We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
Rhuddlan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed here on a business trip. What an absolute gem of a place.
The rooms are like little chalets. Very clean & well appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable & had a great nights sleep.
The restaurant was in the pub. What a great place. A cosy olde world place with natural timners & hop vines everywhere. Great choice of real ale and a good choice on the menu.
The staff there were very pleasent & helpfull. The food I had was outstanding. The scallops & the smoked haddock just epic. And you did not have to wait long before it arrived.
The breakfast was cooked to order and like the previous eveing it arrived in a very short time & very tasty it was too. Great bacon.
I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    160
    32
    28
    12
See reviews for
123
234
21
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our room was clean and well equipped but a little basic.
We had a drink in the bustling bar ( great atmosphere and service) before being shown to our table downstairs in the modern conservatory.
Our waitress was friendly, helpful and efficient. The menu offered lots of choice and daily specials were also available. After delicious starters of smoked salmon with a crab croquette and Mozzarella with Heritage tomatoes, my husband chose Romney Marsh Lamb (excellent) and I opted for pork with fondant potato, carrots and fennel (also excellent!).
Desserts were equally good.
A delicious meal and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sils55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templecombe
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Nice pub and location, food nice but pricey and not much choice. Chalet was clean but they need to invest in a decent mattress which is very old and extremely uncomfortable and tried to disguised it with a mattress topper !!! For a 4 star £95 room you would expect a lot better

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthking68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Visited twice on our way to and from cornwall, what a find! room simple but great bathroom and parking right outside your cottage, we where traveling with our two dogs also and there are great walks right outside the door but the best bit about this place is the fab pub very cosy place with good selection of drinks and great staff, the restaurant part of this pub has to be seen to believe! i have never seen such a popular pub restaurant as this place they serve food from lunch all day, and i strongly recommend you reserve.

Room Tip: When you arrive don't go to the pub to check in there is a small office between the cottages and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights in April 2014, in the Clover room. Room is a good size and is clean, but three main downsides. First, it sounded like it was next to a large water softener/water pump/water treatment room, which makes a pretty loud and constant humming noise which makes it very difficult to sleep. Also, the bed slats were incredibly creaky, meaning any attempt to move on the bed is met with a loud creaking noise and does not allow for a good night's sleep. Last, the TV is exceptionally small given the size of the room. It's placed so high up as to almost make it pointless to watch. Altogether, it did make me wonder how it achieves a 4 star rating.
That said, the rest of it is great - very friendly and knowledgeable staff, incredible food in the pub and in a quiet but accessible location near the M20. Would recommend visiting for lunch but not to stay over.

Room Tip: Avoid the Clover room. There is a steep hill between some rooms and the main road, ask at booking to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

all perfect, thankyou- most helpful staff and lovely location. bit difficult to find but apart from that really could not find any fault in the service provided :) slept very well in the peaceful location

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henriette x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Hidden somewhere between the Maidstone one way system and the M20 approach roads The Black Horse is somehow in the countryside. And well worth trying to find for the comfortable bungalow rooms and exceptional pub food. It's a big operation and the staff are weary/offhand - when we got lost and in panic phoned for assistance, the chap who answered couldn't have cared less. We eventually found it and our room in the bungalows at the bottom of the garden, about 250 yards from the main building. This is only a problem if you are infirm (at the bottom of a fairly steep slope) or if it's raining, but on the other hand it's very quiet. The pub dining rooms are very busy but mostly friendly waitresses, if exhausted. Menus were full of choice and the steak and kidney pudding delicious!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
1.7 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.9 mi away
Detling Coachhouse
Detling Coachhouse
#7 of 15 in Maidstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
3.4 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#10 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Property: The Black Horse Inn
Address: Pilgrims Way, Thurnham, Maidstone ME14 3LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Thurnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century Pub / Restaurant with beams, hops and open fireplaces serving real ales and country wine. 27 beautiful en-suite rooms in the grounds provide a peaceful haven around the duck pond. Ideal for business or tourists. Close to Leeds Castle and only a 50 minute train journey to London. Lovely gardens and outside dining area. Also licensed for Civil Marriage Ceremonies.Fully equiped air conditioned business centre ideal for conferences, meetings and training seating up to 80 delegates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Maidstone
Black Horse Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing