We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Enjoyed a weekend away and had a pleasant stay at this hotel. The location was was right of the interestate and less than 5 minutes from Jordan Creek Mall. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms clean and spacious, and breakfast has a good selection and satisfying. I would consider staying here again if traveling to the Des Moines area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amac0668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel for a quick night away with the kids that had spacious rooms for a reasonable price. Our room was great, the breakfast was great and the pool & hot tub was small but not crowded and the kids had a blast. Everything was clean and everyone was friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Have stayed here in the past, and it was a little nicer than I remember. Previously the hotel had shown signs of wear or shoddy workmanship, but I did not notice any of that this time around. Didn't try out the breakfast, but looked like your typical fare. Again, nothing spectacular, but enough. Location is pretty good as it is right off I-80 and not far from Jordan Creek Mall.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had a family get-together at this property and it was wonderful. The rooms are spacious and allowed for kids to have their space and adults to have their space - while in the same room. The breakfast was good and the coffee great! There was plenty of space for people to eat breakfast without feeling like you are sharing the table with others. The kids REALLY enjoyed the pool and, although the fitness center wasn't used, there was plenty of room with water and towels available. The beds were good and we had a great night's sleep. The front desk staff was excellent to work with and extremely accommodating for our family. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auntiepae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Rate of $200.48 for 2 nights with tax seemed a little high for this hotel.

It is very nice having a separate living & bedroom area. Looks like there used to be a door dividing the two - which would be helpful if someone is watching TV in the living area late at night. Seems as though the door was removed years ago for some reason???

Also nice having the bathroom vanity area separate from the toilet/shower area. One complaint here is there is no vanity/clothes shelving in the shower area, just one clothes hook on the back of the door.

European style breakfast including meats, cheeses, hard-boiled eggs is nice addition to the usual basic breakfast scrambled eggs, pancakes, sausage, cereal, breads etc.

I think the beds could use an upgrade, the shower was OK.

Nice front desk clerk & easy fast checkin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milestonecruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler C, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Des Moines West, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments regarding our property. We are pleased to find that your overall stay was enjoyable. I appreciate your comments about the hotel layout and ideas that you have brought to our attention to be considered in the future. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to be a service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Tired older miss, while not in complete disrepair, is in need of some investment to not only freshen the tired fixtures (a/c / Heater unit) but update the amenities. Cracked tiles in bath, analog tv, bed was fair but sound from highway noticeable. I think all the Marriotts in this strip (Fairfield, Marriott Hotel and Sprinhill) all look tired.
Staff was friendly, doing the best with what they had to work with. I will NOT stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe find a newer hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idahotraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We were here for the Goodguy's Heartland Nationals car show in July. The location is perfect as it is close to the freeway and there are many restaurants to choose from in a nearby shopping complex. The staff was friendly but a bit inattentive. There were kids from a sports team running around unsupervised and no one said a thing to them. Also in the morning, the breakfast was very average and even though there were staff on hand standing around, the 2 or 3 trash containers were so full of used plates and cups that we had no choice but to leave ours on the floor with everyone else's. They weren't understaffed, the staff just didn't care.
People claim they are paying over $100/night but I paid $87 for a room with a sitting area and a king bed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevoinMinnesoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#13 of 22 in West Des Moines
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
595 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#16 of 22 in West Des Moines
157 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Des Moines West

Address: 1236 Jordan Creek Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266-5825
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range: £75 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Des Moines West 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Des Moines West Hotel West Des Moines
Springhill Suites West Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing