We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good to be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Horse Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
195 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good to be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We use this inn every so many years for a short break or stop over. Now on our way to Ireland. Still the same warm welcome as 3 years ago. Nice rooms, well cleaned and we had an excellent dinner in the restaurant with sticky toffee pudding as desert. Just for the desert we would come back. Very quiet surroundings, good way to unwind and start a vacation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    155
    31
    27
    11
See reviews for
114
223
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hastings
Level Contributor
113 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife and dog, the chalet rooms are ideal and being dog friendly were perfect for us, the pub is beautifully kept and has fantastic beer gardens, lovely setting for wedding reception. The pub has no TV (it's not that kind of a pub) so on our first night we walked up to the cock horse about 1.5 miles which we were told does show the footy. Then came back and sat in beer garden and checked menu which has a lot of choice but all too fancy for us, so we just had the steak meal which was lovely but at £24 each it wanted to be.
Word of warning remember your mossie spray I didn't and was my steak was lovely so were my legs to the mossies, great breakfast on both mornings and all staff really helpful and polite. Lovely pub will return again. Please also put some pub classics on menu.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank edthered7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Wyrley
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I recently re-visited the Black Horse whilst on business in Kent and following my last visit back in 2012 I wrote:- " I stayed at The Black Horse on business in February 2012 and found it to be of the highest standard for a small pub/hotel".
Really enjoyed staying here again in this stunning location.
The chalet style cabin I was allocated was well appointed and most comfortable..
The food in the restaurant was really excellent and the service first rate.
It was a lovely warm evening so sat outside in the beautiful terraced gardens to enjoy a beer.
Well entertained by the bob-howlers (Brummie slang for a large moth) and the bats harvesting them. Highly recommended, well done John and all his staff.

Room Tip: The chalet style accomodation is landscaped into a hillside. Anyone with walking and breathing (ast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatWyrleyChico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Inn is located in a real quiet area. There is no big passage of tourists all the time. So this is a perfect "fall-out base" when you're exploring the 'gardens of England'.
When we arrived around 10pm, we knew where to go to get our key. The reservation was perfect, with all the information you needed included in the responding mail(s). Even with questions you may have you get a quick response from the management.
The rooms are clean, there is enough place in the room. With a nice bathroom, toilet, good bed the room is really nice ! The place was cleaned every day, the towels clean and if you wanted to have new towels you find instructions on how to get fresh ones. There was a paper placed on the bed to avoid unpleasant surprises when taking a shower and not setting the fire alarm to go going off.

The breakfast was just... perfect. A wide variety of choice. English breakfast with bacon, eggs, sausage, mushrooms... Or continental with several choices. Toast, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt... With orange juice, tea, coffee or milk to top it off.

The first evening we went for a drink at the Inn, and the bar is just beautiful and cozy. It's not my habit, but I went every evening for a drink! Just sitting there, enjoying the pleasant atmosphere and having a drink.

We were located in the most far cottages. There is more than enough room to park your car close to your cottage. And if it's raining, every cottage has an umbrella to use.
On saturday evening there was a party happening in the Suite, and I heard the music going loud, but at a really reasonable hour everything went quiet so you can enjoy a good nights rest !

As a very frequent traveller, I strongly recommend this place if you plan to explore Kent !

Room Tip: If you're not good on your feet, ask for a room close to the Inn. The furthest rooms are downhil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyB2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I booked this pub hotel because it was dog friendly,we were returning from a few days in France
Via the channel tunnel,which was also dog friendly,the dog stays with you in the car for the very
Fast 30 minute crossing
The food was very good, breakfast excellent , and we were allowed to eat with our pet in the reserved bar,to us an important point
We stayed the night in rooms that were separate from the pub,very clean and modern chalets
A good choice

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for one night on our walk through Kent on the North Downs Way and after a long day it was a welcome sight !
Our room was a chalet and has everything you needed for a relaxing stay.
In the evening we ate in the restaurant. There appears to always be a fish and separate meat specials menu. I choose slow cooked shin of beef and it was one of the best meals I have eaten for a very long time. Add to this very friendly helpful staff and an excellent breakfast menu and you have a really excellent place to stay. Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
211 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with work following a mix up with the Mecure who wouldn't change a reservation. Well I'm pleased to say I'm glad. Set in a lovely village, yet only minutes away from the motorway network, The Black Horse is ideal for both leisure and business.

The rooms are well laid out, a great size with comfortable beds. The bathrooms are again large and well planned.

Overall forget the large chains, call in here.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank welshman279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
1.7 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.8 mi away
Detling Coachhouse
Detling Coachhouse
#7 of 15 in Maidstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#10 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.6 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 15 in Maidstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Property: The Black Horse Inn
Address: Pilgrims Way, Thurnham, Maidstone ME14 3LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Thurnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century Pub / Restaurant with beams, hops and open fireplaces serving real ales and country wine. 27 beautiful en-suite rooms in the grounds provide a peaceful haven around the duck pond. Ideal for business or tourists. Close to Leeds Castle and only a 50 minute train journey to London. Lovely gardens and outside dining area. Also licensed for Civil Marriage Ceremonies.Fully equiped air conditioned business centre ideal for conferences, meetings and training seating up to 80 delegates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Maidstone
Black Horse Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing