We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and a nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
South Cerney, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food and a nice room”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A good size, warm and comfortable room with bunks for the children. A brolly is provided for the short dash through the garden to the pub, where there was plenty of choice for dinner. The lamb shoulder was tasty, and my husband enjoyed the hake from the interesting specials board. Two cheerful ladies served us breakfast which included local sausages. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CotswoldsRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    162
    33
    28
    13
See reviews for
124
237
21
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Myself and family went here for a sunday lunch and it was very average and expensive in some departments.

I would like to say that the staff were a wondewrful bunch from the bar to waitresses and waiters.

The starters were ok albeit expensive, we had the baby squid, mushroom and camembert.
they all arrived in a timeley manor but my daughter had to wait some time for 2 bland rolls, which accompanied the camembert.
We opted for the roast dinners as i thought the lamb special at £21 was to much.
i had the pork belly turned into a roast which was very nice but the hole dish was very dry and had to ask for extra gravey.
My daughter had the beef roast which i thought was ok but she was not to inpressed, again we had to ask for extra gravey.
My wife had the vegetarian roast which was ok and again had to ask for for extra gravey which although was vegetarian it was more like gloop.
My daughter had the pear desert which was very nice.
Overall we do like this pub and have ate there many tiimes before , maybe it was an off day ?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night after spending the day In Maidstone.
We had a lovely family chalet style lodge right by the pub so a very little walk for our evening refreshments,
Our son loved the bunk beds and did not want to leave the next day, we found the mattress to be a bit tired, springs were noticeable however everything else was excellent, lovely hot shower in a well fitted ensuite room with two sinks and modern tiling.
Hot chocolate and a coffee cafateirre was a welcome touch, the breakfast here is served in the black horse and extremely nice ,still full some 5 hours later

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We booked this following a look at the 'Dog Friendly' website so we knew the hotel allowed dogs in the bar/some accommodation. It really is a fantastic place. The 'Chalets' are lovely and allow immediate outdoor access without disturbing other residents-we even had a little box of towels for our dog (which was really useful following this years deluge of rain in the South of England!). The walks and scenery around are great and medieval architecture is pure 'Middle England'. 10/10 for the delicious food in the dining room. Feb 2014.

Room Tip: Some outside noise from the motorways and Eurostar but we heard nothing once indoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We have booked our Wedding here and decided to sample the restaurant. The meal was out of this world and the service and welcome on this and our other visits to date have been outstanding. We have had several recomendations and are really looking forward to the Summer when we hold our wedding here as we are certain we have made the right choice

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyhammer190784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed here last Summer (2013) with my three young children and we had a wonderful time. The accommodation was great, we had Honeysuckle cottage, which fitted me and the three children perfectly. It was quiet and relaxing despite their being a wedding reception in the Inn on one of the evenings - we heard nothing of it. The staff were all lovely and treated my young children as adults, which they loved. The restaurant was very quaint in a good way, very olde worlde and the food was exceptional. My children eat off the adult menu always and they asked if we could stay there again as the food was so good. I will return to this little oasis in the heart of the Kent countryside.

Room Tip: It is a steep walk from the lower levels if you don't take your car down, so more elderly people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colinwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed here in September while visiting my grandfather.
It was all a bit last minute and my parents were staying elsewhere but after seeing my accommodation they wished they'd stayed here too!

The pub was excellent, quaint but modern and stylish. The food was absolutely delicious... I recommend the tomato and chorizo risotto with salmon!

The accommodation may not be to everyone's taste but I liked it. Simple, smart, and clean with personal touches like an umbrella at the door for those all-too-common rainy days.

The location was quiet, fresh and absolutely beautiful.

The only issue I had was that the flush was broken on the toilet and with it being a Saturday night a plumber was not available to come out and fix it and there were no other rooms available. I was offered a discount on my room for this though.

Look out for the ADORABLE Bill the cat! He's so friendly and sweet and belongs to one of the girls at the inn.

DEFINITELY recommended, I am looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zozotxiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
1.7 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.9 mi away
Detling Coachhouse
Detling Coachhouse
#7 of 15 in Maidstone
215 reviews
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#3 of 15 in Maidstone
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,550 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#12 of 15 in Maidstone
359 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#14 of 15 in Maidstone
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Property: The Black Horse Inn
Address: Pilgrims Way, Thurnham, Maidstone ME14 3LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Thurnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century Pub / Restaurant with beams, hops and open fireplaces serving real ales and country wine. 27 beautiful en-suite rooms in the grounds provide a peaceful haven around the duck pond. Ideal for business or tourists. Close to Leeds Castle and only a 50 minute train journey to London. Lovely gardens and outside dining area. Also licensed for Civil Marriage Ceremonies.Fully equiped air conditioned business centre ideal for conferences, meetings and training seating up to 80 delegates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Maidstone
Black Horse Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing