We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Fairbank, Iowa
1 review
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Chose this hotel for families in town for a sporting event. Staff was beyond helpful when dealing with reservations, changes and additions. We utilized the front desk for suggestions for many things - when asking for restaurant suggestions, they called to see who could accommodate 25-30 and made the reservations while we stood there. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Only coffee and fruit were available for breakfast, but a full buffet was available. Close to many food options.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoteleval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    146
    38
    9
    10
See reviews for
210
105
28
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
blaine, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Rooms were nice quiet and clean, Price was good for a Hilton. Only suggestion is they have buffet style breakfast. It is not pointed out very well you have to pay for it. Was sort of hard to get to from the freeway without GPS. This is a newer development you have to drive through so suggest looking at the map first.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton WI
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The location is easy on/off coming from out of town. The area is being built up and it is close to shopping and restaurants.

Standard Hilton Garden Inn with firmness adjustable beds. It was clean and quiet.

Breakfast isn't included but there is coffee available.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexxx98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We booked the hotel for a weekend away in West Des Moines. A big reason we booked this was because we wanted somewhere with a bar lounge so after a long day of shopping or traveling we could have a few drinks. We were disappointed to find that the bar was really just squished in a corner not the "relaxing atmosphere" they advertised. The service at the bar was fine and the drinks were made well but it did not open until 5pm and closed by 10. This was a deal breaker for us.

Room Quality- We had a standard king room. The room was clean, pretty simple just a chair, desk and bed. It surpised me that a hotel offering room service had no type of small table. Our view out the window was the outdoor air units and a big concert wall. It would have made sense to me to book a room like this very last. It was a nice Iowa day and we kept the window closed due to the buzzing of the units. The bathroom was simple. The shower however was TINEY. There is a bar on the inside of the shower door and a bar inside the shower so you really are squished in there between the two. The first day i took a semi warm shower because someone else must have been showering and there was not enough hot water to go around. This was extreamly frusterating. I think the worst part of our stay was the beds. our bed was absolutly AWFUL. The hardest bed i have had in a hote. That goes far for me to stay because we have stayed in Jamaica where the beds we thought were rock hard due to the humidity. This bed had settings for "soft" but this did nothing. The fitted sheets were too small for the beds so they kept poping off the corner. THe bed was a deal breaker it was terrible.

Hotel- The hotel is nice, clean. Problem is weddings can be held there and there was a wedding there on our second night (3/15) and we could hear the bass in our room. I even asked workers if there was a wedding hinting we can obviously hear it from our room. The hotel was not consistent with their offerings in the lobby, our first day there was nice infused water, the second day we walked down to get some and there was nothing.

Pool- the pool area is VERY nice. A pool, a kids pool and a hot tub. The pool area was not well kept, and we watched a man fall very bad due to the slick tiles. Obiviously pool areas can be slick but this spot was a very slick spot the water was just standing in this area not draining anywhere.


All in all our goal for this trip was comfort. We did not find comfort in the room the beds were awful I am 24 young person and my hip and arm hurt every morning we woke up. We were hoping to go down to the bar each day before leaving for dinner but it did not open till 5. There were a few other guys talking about being bummed it closed so early as well.

I would not suggest staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that you are not right by the AC units. We were room 267 so maybe try hiogher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammyjh45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Madison, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

This hotel deserves an "excellent" rating. The room was great, the food in the restaurant was simple but awesome. The location is great when shopping is your thing; Jordan Creek Mall is about 2 mins walking distance. Last but not least, the staff was awesome; our car broke down and the ladies at the front desk went to any length to help us out. We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Dieter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
278 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Happy to have stayed here - tired from long day of driving, we were able to get a one king bed one bedroom suite - it was huge. Very nice with kitchenette. Right across from the Jordan Creek mall which has a great Cheesecake Factory. The hotel staff very nice, good wifi, breakfast included for hhonors members. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xiphoid76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Sioux, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed over night for a short business trip. The Room was clean, I slept well. Did not have a complimentary breakfast, but breakfast is availableA++. Does offer a gym, pool, and large hot tub which I did not get to use. I had not issues with this hotel. Guest service was very nice and was a easy check in and out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.6 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moin...
#5 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#8 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines

Property: Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Address: 205 S 64th St, West Des Moines, IA 50266-8623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines located close to Wells Fargo Corporate Offices and Jordan Creek Town Center. Whether you're traveling for business or leisure, our hotel in West Des Moines, Iowa is conveniently located near the restaurants, entertainment and shops of West Des Moines. Our Iowa hotel is near Interstate 35, Interstate 80 and 20 minutes from downtown. Plan a business conference or party in over 3,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space. Our experienced catering staff will assist with the menu and details. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi in guest rooms, common areas, and our 24-hr business center. Enjoy a workout in our fitness center or a swim in our indoor heated pool. Start the day with cooked-to-order omelets, waffles, or French toast in our Great American Grill(R). The restaurant is also open for dinner. If you'd prefer a relaxing dinner in your guest room, order room service or pick up a prepared meal at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Hilton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing