We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great concept undone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
arlington, ma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a great concept undone”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

As a business traveler, I tend to like the Marriott Courtyards. They have the things I like to find -- breakfast, snacks, drinks, exercise room, good bedding, actual glass tumblers in the room, quiet, lots of sitting around space. This one had all those things, but there was one big problem. The lobby area had an overwhelming odor of carmel macchiato or a similar very sweet coffee; it was like being in a Yankee Candle store, very cloying.

Surely this is a local decision by the proprietors, and I would strongly suggest getting rid of this scent. It was too too much!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
I'm glad that you can find all the necessities you need at Courtyard by Marriott hotels. I'm sorry that you feel that the lobby has a strong coffee smell. With us severing Starbucks Coffee, it does sometimes get a little overwhelming with all of the different syrups and flavors. I wil follow up wiht Marriott & Starbucks to see if we can offset the mixture of coffees.
We hope that you will try us again if you return to the West Des Moines area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    58
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
57
23
6
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Iowa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The room was very spacious. Super clean! The decor is modern and homey. I loved the lobby and the area where you can get food and drinks. Great stay! My husband and I were there on a weekend get-away. The receptionist was very cheerful and helpful. The overall atmosphere was great. It was a quiet hotel, even though children were there. We will stay there again!

Room Tip: Nice quiet hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv4bigreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I look forward to you staying with us next time your in the West Des Moines area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carroll, Iowa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Upon arrival, we were told that the desk clerk was actually a distant relative! What a small world! She was very nice and accommodating! We were originally supposed to have a room on the first floor, which I am always weary to have, and after asking if we could be moved, we were quickly moved to a higher floor. We had booked through Expedia and only paid $80 something for a weekend rate. I was swept away with how beautiful our room was! The room was very modern, had a fridge and microwave, and very comfy bed. The pull-out couch was uncomfortable, but I don't know of any that aren't. After coming back to the room late from shopping at nearby Jordan Creek Mall (which is the best in Iowa!), I stopped to buy a big bottle of water from their little shop by the check-in counter. I was told we could just have it! It may not seem like a lot to anyone else, but to me it meant a lot. We unfortunately didn't have time to go swimming and did not have breakfast there so I cannot rate those experiences.After staying at the new Holiday Inn that is nearby, I would definitely stay here again instead!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapmom44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you staying with us when you return back to the West Des Moines area. On behave of the staff we hope that you have a Happy 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central valley of California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

we have been on te road 3 wks and love to book at courtyard a=marriots, because we knw they are clean, comfy and friendly wth great spaces for guests. this one is no exception! newer, or looks like it, in mall and resturant heaven. only thing is this one charges 4 dollars to wash an dry a load of laundry. the beautiful courtyard marriott in lovely kanas city Mo was FREE ... huh?!?!?! that too was in a fab location, such a pretty city Kansas city.... I was surprised.
anyway, we love courtyards !!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: WE always get tte 1 bedroom suites- gives us and kids space from one another after a day cramped in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. We look forward to you returning next time your in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Arrived asking for same floor on two rooms. Gal sets it up as floor 2 and 4. We ask again and she moves on of us so we are on the same floor. Got time during all the keyboarding taking place to read all the notes at the desk including the one reminding them to smile to the guests! Needless to say other guests spent a long time late in the evening waiting for my return with two room keys. The check in girl was personable but was dressed like she was home watching movies. Sloppy and unprofessional. Room never got cleaned while I was out the next day. Returned to dirty towels. Asked the front desk to bring them and she said she was alone and it would be awhile. I got in late, waited 30 minutes, called back and asked for them. She then came to the door with some clean towels and apology. Walls are paper thin. Listened two nights to the guy next door snoring. The people above talking. The ice machine all night long. When passing down a hall way, a door was propped open with a fan to the kitchen. Not a pleasing site. Noticed that the hotel staff were using the prime parking in front of the building for their own vehicles. The back of the building has the majority of parking spots. Note that the entry doors are on the sides. Not fun. Almost parked closer to Kohls than the hotel itself. When leaving asked for a slip showing no incidentals. Was told because I booked via certain travel discount website that I don't get one.
They guy handling the Starbucks was also my cashier for food and drink. He was out of change...dimes and nickels. He really had to pump those last drops of coffee to fill my cup!
The Queen beds are not really Queen but Full. Each room I had booked had the doorway blocked by roll-away bed and furnishings. Not ordered but had to work around all weekend. The fan in one room's bathroom was not working. The only mirror is in the bathroom but it was steamy the whole morn while showers were being taken- so went without a mirror as we were getting ready. Very low light in the bathroom. Don't do makeup there. Floors in bathroom spotted with leftover gunk. Oh, and the blow dryers are kept in the closet in a bag. Guess that one. Was gone all day returning at 10:30p to find they forgot to clean my room. Waited for an hour to get some new towels to shower. Of course she apologized. She was the only person at the front desk. The fitted sheet doesn't fit around the entire mattress. New place looks nice but the service is terrible. Staff were unprofessional. Don't need to look close, to see this place is not being managed properly. Perfect location for shopping. The only plus.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ice machine. Take the stairs it is quicker even though there are only 4 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunter310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, General Manager at Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay with us. Your comments have been addressed wth my team. My team and I hope that next time your in the West Des Moines area you will stay with us again and allow us to provide you with the level of Marriott service you expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. The property is aesthetically pleasing and great location for shopping at the Jordan Creek Mall with a wide array of resturants within 5 minutes. Easy access to I-235 will get you to downtown Des Moines in about 10 minutes (no traffic). Will stay here again next time we are in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArkansasSteelCityFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
572 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#10 of 22 in West Des Moines
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jordan Creek
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jord...
#8 of 22 in West Des Moines
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center
Residence Inn Des Moines West at...
#7 of 22 in West Des Moines
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek

Property: Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek
Address: 410 S 68th St, West Des Moines, IA 50266-8312
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Jordan Creek Courtyard by Marriott(R) in West Des Moines makes all of your travels successful by providing exactly what you need. From spacious, thoughtful guest rooms to our Refreshing Business lobby design featuring The Bistro-Eat. Drink & Connect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing