We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thin blanket, room temperature hard to regulate, and uncomfortable pillows.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Saint Louis
1 review
“Thin blanket, room temperature hard to regulate, and uncomfortable pillows.”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I usually stay in low end motels like Motel 6 or Red Roof Inn, but decided to splurge this time. Unfortunately, I was disappointed and in the end wished I had saved nearly 50% by staying in one of those places again.
The problems may have been with my personal preferences -- I understand many people might prefer the conditions that I was unsatisfied with. My main issue was with the temperature regulation in the room and the thin blanket on the bed. When I sleep, I prefer a cool room and a warm bed. (At home, I turn the thermostat down to 58 degrees at night, but I sleep under a warm down duvet.) Unfortunately, it was a cold night and the blanket on the bed was very thin (and made of a synthetic material that felt like a thin sheet of foam rubber), so the only way to keep warm was to turn up the heating unit. This made the air in the room dry, and soon it became too warm, so I turned it back down, but since the blanket was so thin, the room was thin too cold. I hardly slept at all because I had to keep getting up to change the thermostat. What made this problem worse was that I was traveling with my long-haired dog (kudos, though, to Ramada Inn for allowing her to stay for no extra charge), and she quickly got too warm when I turned up the heat and would start panting and want to go outside. I probably could have asked for another blanket, but it was late, I wasn't sure just one would do the trick, and I thought the hotel staff might have refused to give me more than one.

Add to that a small, hard pillow that caused me to get a crick in my neck, and it made for a miserable night. If I were to consider staying at this location again, I would be sure to take my own pillow and ask for an extra blanket or two. Actually, I would probably take my own blanket, too, because I just don't like the feel of synthetic fibers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Rene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Rene,

Thank you for your review of our property, and thank you for choosing us for your holiday stay.

I am sorry to hear that the temperature was a little off if your room. At the Ramada, we do our best to accommodate our guests. The front desk would have been more than happy to get your a few extra blankets to help you sleep more comfortably.

Unfortunately we do understand that we can not meet everyone's specific tastes, but again we try our best to help accommodate guests that do not find some of our amenities comfortable.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    122
    184
    197
    129
See reviews for
258
80
30
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here before we went overseas for a few weeks, because of the available free parking and airport shuttle.

I'll list the few negatives of the place, then the positives. I agree with the other review that the pillows are just too fat- not comfortable no matter how I slept. I knew that there would be no free breakfast when I booked the room, but I would have liked one. There are plenty of restaurants in the area, though, and one in the hotel.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and our shuttle trips to and from the airport went smoothly. A great bonus was being able to park in the parking garage adjacent to the hotel- very nice to not need to clear off ice and snow when we returned from our trip. The room was comfortable and clean and I think would make a businness class traveler happy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Darin,

Thank you so much for your comments on your stay with us at the Ramada Hotel and Convention Center. I am sorry to hear that the pillows weren't as comfortable as you would have liked. We are actually working on the possibility of starting a complimentary continental breakfasts for our guests, but again, it's in the beginning stages of planning.

I am so very glad to hear that you enjoyed your interactions with our staff and that our shuttle was convenient for you and your wife.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perry
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I am handicapped and they put me on the 9th floor, last room on floor, Was sure glad the elevator didn't have problem, I could of never climb down stairs
The pillows gave me a head ache too big'

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank pwhit68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Pwhit68,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry to hear that you were put on the ninth floor. We do offer handicap rooms on our second floor, so there must have been confusion during the booking process. Even so, I will take a look into what happened.

Again, thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The rooms were great and the staff seemed helpful and friendly. There was a problem with a computer and the room keys didn't work. They sent someone around to each floor to help get people in their rooms. There was a lot of people trying to get in at one time because we were there for a convention. It didn't seem to take very long to get that done.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Scott,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad to hear that your stay was good and that your experience with our staff was good as well. We were having some issues with our key card maker, and we now have brand new key card makers, so we are hoping that this doesn't happen again. We know that it is very inconvenient to need to be let into your own room.

Thank you again for staying with us at the Ramada Hotel & Convention Center!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Nice clean hotel. A little problem with the noise. They do not offer a free breakfast. Pool area and hot tub were clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Jeffrey,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We do hope that you stay again soon! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eland
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Began trip having been given a room with no bed and then was told I was mistakenly given the wrong price and needed to pay more to get the type of room I had purchased a month prior. Restaurant has terrible service as it took nearly 1 1/2 hours to get our food and maybe 10 other people in the whole place. No continental breakfast. Keys did not work for 2 of 3 that went with us. Wi-Fi did not work on 10th floor. Toilets were hard to flush on 10th floor.


The room was decent once we finally got one and at least they did not make you pay for parking. Staff at desk were friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Potrykus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGarringer, Manager at Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Potrykus,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am sincerely sorry for all the confusion and inconveniences during your stay with us. What happened with your stay, and others on that same day, was unacceptable and has been addressed with our entire front of house team and our restaurant team.

I am glad, however, to hear that your experience with our front desk staff was pleasant.

Again I am sincerely sorry for all the confusion and inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. We would love to make it up to you during your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
2.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Waterloo
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterloo
Hampton Inn Waterloo
#1 of 15 in Waterloo
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Waterloo
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterloo Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 205 W 4th St, Waterloo, IA 50701-5403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Waterloo Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Waterloo Hotel Waterloo
Ramada Waterloo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing