We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£74
Fully refundable before Sat, 2 Mar
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (898)
Filter reviews
898 results
Traveller rating
529
226
65
43
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
529
226
65
43
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub birthday meal sticky toffee pudding chalet style north downs specials board sunday lunch booked a table lovely meal leeds castle full english following morning yogurt accommodation pilgrims starters ales
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 898 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2023 via mobile

Terrible service and no real apology or explanation.
Starters not ordered by waitress, then when the main was ready we were offered the starter to be brought out at the same time with the main.
No one checked at any time if we would like another drink.
Felt like we were just left and no care was taken.

Room tip: Sunday evening
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Q6799SSdawnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 November 2023 via mobile

Was looking forward to a family meal tonight. Table wasn’t ready when we got there, ordered our starters and our mains.
Waited 25mins then waitress comes over and says your mains are ready. Yet we hadn’t even had our starters yet. The waitress said we can have our starters with our mains? Which we said no we want our starters then mains. She then came back and said the chef we not delay your mains so you can have your starters but then have to chose something else for main you won’t be able to have a roast as they are ready now. Disappointed and frustrated we decided to just have our mains. Roast was okay not the best. We decided to not have a dessert and go else where for dessert because the service had been so bad. The waitress did admit that she forgot to put the starters through the system but still that shouldn’t have happened.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LaceBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2023

This pub/restaurant I have visited over my lifetime since growing up in Maidstone. It is rustic, full of charm and a sense of a place dating back over 300 years. Food was good and for the first time, stayed overnight and the bed was extremely comfortable.
However, at dinner the service was a little slow, cajun onion rings only tasted of deep fat frying and portion sizes on the small side. At breakfast, items put on plate after saying did not want them, mushroom was cold and fried bread only shattered when cut, so over cooked. Enough food available to not feel hungry but attention perhaps needs to be given to timing.
I also feel the accommodation is a little overpriced even though location is superb for recreation and lovely views.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2023 via mobile

Family evening meal. I ordered ox cheek. Well overpriced for what I was goven. Cheek tender but utterly tasteless. No seasoning, jus disappointing as again no flavour.
Dophiouse potatoes OK but again no favour except heavy salt.
Cabbage disappointing.
Please let me know if you would like me to teach you how to cook and I.prove this dish....it is not worth 32!!!!

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2023

We are staying here at the Black Horse as I compose this little bit of information for anyone thinking of staying here at the lovely Black Horse inn, well don't hesitate to book as it is a marvellous place to stay, the pub/ restaurant itself is warm, cosy and beautifully laid out with a number of great rooms for all occasions, they are clean and very inviting, the food is very good with an interesting and varied menu AND not pricey, also there are many outside tables for those sunny days, it has many rooms on site, ours has everything one could want and is very spacious, wi fi works immediately without any fuss, there are family rooms and again the Black Horse would cater for any occasion, they are VERY dog friendly, PLUS all the staff are kind, courteous and helpful, we have spoken to the owner on a few occasions and have to say he is a charming elderly man, (hope he reads this !!!).........SO A MASSIVE BIG THANK YOU TO ALL AT THE WONDERFUL BLACK HORSE FOR MAKING THIS A REALLY HAPPY TIME.......Richard, Lesley and Bertie...xxxx

Room tip: Go there, it's FABULOUS !!!!
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews