advisable to ask for one of the roooms nearer the main building as the hill from the lowest level is fairly steep Other than that, just GO and please say hello to Bill the cat for me!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linnie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We went to the Black Horse Inn to celebrate a friend’s 60th birthday in the Pilgrim Suite. What a lovely Pub, Hotel and Events venue. Truly first class and everything ran like clockwork. The staff could not have been more helpful. We took the time to explore the Pub and sample some of the many great beers on offer. The evening went off without a hitch and the buffet was simply lovely. Very highly recommended to anyone planning a special event or just looking for a great pub that has good beer and food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Ned K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The family, all ten of us, stayed here overnight and dined in the restaurant to celebrate our Golden Wedding. The accommodation was excellent, very comfortable beds and very quiet. The meal in the Conservatory was enjoyed by all the family young and not so young, the food was up to its usual standard, very, very good. The restaurant was very busy but no one had to wait to be served. A wonderful evening, thank you to all the staff for your efforts on our behalf.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, and from when we arrived we where impressed, the location is ideal only a short drive from the main roads, but far enough out to feel like your in the middle of nowhere. Check in was easy with friendly helpful staff, advised us on where was best to walk the dog.

We decided to take our dog with us, and the chalets are all set for the four legged friends even providing towels and bedding which was a nice touch. Rooms where lovely a lot better than expected, with everyone you need. We had dinner in the pub which was lovely, and good value for money. Staff where great. We also had a drink earlier In the day and the dog was allowed in the bar.
Breakfast was again lovely and defiantly filled us up, staff was great again.
Great place to stay, would recommend to anyone and the staff couldn't do more for you. hope to return ourselves In the near future!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews