We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
West Bend, WI
Level Contributor
257 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This is just a great place. Very modern--rooms are great. They have extra touches, like flowers on tables in eating area. I booked the room ahead of time, but found a coupon in a travel book at a gas station--they honored the coupon, which saved us $45! There is a nice, small shopping area around it, but we were happy to stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: Check out travel coupon books along the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klutzWestBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    84
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
135
86
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I can't say enough good about this place. Spotlessly clean, friendly efficient staff, quiet even when the dog show and the gymnastic teams are in town. The breakfast, drinks, and yes, even dinner were good. The pool (indoor & outdoor even in January) was awesome! Good location, close to all kinds of shops and restaurants. Drury Inns - come north!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We have held our family holiday get-together here since this place opened. This is a very clean hotel and the staff must all hold degrees in Customer Service! The evening meal and breakfast help a lot with the cost of food, especially when you have kids. Great accommodations for the price! You won't regret staying here!

Room Tip: Suite rooms are nice, especially with kids, since there are two distinct rooms with a door between a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmasheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We always enjoy staying at Drury Inns, and this hotel is no exception. Modern, spacious, clean, quality room/suite with a nice "snack" (more like dinner with salad and pasta and nachos and hot dogs, etc.) plus three free drinks each (wine, beer, and some standard mixes) and a nice, edible (many aren't) breakfast. Add in a friendly, accommodating staff, a roaring fire and a good location with plenty of restaurants just steps away and you have the makings for a great stay,

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlhdjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

What a beautiful hotel. We stayed on NYE and had a 2 room suite- such a beautiful and clean room. The hideaway bed was very comfortable and the other beds were wonderful too. Not one complaint about the room. A+. I can't really comment on the 5:30 kickback because it was overly packed, being NYE. Was only able to get one of my 3 free drinks, due to the line. That is okay though. Breakfast was wonderful, staff was friendly. I did not meet any rude employees at the hotel- from the front desk to housekeeping, bartenders, etc.

The only complaint I have is the parking....awful. Def not enough parking. The Drury Inn in Kansas has a covered parking ramp, which is amazing and holds plenty of cars.

But again- A+ spot- can't wait until they open a Drury in Coralville-

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanillac2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

Stopped here around 8 pm while traveling. Great hotel! Easy access. The only downfall I would say is the comforter (old school slick comforter); otherwise, fantastic stay! The free breakfast was an excellent added bonus!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkilhoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

This was our first stay at a Drury and it was clear where all the good reviews come from. Easy access from I 35 and it sits at the entrance to a neighborhood-type shopping area (we didn't have time to explore it.) Fastest check-in, period. Excellent customer service. Rooms were very clean, though the recliner in our room had seen a few spills. I never sleep well in hotels, but I did here. Very comfortable beds, including the pillows, which were supportive but soft and didn't wrench my neck. Nice big bathroom with shower mounted dispensers of soap, shampoo, and conditioner (great for kids.) Pretty quiet, though our wake-up call was the neighbor's shower. The food is a great perk. Hot dogs, baked potatoes, salad, nacho fixings, and some sort of soup/chili seemed standard with a rotating dish of some sort of pasta. Breakfast had the normal offerings of sausage, eggs, waffles, and also real hot oatmeal (not the packets) with a variety of toppings available. The couple in charge of the food service are exceptionally friendly. A couple of hiccups for us. The hotel was full and we occasionally had a long wait for an elevator. We took the stairs more than once, even though we were on the 6th floor. The 2 elevators are at the entrance to the food area, so the congestion there was pretty bad at meal times. The evening food line was long with tired, whiny kids and both times we had to take our food to our room because there wasn't a free table (not really the hotel's fault- the eating area is quite large.) The indoor/outdoor pool was nice, but pretty small for a hotel full of families. We bought lunches and put them in the fridge, which was running, only to find them room temp. the next morning (staff quickly credited the cost of the food to our bill.) Friends told us later that the fridge had to be removed from the cabinet it was in and the temp. adjusted from the back. But this is being nit-picky- clearly this place is far superior to most of what's out there. Don't hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myinfo4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#10 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.5 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines

Property: Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Address: 5505 Mills Civic Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-5307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#5 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines is located off I-35 near West Glen Town Center, which has a variety of shops, restaurants, and entertainment. The hotel serves free hot breakfast as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback® - and many more free extras! The hotel is 15 minutes from downtown Des Moines, the Iowa State Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites West Des Moines
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
West Des Moines Drury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing