We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road Trip Stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 Des Moines West
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Road Trip Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was a very nice Motel 6. Very clean and a bit larger than the average Motel 6 room. Those staying at a Motel 6 need to understand the price does not buy you a hair dryer, kleenex, HD TV or a coffee maker. This motel provided a clean place to sleep and shower, which was welcome at the end of a long day on the road. Lot's of places to eat nearby and a mall about a mile up the road. Off the interstate enough that noise is not an issue. WiFi did cost $2.99 a day but worked very well. Front desk staff was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    31
    23
    16
    12
See reviews for
32
18
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We booked a room at the last minute for a Car Show we were attending as we had been told that the other Motels we were checking on were all full. There were a lot of amenities around the Motel. Restaurants, gas stations, etc. . It could use some updating. The beds were very hard, the pillows very old, no shampoo, etc. in the bathroom. Not even any tissues! Good thing I brought my own hair dryer. Only coffee in the lobby in the morning. McDonalds was close thank goodness, and there was also a Perkins and a Culvers close by. Our cards did not work to open the door after you were all the way up to your room so you had to go back down to the desk to have them rekeyed every night. The people at the front desk were very friendly though so that is a definite plus.

Room Tip: Third floor, clear on the end. It was a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnieSears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockbridge, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

So after having driven 10 hours from Ohio to this Motel 6 location in Des Moines, IA, my wife and I checked in and went up to our room. This is when we learned that you have to pay extra if you want a fridge/microwave in your room. Seriously? I mean, it's not like it was $50 or anything but lets be honest, when you go to a motel/hotel, you usually have access to a microwave and/or fridge. This was highly disappointing to both of us. In order to get a fridge/microwave, they moved us from a one bed room to a two bed room with smaller beds, also inconvenient for the two of us. It honestly took me easily 2-3 hours to fall asleep that night.

Ease of access to I-80 was pleasant for our trip. Easy on/Easy off of the Interstate made the long trip from Ohio through Iowa simple and smooth.

Will not be staying at this location again. We actually changed our reservations from Motel 6's after this one and one more stay in South Dakota.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TacMedic_E68W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, WI
Level Contributor
266 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We found this hotel right off I80 and found it to be easy to get to and easy to get out of and back to the interstate. We were just looking for a place to sleep for the night after traveling from Denver on our way east and this was perfect. The rooms are not huge but the double beds are comfy. The bathroom was quite roomy with its corner shower/tub. The TV was a small 19 inch analog, but since we only watched the news and went to bed, we didn't care. There is a Perkins restaurant just around the loop too. If you are looking for a no frills sleeping space, this is it. Price was nice too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnlyMeDSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

This is one of the better Motel 6 motels. It's clean quiet and comfortable. The staff is friendly and there are several restaurants nearby.
It's a bit hard to get to and parking is an issue if you have a large vehicle or trailer.
Overall... good value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cmackay03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

After a bad experience with the Motel 6 (Airport) we ended up here. Was attending a wedding and needed a place to crash for the night. The staff was very nice, I found it to be very clean and the price was right. One downfall was no coffee maker in the room, but we were basically just there to sleep, so it wasn't an issue for us at the time. I definitely recommend this hotel if you're just looking for a place to stay for a night or two and not break your budget.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank TrishAnnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I was just staying the night but immediately regretted my pre-paid reservation once I walked in. Everything was obviously really cheap. The people were nice, though. The toilet paper felt like sandpaper. The shower was really dirty, looked like it had rarely been cleaned. The bed was horrible. The sheets and comforter were stained, had hair and cigarette burns on them. The TV only had 3 channels. It was so bad I felt unsafe to go outside to take my dog on a walk there. Probably the biggest plus- they allow pets, but my husband let my dog out of the room and he ran towards the major highway right there! Thank God someone else was walking their dog and he ran to that dog or he might've gotten really hurt. But basically, really dirty and disgusting. I just knew a ton of prostitutes had done business where I was NOT going to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
#16 of 22 in West Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#13 of 22 in West Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#11 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
Extended Stay America - Des Moin...
#18 of 22 in West Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Des Moines West

Property: Motel 6 Des Moines West
Address: 7655 Office Plaza Drive North, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Des Moines West 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Motel 6 West Des Moines
Motel Six West Des Moines
West Des Moines Motel 6
West Des Moines Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing