We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem of a find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Black Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

we stayed here for three nights B & B , what a great find. The rooms are lovely spacious cabins in the grounds. light and clean with all that you need. Breakfast is taken in the pub and the food and service is great. We decided after long days visiting family and sightseeing that we would eat in the pub at night and we were not disappointed , the food is amazing the service was great and the price good. well worth a visit if only for a meal.

Room Tip: all good rooms
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
There are newer reviews for The Black Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

After reading reviews on this site which in the main were positive , we decided to give it a try . I am afraid to say that it was a costly mistake . Accomadation was fine , clean and tidy with adequate facilities , parking was good , check in quick efficient and friendly , that was the good bit !. The pub itself was pleasent so we sat in the garden after getting a drink in the bar , despite some young waiting staff floating round the garden talking not one offered to take order and fetch to table despite the fact that the bar was a good distance from garden seating and up several flights of steps , thankfully we are not disabled in anyway so could sort ourselves others might not be so fortunate.We had booked a table in the Restaurent , we finally got a young waitresses attention and were led to a tiny table stuck in a corner , we were given menus and then waited and waited ! We eventually had to ask a passing waitress if we could order , order taken off she went , returning with a Luke warm bottle of white wine which we had to send back !!! The food was slow in coming , presented starter had no figure bowl (we had seafood platter to start ) and we again had to ask for Tartare sauce and napkins . Main course finally came , my wife's was still nearly alive , mine was cooked ok but stone cold floating in what looked like the water from untrained veg it was sat on , cutlery was also dirty and we cleaned it ourselves before using , we didn't bother with dessert . Over priced and over rated , will not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Finding a truly dog-friendly place to stay is still a bit of a rarity in the UK, certainly when compared to France, so we were really looking forward to our stopovers here on both our way to the Eurotunnel and on our way back.
After a long day travelling the 500 miles down from Scotland, we were relieved when we finally reached here. We had phoned ahead to advise them that we had been delayed en-route, and they kindly kept the kitchen open so that we could eat on arrival. The outdoor dining area is great for dogs, with lots of space around the tables, hitching-rings on the decking to attach the leads and watering facilities on hand. Our meal was excellent and we retired to our well-sized and comfortable chalet-style room for a good night's sleep prior to our channel crossing.
Next morning, we returned to the main pub building for breakfast. We were quite prepared to eat 'al fresco' again, however we were advised that breakfast is only served indoors but there was an area of the bar specially set aside for dogs. Unfortunately, immediately upon entering this 'reserved' area, a woman seated opposite our designated table had what can only be described as a fit of hysterics at the sight of our 2 large canine family members. Not wanting to be the cause of a scene, we took our dogs out and shut them in our car but we then couldn't enjoy our breakfast properly, having to rush it as we didn't want to leave the dogs unattended for long. There was plenty of seating available in the other areas of the dining room, so why a dog-hater chose (or was directed?) to sit in the only 'dogs allowed' area is anybody's guess.
On the return visit 2 weeks later, we again occupied an outdoors table and enjoyed an excellent evening meal whilst our dogs dozed on the decking alongside us. However, the place did seam to be a bit under-staffed for the number of customers there resulting in us being forgotten about and having to go into the bar to collect our food and drinks orders.
Next morning when we went for breakfast, yet again we had t leave our dogs in the car and rush our meal. This time it wasn't due to the presence of anyone with a dog-phobia but rather that the 'dogs allowed' area was full to capacity with non dog owners whilst the 'no dogs allowed' area that we were 'forced' to use was otherwise unoccupied.
If you're going to promote your establishment as welcoming dogs, perhaps a bit of control over who sits where would not go amiss. What should have been a perfect start and finish to our holiday is memorable for all the wrong reasons. We were hoping for a bit better for our £300 for 2 night's dinner, bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AlfaFan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We use this inn every so many years for a short break or stop over. Now on our way to Ireland. Still the same warm welcome as 3 years ago. Nice rooms, well cleaned and we had an excellent dinner in the restaurant with sticky toffee pudding as desert. Just for the desert we would come back. Very quiet surroundings, good way to unwind and start a vacation.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Bart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife and dog, the chalet rooms are ideal and being dog friendly were perfect for us, the pub is beautifully kept and has fantastic beer gardens, lovely setting for wedding reception. The pub has no TV (it's not that kind of a pub) so on our first night we walked up to the cock horse about 1.5 miles which we were told does show the footy. Then came back and sat in beer garden and checked menu which has a lot of choice but all too fancy for us, so we just had the steak meal which was lovely but at £24 each it wanted to be.
Word of warning remember your mossie spray I didn't and was my steak was lovely so were my legs to the mossies, great breakfast on both mornings and all staff really helpful and polite. Lovely pub will return again. Please also put some pub classics on menu.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank edthered7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I recently re-visited the Black Horse whilst on business in Kent and following my last visit back in 2012 I wrote:- " I stayed at The Black Horse on business in February 2012 and found it to be of the highest standard for a small pub/hotel".
Really enjoyed staying here again in this stunning location.
The chalet style cabin I was allocated was well appointed and most comfortable..
The food in the restaurant was really excellent and the service first rate.
It was a lovely warm evening so sat outside in the beautiful terraced gardens to enjoy a beer.
Well entertained by the bob-howlers (Brummie slang for a large moth) and the bats harvesting them. Highly recommended, well done John and all his staff.

Room Tip: The chalet style accomodation is landscaped into a hillside. Anyone with walking and breathing (ast...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatWyrleyChico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Inn is located in a real quiet area. There is no big passage of tourists all the time. So this is a perfect "fall-out base" when you're exploring the 'gardens of England'.
When we arrived around 10pm, we knew where to go to get our key. The reservation was perfect, with all the information you needed included in the responding mail(s). Even with questions you may have you get a quick response from the management.
The rooms are clean, there is enough place in the room. With a nice bathroom, toilet, good bed the room is really nice ! The place was cleaned every day, the towels clean and if you wanted to have new towels you find instructions on how to get fresh ones. There was a paper placed on the bed to avoid unpleasant surprises when taking a shower and not setting the fire alarm to go going off.

The breakfast was just... perfect. A wide variety of choice. English breakfast with bacon, eggs, sausage, mushrooms... Or continental with several choices. Toast, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt... With orange juice, tea, coffee or milk to top it off.

The first evening we went for a drink at the Inn, and the bar is just beautiful and cozy. It's not my habit, but I went every evening for a drink! Just sitting there, enjoying the pleasant atmosphere and having a drink.

We were located in the most far cottages. There is more than enough room to park your car close to your cottage. And if it's raining, every cottage has an umbrella to use.
On saturday evening there was a party happening in the Suite, and I heard the music going loud, but at a really reasonable hour everything went quiet so you can enjoy a good nights rest !

As a very frequent traveller, I strongly recommend this place if you plan to explore Kent !

Room Tip: If you're not good on your feet, ask for a room close to the Inn. The furthest rooms are downhil...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyB2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurnham
1.7 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.9 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#9 of 17 in Maidstone
1,615 reviews
0.9 mi away
Detling Coachhouse
Detling Coachhouse
#10 of 17 in Maidstone
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 17 in Maidstone
1,769 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#12 of 17 in Maidstone
183 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#15 of 17 in Maidstone
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Address: Pilgrims Way, Thurnham, Maidstone ME14 3LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Thurnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurnham
Price Range: £87 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th Century Pub / Restaurant with beams, hops and open fireplaces serving real ales and country wine. 27 beautiful en-suite rooms in the grounds provide a peaceful haven around the duck pond. Ideal for business or tourists. Close to Leeds Castle and only a 50 minute train journey to London. Lovely gardens and outside dining area. Also licensed for Civil Marriage Ceremonies.Fully equiped air conditioned business centre ideal for conferences, meetings and training seating up to 80 delegates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Maidstone
Black Horse Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing