We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a place to crash,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Des Moines West
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Reviewed 6 October 2013

After a bad experience with the Motel 6 (Airport) we ended up here. Was attending a wedding and needed a place to crash for the night. The staff was very nice, I found it to be very clean and the price was right. One downfall was no coffee maker in the room, but we were basically just there to sleep, so it wasn't an issue for us at the time. I definitely recommend this hotel if you're just looking for a place to stay for a night or two and not break your budget.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank TrishAnnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

I was just staying the night but immediately regretted my pre-paid reservation once I walked in. Everything was obviously really cheap. The people were nice, though. The toilet paper felt like sandpaper. The shower was really dirty, looked like it had rarely been cleaned. The bed was horrible. The sheets and comforter were stained, had hair and cigarette burns on them. The TV only had 3 channels. It was so bad I felt unsafe to go outside to take my dog on a walk there. Probably the biggest plus- they allow pets, but my husband let my dog out of the room and he ran towards the major highway right there! Thank God someone else was walking their dog and he ran to that dog or he might've gotten really hurt. But basically, really dirty and disgusting. I just knew a ton of prostitutes had done business where I was NOT going to sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brittany0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was the best price we could find. We were expecting a dump but it was a great surprise. Very clean rooms and excellent service!! Coffee in the morning was nice. Everything in the room worked as it should. Beds comfortable and bathroom was very clean. I would certainly stay here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank art3508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

People who hate Motel 6 usually do for all the wrong reasons. This place was OK. Price jump on weekends was ridiculous tho. We choose Motel 6 cause they are usually clean and our dog is a non issue. Hate paying $3 for wifi. I know I was tired after the drive, but the 23 year old clerk didn't have to offer to check my id for a senior discount. ouch!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

let me start by saying, normally I would give a motel like this a 4, as it is not a luxury hotel, but this property is way under rated, thus a 5. I spent 5 nights in early august and completely enjoyed my stay and bargain rate[avg of $61/night]. this visit being during the iowa sate fair, when everything was full, and generally well over $100/night. the motel is the newer style, enclosed three story, but still an older building, not all shiny and new. the room was was clean , comfortable, quiet and the staff friendly and helpful, which I am sure isn't easy when you are running completely full. the location on the west edge of des moines is great. it's a bit tricky to find when you first arrive, as it is set back from Jordan creek parkway. there are restaurants and other hotels within walking distance, and it's a peaceful safe area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank llittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

One of the newest Motel 6s in which I've stayed, so it's fairly updated. This was also the quietest Motel 6 in which I've stayed. It was clean, as was our room. They welcomed dogs. In a fairly quiet area and felt safe walking the dogs at night. A/C/Heat unit was in a sort of closet, which made it quieter than most hotel room units, and that's a GREAT idea!
However,,, the beds were hard and saggy. The shower/tub had no non-slip surfaces, and I almost fell a couple times because the bottom of the tub was slick. Their cable television was not much more than regular network stations, with far too many Spanish speaking stations. So, if you will be spending much time in your room, television entertainment could be sparse. NO free Wi-FI! What's up with that these days? To purchase a code cost $2.99/day. (Why not just charge $3.00???)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Candee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Nice for a Motel 6. Room was very clean. Like all Motel 6 rooms, no Kleenex, no coffee maker, no continental breakfast, no shampoo, etc. Just a basic sleeping room. Coffee was available in the lobby in the morning. Motel was located in a safe area. Motel very close to restaurants and fast food places.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Super8Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#13 of 22 in West Des Moines
208 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#13 of 48 in Des Moines
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#15 of 22 in West Des Moines
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
599 reviews
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
#18 of 22 in West Des Moines
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Des Moines West

Address: 7655 Office Plaza Dr N, West Des Moines, IA 50266-2321
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range: £41 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Des Moines West 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The motel is centrally located in West Des Moines with easy access to US 80. The shopping center and restaurants are just 10 minutes away. Deluxe modern guest rooms with micro fridge available for a nominal fee, limited supply. WIFI available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Motel 6 West Des Moines
Motel Six West Des Moines
West Des Moines Motel Six
West Des Moines Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing