We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but not exceptionable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Comfortable but not exceptionable”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed one weeknight as part of a business trip. Hotel located right off the freeway which is good and bad. Easy access but a lot of road noise. My room was on the freeway side of the building and the noise was very noticable. Also I was on the 4th fllor and the parking lot light was very bright.

Check in was quick and the room was clean and comfortable. It had a microwave and a mini fridge. Also had a desk and sofa. The sofa was not very comfortable. There was a flat screen mounted on the wall and you could not see it if you are working at the desk. The morning breakfast was scrambled eggs, sausage, fruit, toast, bagels etc..fairly normal but again nothing exceptional.

And as others have said....S L O W elevator...

It is not bad and not great but a fairly decent value if you don't have to pay full price

Room Tip: Try to stay on the freeway side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RonJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    53
    39
    16
    7
See reviews for
63
34
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I spent four nights at the SpringHill Suites in West Des Moines. I frequently stay at Marriott line of hotels, and have stayed in other SpringHill Suites in other locations. I found my room to be somewhat lacking compared to the other SpringHill Suites I've stay at before. As a caveat, I was given an accessible room, so it was very spacious but in a way also felt a little spartan. The bathroom, also very large, was very sterile. The walls were plain white with white tile. It had one light which was linked with the exhaust fan that was very loud. Strangely, the bathtub/shower was VERY slick - I nearly lost my footing a couple times. You'd think the accessible room would take more steps to make the tub slip-proof.

The walls seemed very thin, as I could really hear both of my neighbors clearly when they were talking or moving around their rooms. Again, these things aren't a huge deal, but I'm comparing it to other SpringHill Suites I've stayed at previously.

The room was comfortable, especially the bed which was super cozy. The room had a mini-fridge, sink and microwave. There was also a desk and a couch, both of which were decent.

While I'm a big fan of the Marriott line, and this hotel was ideally located for my reason for being in West Des Moines, I'd probably stay at a different hotel if I had to return to the area again. Perhaps if I'd not stayed at better SpringHill Suites in the past I would not be so critical of this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust_2719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I normally stay at the Springhill Suites by the mall but it was not available at a govt rate when i went for work in march. I had stayed here before and had an ok stay but nothing special. this time i was unable to sleep for most of the night as the person above me was so loud. it sounded like he was literally jumping up and down and moving furniture for hours. I reported it to the front desk at midnight after over an hour of the nonsense. it continued for another hour and I finally picked up the phone and dialed the room number above my room on the next floor up. when a man answered i asked him to please stop making so much noise so I could sleep. things did quiet down after that but I would have thought the hotel mgmt. could get him to quiet down vs. me calling at two a.m. they just were not that helpful to me. it was a Monday night.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wautoma, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Was on the way home from a road trip with my sister to Kansas City MO & decided to see what Des Moines was like. Arrived at the Springhill Suites around 4PM on 4/4/13. Parking was easy at that time of day & check in went quickly. We had room 221 & found it to be one of the great room layouts. You walk in to the "living room" type area with a couch plus a couple small coffee tables & a desk/table on one side & a kitchenette area with one TV on the counter along with a mini-sink & a microwave & fridge under the counter on the other side of the room. This room was separated from the bedroom except for the doorway. So the bedroom had the feel of being a whole separate room. There were 2 beds separated by the nightstand, a wardrobe, tv, & suitcase stand. The bathroom light switch was on the inside of the bathroom (which we prefer) avoiding any light escaping into the bedroom if used during the night. However, they could use a reading light by the couch as the overhead light is too bright to use if someone is sleeping in the bedroom. Beds were very comfy & it was quiet for a good nights sleep. Perkins right next door was convenient for a late meal after enjoying many of the establishments in the Court Ave entertainment area. Breakfast was good with hot choices & all the usual continental offerings. We enjoyed our stopover in Des Moines & would recommend a stay here. Next time we would hope to take advantage of the close proximity to the Jordan Creek Mall.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maralyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Dubuque, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My husband and I were given a handicap suite without need and it really was a huge room with 2 queen beds etc and huge bathroom. Shower was not wonderful however - hand held in small bathtub. The breakfast in the morning was very good and the cocktail hour in the evening nice also served in a pleasant area on the main floor. Really like the exercise room and equipment though even though small and the pool is great too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausua
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I stayed at Springhill Suites in West Des Moines for business on April 17, 2013. I got the room on priceline for about $100 including all the junk taxes and fees.

I arrived about 7:30 in the evening and was greeted promptly. Easy check in and easy parking.

My room was new and modern. It featured a nice sitting area with desk and sofa.

King bed was soft and nice. All good here. Very quiet which is very important.

As a business traveler that uses the name your own price on priceline this was a nice bargain. Good location. For business travelers this is a hotel to put on your list.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I was very impressed with our stay at SpringHill Suites. Arrived in town about 11:00 am and checked in a few hours early with no problems. Hotel was very quiet and clean with spacious rooms and very comfy bedding not to mention a delicious free breakfast. Hotel was conveniently located near the interstate and also very close to Jordan Creek Mall. Parking was limited and the window in the room seemed open by the street noise coming in which i didnt mind for the "white noise" but others might find annoying. I would definatley stay here again next time I am in the Des Moines area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Non P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#11 of 22 in West Des Moines
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
383 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
#18 of 22 in West Des Moines
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#13 of 22 in West Des Moines
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Des Moines West

Property: SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
Address: 1236 Jordan Creek Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266-5825
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Des Moines West 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Des Moines West Hotel West Des Moines
Springhill Suites West Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing