We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Covenient, but needs a remodel”
Review of Super 8 Waterloo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Waterloo
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Waterloo
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We stayed here on our way to Iowa City Hospital. It's location is great, right near the interstates. The rooms were old and funiture had rips in them, kind of reminded me of an airport motel. It was single digit weather that evening and the air was leaking in so bad on the sides of the heating unit, that I had to take whatever papers I could find to block it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 172 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2009

This hotel was extremely shabby. The night clerk was rude. Although we requested to have a non-smoking room and confirmed it in person before going up, we got a smoking room which REEKED of smoke. The room was dirty. My toddler found old food crumbs on the floor and bigger pieces of "garbage". The bathroom was not clean. The shower curtain was torn so part of it was not even hanging properly to close. The clerk claimed there were no more rooms available so we spent a very uncomfortable night in a reeking room.

In the morning, checking out took 20 minutes. The lobby has the "breakfast" area and the morning clerk was sitting there while we waited to check out. Several times she looked in our direction but did not come up to check us out until she was done taking her break.

I wrote a letter to complain about the service and received a poorly written apology.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diabolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TharaldsonCorporate, Hotel Management Company at Super 8 Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2009

I would like to thank you for the feedback on our hotel. We value all feedback from our guests and utilize it to evaluate what we are doing right and what can be done to improve each stay for all our guests. We are always open to suggestions as we continuously look for ways to improve our guests’ experiences at our hotel. We desire to address any situation immediately in hopes that you will look to us again in the future when booking a room in Waterloo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2008

Stayed one night. Very typical Super 8. Thin walls/ceilings. Tiny breakfast area. No lobby PC. Located next to shopping district. Taco Bell shares parking lot, many other dining/shopping options nearby. No major issues.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank woodsfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2007

ruby in des moines,ia. stayed at this hotel, because normally super 8 is a nice place, this was a let down, the chair in the room was tore up and had food under the cushion, the staff was helpful on directions, the key card didn't always work, they need to replace the furniture in the room, for the money it's not worth it. they also need to put microwaves in all rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iakandy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Stefano G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 June 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Enza-Stefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Crossroads Mall-Waterloo-Cedar Falls
3.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Waterloo
1.5 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Waterloo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Waterloo

Address: 1825 Laporte Rd, Waterloo, IA 50702-2700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range: £48 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Waterloo 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Waterloo
Waterloo Super Eight
Waterloo Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing