We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth trying to find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Worth trying to find!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Hidden somewhere between the Maidstone one way system and the M20 approach roads The Black Horse is somehow in the countryside. And well worth trying to find for the comfortable bungalow rooms and exceptional pub food. It's a big operation and the staff are weary/offhand - when we got lost and in panic phoned for assistance, the chap who answered couldn't have cared less. We eventually found it and our room in the bungalows at the bottom of the garden, about 250 yards from the main building. This is only a problem if you are infirm (at the bottom of a fairly steep slope) or if it's raining, but on the other hand it's very quiet. The pub dining rooms are very busy but mostly friendly waitresses, if exhausted. Menus were full of choice and the steak and kidney pudding delicious!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    160
    32
    27
    12
See reviews for
122
234
21
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed on business with a large party. Firstly, all the staff were great, everyone was helpful and polite, but special mention for Sasha who looked after us in the restaurant, worked tirelessly and was very professional, and Gemma on hotel reception who was very welcoming and helpful. The chalet rooms are clean, well planned and comfortable. The Inn itself is a tradional pub, good atmosphere and nice beers. The food served was quality. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archieNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east sussex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

from the moment we arrived at the very friendly reception we knew we had made a good choice.we stayed in crab apple room which is like a little chalet with parking outside. the room was immaculate and decorated to a very high standard.plenty of tea , coffee etc and lovely fresh towels. we went to the restaurant and was overwhelmend with the friendly staff and service. we managed to sit on a very private table in a little nook and it was great. food was really really good and was reasonable priced.being a nice warm evening for the end of march it was lovely to see people sitting in the nice gardens.in the morning the breakfast was again excellent with a great full English plenty of cereals and fruit juices and choice of papers !! We would not hesitate to recommend this lovely hotel/pub and we cant wait to return

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Really enjoyed staying for 3 nights at the Black Horse Inn which is situated on the historic Pilgrams Way. The pub is a genuine old style English setting. Our accommodation was in a nearby cabin which was roomy, comfortable and clean. The pub has an authentic old English pub atmosphere and the meals were excellent.Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collectandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epworth
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Travelling around the South East I found myself in need of accommodation and found the Black Horse on a booking web site. I got a room for £58 b&b which turned out to be outstanding value. Upon arrival I met with the outstanding Sasha on reception who couldn't have been more helpful. Thank you Sasha! The accommodation is in small blocks of charming chalets which are extremely spacious and comfortable. Wi-fi is free in the rooms with a decent signal strength but is not available at all in the bar. The Landlord thinks that people should talk to each other, not sit staring at smartphones and tablets. Brilliant! Within 5 minutes I was chatting away to some locals like they'd known me all their lives. The food is first class as well.
Charming, welcoming, friendly and great value.
I will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same but if you have a disability ask for a room at the top of the hill. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB1Epworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight to attend an event at the Kent Show Ground. A lovely pub, rebuilt in the late 1980s following a fire. But the reclaimed timber and beams give the feel of a genuine country inn. Staff are welcoming and friendly. Decent cooked breakfast. The only slight criticism I have is the slightly naff notices to the leave your horse outside and the like. The chalet style accommodation is new and clean, though a bit 'boxy'. Perfectly adequate for a short stay, but not luxurious. The outside seating is a bonus, but not enormous. Most of the land is given over to discrete parking and accommodation. Didn't try the restaurant, but the menu looks half decent. Can be a bit difficult to locate if you rely solely on SatNav. Well maintained with lots of well stocked flower boxes.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DrumondBase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I have now stayed at the Black horse twice and would have no problem recommending this friendly and charming pub to friends or business colleges.
Only 10 minutes from the motorway but a real gem of good food,good beer,good rooms and friendly service in a real village pub.
I plan to now stay at the Black Horse when working in Kent as it offers so much more then a standard modern hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCMB1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
1.7 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.9 mi away
Detling Coachhouse
Detling Coachhouse
#7 of 15 in Maidstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
3.4 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#10 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Property: The Black Horse Inn
Address: Pilgrims Way, Thurnham, Maidstone ME14 3LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Thurnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century Pub / Restaurant with beams, hops and open fireplaces serving real ales and country wine. 27 beautiful en-suite rooms in the grounds provide a peaceful haven around the duck pond. Ideal for business or tourists. Close to Leeds Castle and only a 50 minute train journey to London. Lovely gardens and outside dining area. Also licensed for Civil Marriage Ceremonies.Fully equiped air conditioned business centre ideal for conferences, meetings and training seating up to 80 delegates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Maidstone
Black Horse Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing