We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home and great for families!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Feels like home and great for families!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We love to stay here, as it's comfortable, feels like home, and is a great location. The best part, especially with 4 grandchildren in the area under 5, is the large toddler pool with zero entry and max depth of 1'6". We also have a grandson who is 8 and the regular pool is large and fun for him. The kids love the breakfast and it's always convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulajcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    152
    41
    9
    10
See reviews for
224
107
28
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed at this property on 6/20. The rooms are clean and nice. Mattress was above average for a hotel. Unfortunately, I could not sleep. My room was next to the air conditioning units and the noise was too much. I really wasn't in my room much until I headed up at 10pm, so I did not notice the noise during the day. I tried for 2 hours to get to sleep. At 12:40am I finally called down to the front desk hoping to be moved and salvage the night. There were rooms available because I got online after my conversation w/ the front desk and checked. I also called the reservations # and asked.
When I called downstairs....
Eric(?, not positive on name) told me "If I did anything to stop the noise I would have to clear out the hotel. There is nothing I can do." ~ I wrote down his words when I hung up the phone because he expressed such a flippant attitude towards me.
I am a Diamond member with Hilton and have been for many years; meaning I stay w/Hilton frequently. I have never had a situation where I was dismissed like that. Huge disappointment. When I checked out, no one asked me how my stay was. As I was exhausted, I just left. I should have said something then and there, but just did not have the energy.

Anyhoo...the rest of the story.....

I did have a couple drinks and some food earlier in the evening. Food was really good. The bartender was very rude to his co-worker. It was very unprofessional.

The pool and spa areas are above average. The pool area has a kids pool. Great for smaller children. I also very much enjoy the outdoor space off the pool where you can grab some sun.

This was not my first visit to this property and I would recommend this hotel. I just had a really bad experience this time. As someone that works in the Hospitality Industry, I tend to expect as high a level of service as I give and that is just not realistic.

peace n love....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristiKae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in two consecutive weeks, my first time at this hotel in WDM (having tried several of its competitors).

Got off to a good start both times, finding check-in to be quite efficient. The rooms were reasonably sized and quite clean. Good mattress and assortment of pillows. Bathroom was also clean and comfortably roomy.

I had breakfast one morning. Fair prices and good food.

I did not utilize any other services, but the staff seemed friendly and willing to help. Check out easy and bill correct.

This hotel is definitely on par with its peers in the geographical area and at a similar price point.

I need to research the loyalty program a little more, but I am moving it to number 2 on my list for West Des Moines (I am a frequent visitor), and if the rewards program stacks up, it could move to number 1.

Will stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank pick6king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while traveling to another destination. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite with two queen beds and a sleeper sofa. The room was very large and nicely furnished. It included a Keurig coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator and two TVs. It felt like an apartment. All that room for two teens for $140 plus tax. Well worth it. Seems like a nice area and if you needed or wanted to, you could base out of this hotel for several days and not feel too cramped. I'm not sure what you would do here for all that time but this would also be a good base for business travel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KC-four-to-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is a gem! The lobby has a wonderful area for friends to meet and greet.....there is a wonderful drink bar with iced lemon or fruit water, coffee, tea and anything a thirsty traveler would desire. WiFi is free and rooms are big and wonderful! We had a college floor reunion there and it was wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Missouri, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

In the heart of prime shopping (Jordan Creek Mall) and at the crossroads of major Interstates (I35 & I 80), is a real find in hospitality and comfort! This Garden Inn is typical of the exceptional services you expect from this branch of Hilton Hotels. The friendly, helpful and professional staff raise it to a higher level. When staying Des Moines, keep this West Des Moines property in mind!! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Upper floors away from pool and kids a good idea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphyOConnell, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are so glad to hear we have exceeded your expectations of Garden Inn's! Our staff is grateful for your recommendations. We can't wait to serve you again! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, CO
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had a wonderful night at this hotel. It was clean, spacious and the staff was very attentive. We had a lovely dinner and drinks and a restful night. The breakfast buffet was very good and had a great selection.
Will stay here the next trip back that way!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strahle2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphyOConnell, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! We will look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for the kind words and please have safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
207 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jordan Creek
Hyatt Place West Des Moines/Jord...
#8 of 22 in West Des Moines
86 reviews
0.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moin...
#5 of 22 in West Des Moines
381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#10 of 22 in West Des Moines
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines

Property: Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Address: 205 S 64th St, West Des Moines, IA 50266-8623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#2 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines located close to Wells Fargo Corporate Offices and Jordan Creek Town Center. Whether you're traveling for business or leisure, our hotel in West Des Moines, Iowa is conveniently located near the restaurants, entertainment and shops of West Des Moines. Our Iowa hotel is near Interstate 35, Interstate 80 and 20 minutes from downtown. Plan a business conference or party in over 3,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space. Our experienced catering staff will assist with the menu and details. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi in guest rooms, common areas, and our 24-hr business center. Enjoy a workout in our fitness center or a swim in our indoor heated pool. Start the day with cooked-to-order omelets, waffles, or French toast in our Great American Grill(R). The restaurant is also open for dinner. If you'd prefer a relaxing dinner in your guest room, order room service or pick up a prepared meal at the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Hilton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing