We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan Friendly, Great Value, Come Hungry”

HuHot Mongolian Grill
Ranked #37 of 255 Restaurants in West Des Moines
Price range: US$9 - US$15
Cuisines: Mongolian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vegan Friendly, Great Value, Come Hungry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Unlimited trips to the build your own bowl of food. Meats separate from veggies and sauces are clearly marked for us vegans. Food is grilled on a clean grill separate from other foods in clear sight right in front of you. Server was friendly and refilled my drink between trips to the grill without prompting. Great value & quality for the cost. Soft drinks are a little pricey at $2.29,but hat must be where they make their money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnvironmentalAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    34
    19
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“S'mores Campfire was the best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stopped in for lunch on a Friday about noon. It was very busy but we were seated right away. Our server was so-so on friendliness and we didn't see her very often. My guess was she was assigned a lot of tables. Our 9-year old girls liked the raw food bar, choosing what they wanted and watching the chefs cook their food. Mostly though, they loved the S'mores for dessert. The server brought a little "campfire" right to our table. It was a lot of fun. This was the best part of our visit. The food was good but the soda tasted funny. The price was great on the kids meals, all-you-can-eat for $4.99! The tables were crowded together. The manager was friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djohnson2173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, IA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very busy place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We went to HuHot and got sat after about a 10 min wait. The waitress was in a big hurry but explained the layout of the raw food bar. We got hot and sour soup and a salad with ranch since it was dinner time. The soup was very different than most hot and sour soups I've had but nice and spicy. My husband's salad was very good. the meals we picked out at the food bar were ok, but not as good as ordering off the menu at a Chinese restaurant. We probably won't be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worktraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't Waste your time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

The atmosphere looks like a teenagers bedroom. Always something on the floor tables are a mess. The buffet looks like someone just dumps stuff somewhere close to wher it is supposed to be and leaves it. As far as taste...that is only somewhat up to you as if there are not random things in the items you want when selecting your choices the cooks will make sure and include some of the next persons food with yours once it hits the grill. Don't stray too far from a bathroom afterwards either. You may have about 30-45 min but dont risk it.

Helpful?
1 Thank AJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good meal, nice experience.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Definitely a unique way to sit down and have a meal. Depending on the time of day you go it could be somewhat of a wait to get food as your standing and watching the chefs grill. Overall not bad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nikrule16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed HuHot Mongolian Grill also viewed

 

Been to HuHot Mongolian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing