We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Des Moines West
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Always liked this motel. Stayed there for several years, always worth the value............however.........stayed there June 29th & 30th 2012 and the non-smoking room I had, had a bedspread SO smoky I could hardly sleep, woke up with a cough. Dogs all over the place, I'm a pet liker, but not a pet lover, so Charlie, keep your $%@@** dog away from me. Dog crap all over the grassy areas outside.

Don't believe I'll be going back soon.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke and don't care to have pets all over the place, and don't care for pi...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Des Moines West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

First room air conditioner didnt work smelled bad second room said non smoking but could smell smoke clerk stated this was only room left found a bug pretty sure it was a bed bug they did refund our money but we ended up just sleeping in our car will never stay here again staff very friendly though they did try

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lala3420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed here for 8 hours overnight with two kids on the way across the country via car. Can't beat the price, $45 plus tax. Things were clean and functional, and the lady at the front desk was nice. The only thing I missed was breakfast; and with a family of four that's usually worth $40 even with cold buffet, so frankly if I had a choice I'd rather spend $85 at a place that offers breakfast. If you only need coffee then this M6 is fine for sleeping. Beds, pillows, and bathrooms were all pretty good. The rooms are plain and have no frills.

Note, the rooms with 2 beds have "double" beds not queen. Sleeping 4 to a room is possible but it's a little tight with 2 people in each bed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradleystat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Had to stay here one night coming back from Minnesota, we had a horrible ice and snow storm. I was pleasantly surprised, this hotel was clean, cheap, and close to lots of good eating places. I would stay here again and even stay a week or so if ever there is a reason to be in Des Moines for that long. Motel 6 are underrated sometimes, I have found as many to be very nice and clean for the money you pay, but then there were a few that were long overdue for a renovation.

Room Tip: Great location
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Though pretty small it was a spiffy clean room. Motel 6's policy of nicking you and extra $3 for wi-fi seems a little petty though... that makes them not my first choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeavyHex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We have never stayed in a Motel 6 that has even been worth one star but we LOVE this place! Great neighborhood, incredibly kind staff, and clean, clean, clean. HIGHLY recommend this "just off the interstate" stop.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We enjoy staying here. Clean, quite, friendly. This is our second year staying here for state wrestling. We plan to stay next year or when we are in town.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slfreshour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#13 of 22 in West Des Moines
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#15 of 22 in West Des Moines
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
#18 of 22 in West Des Moines
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#13 of 48 in Des Moines
611 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Des Moines West

Address: 7655 Office Plaza Dr N, West Des Moines, IA 50266-2321
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range: £41 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Des Moines West 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The motel is centrally located in West Des Moines with easy access to US 80. The shopping center and restaurants are just 10 minutes away. Deluxe modern guest rooms with micro fridge available for a nominal fee, limited supply. WIFI available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Motel 6 West Des Moines
Motel Six West Des Moines
West Des Moines Motel Six
West Des Moines Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing