We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never stay again. Very rude general manager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
iowa
1 review
“Would never stay again. Very rude general manager”
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We stayed at this hotel with 8 other families. We never even got into our rooms and the general manager was scolding us for having door propped open and then all kinds of other rules. She has no people person skills at all. Elevator got stuck with people on it. The staff did not seem to help much with getting people out and when a couple of people did do it the staff thanked them. Then when the general manager showed up she had one of the families remove from hotel. Talking to other groups there this woman did this to them also. Infact one group had 16 rooms for one night and 17 the next night.
Very small pool -- pool water warmer than the hot tub water -- no continenal breakfast -- rooms ok, but not cleaned when staying more than one day. Would not stay again .

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaHappytotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    58
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
57
23
6
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

1) Nice cozy & comfortable room with wireless access.
2) Excellent breakfast / bar area with very friendly servers.
3) Literally adjacent to the Jordan Creek Mall where you can have a good grub at the PF Chang's.

Even if this is 3-4 miles away from your destination, this is worth it...In the middle of the prairie land, traffic should be the least of your worries..

Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank exploringwilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

This hotel is obviously in start-up mode. I ordered breakfast at the new-style Courtyard cafe/bar and waited 20 minutes. After 20 m, the waitress came to tell me that the printer in the kitchen ran out of paper so they didn't cook my order! (Printers tell you when they're out of paper; this place just has some service bugs to work out).

The room was excellent. Large and well-furnished.

The hotel is in a new area where development obviously slowed because of the recession but there are still plenty of restaurants in the area (mostly chains) and a lot of shopping.

The big problem was the internet connection.... I tried both the hardwired and wireless and got the same result on speedtest.net. The download speed was a miserable 0.42 and the upload 0.34. So, if you are coming here expecting to use your computer, bring your 3G card.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedSpyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

My Mom and I drove to Des Moines in August where she had eye surgery. The hotel was only a couple of blocks from the clinic where her surgery was performed, and we did get a discount rate through them of $89.00 a night. To be honest, I was not really expecting too much. I don't know why. I was thinking it was going to be dated and run down, like many of the Courtyards I have seen. Much to my surprise, it was absolutely fabulicious! GREAT ROOMS! COMFY BEDS! SUPER CLEAN!! We were really happy we booked here. We even stayed one extra night! We need to go back in November for her check up and will definitely be booking ourselves a room here!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elle55407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
1,695 reviews
272 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 678 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

This hotel is about 5 months old. I have stayed at probably 50 different courtyards across the US. This is, by far, the nicest. The lobby and dining area are very nice. Nice (smaller) pool and hottub. Good (small) workout area. The rooms are excellent. Great decoration, comfy beds, nice desk, and by FAR the best desk chair ever. It was supportive and comfortable. The bathroom was very nice as well. FREE wifi and wired internet is a nice touch.

All in all, a great stay. I would go back again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
580 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#10 of 22 in West Des Moines
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jordan Creek
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jord...
#8 of 22 in West Des Moines
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center
Residence Inn Des Moines West at...
#7 of 22 in West Des Moines
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek

Property: Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek
Address: 410 S 68th St, West Des Moines, IA 50266-8312
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Jordan Creek Courtyard by Marriott(R) in West Des Moines makes all of your travels successful by providing exactly what you need. From spacious, thoughtful guest rooms to our Refreshing Business lobby design featuring The Bistro-Eat. Drink & Connect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Des Moines West/Jordan Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing