We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was very nice, clean, I would recommend it to anyone. Free Breakfast. We had no problems with children, but some did. All and all I would say, this is a wonderful place for a family to stay. I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    89
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
148
88
13
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
kansas city
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We met another family at this hotel over the weekend. The hotel is great, the rooms are very modern and spacious, great snacks/drinks and breakfast was hot. The pool itself is very nice, but we had issues with the numerous youth boys baseball teams that were left running out of control. The parents were drinking and socializing in the lobby. Not paying a bit of attention to their boys. We had a couple of younger children in our party that were not strong swimmers. One team were real problem children. If our kids went to the outside portion of the pool, our kids would move inside. This team made it a splash game and would jump in doing cannonballs and almost land on our kids. They were loud and obnoxious. We finally resorted to turning them into the manager. She asked what we wanted her to do about it. We said that the HOTEL rules stated no diving and that patrons can be kept from the pool. She basically refused to say or do anything about it. Kids were running wild in the halls and every part of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Propsect IL
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A quality Drury Inn, excellent accomodations, very good breakfast, plentiful snacks, food, and drinks during the evening reception. At the time we were there, numerous children's/teen's sports' teams were in residence for tournaments along with a couple bachelorette parties. We were a bit nervous that there would be noise all night. However the hotel management had it all under control and there were no problems. Best of all was the service we received on check-out when we discovered that our car battery had died. The front desk had a portable battery we used and were quickly on the road. Thanks Drury Inn!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leekaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

During a road trip in Iowa, we stayed at the Drury Inn in Des Moines. It was such a great place to stay. They offer free appetizers and drinks in the evening and free breakfast in the morning. There is free wifi. Staff was friendly. The room was clean and comfortable (with refrigerator!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyvpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here with a entire baseball team and we all had great things to say. In fact we are staying here during another tournament this season! Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff was nice. Location was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey3117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sac City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My daughter & I choose here to stay while we were attending an event in West Des Moines for the weekend. When she checked in she was advised there was a baseball tournament going on in the area, so the hotel would be full of kids. We were to let the reception desk know if we were unhappy with noise from the kids. Other than a few knocks on the door, we were not too bothered by the kids. We did not bring our swimsuits, but would not have been able to get in the pool with the crowd of kids. The room was nice & the price was average. We enjoyed the hotel breakfast on Saturday morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyG S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate any feedback we receive from our guests, especially when it presents us an opportunity to improve our guests' experience. I do apologize for your less than satisfactory experience while staying with us. I don't know if you were told at check-in... we do have a specified adult swim time from 10pm-11pm because of this busy time, and we want to make sure everyone enjoys themselves.

As we strive to provide an exceptional experience for our guests, I would love to speak with you personally so that I may further understand and identify the service issues you experienced. If you are so inclined, I can be reached by phone at 515-457-9500. I do hope you will give us the opportunity to earn your patronage by giving us another try when you travel to the area. Thank you again for your feedback.

Best Regards,
Kim Biery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monument, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Very clean and efficient operation. Friendly staff. Well equipped fitness facility. Nice common areas. Generous and tasty fresh continental breakfast. Highly recommended for short or long term accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
586 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#10 of 22 in West Des Moines
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
215 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
577 reviews
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines West at Jordan Creek Town Center
Residence Inn Des Moines West at...
#7 of 22 in West Des Moines
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines

Property: Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines
Address: 5505 Mills Civic Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-5307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#5 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines is located off I-35 near West Glen Town Center, which has a variety of shops, restaurants, and entertainment. The hotel serves free hot breakfast as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback® - and many more free extras! The hotel is 15 minutes from downtown Des Moines, the Iowa State Capitol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites West Des Moines
Drury Inn & Suites West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
West Des Moines Drury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing