We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice for Business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Des Moines Marriott
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Choice for Business”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I've stayed at the West Des Moines Marriott a few times for business, most recently last week. It had been a few years since I had been back and a few things have changed, but the service has remained very good. The front desk staff was friendly and made me feel welcome upon arrival. We used the shuttle to get to the office and the drivers were all very friendly.

The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable.

The only negatives are the fitness center seems to have been remodeled and is now smaller and the towels seemed a bit worn.

There are a lot of hotel choices in West Des Moines, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
eho,
We appreciate your review and continued patronage with us at West Des Moines Marriott. I'm pleased to know we consistently deliver excellent service and comfortable accommodations for your business travels. Your feedback is important to us as guest satisfaction is our highest priority. Please continue to make us your number one choice hotel when traveling to West Des Moines. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    128
    45
    12
    7
See reviews for
87
74
24
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at the Marriott on a Girl's Shopping Weekend and it was wonderful! In addition to a great, clean, roomy room....we got a coupon for a free appetizer & 2 free drinks at the awesome Johnny's Italian Restaurant that is attached to the hotel! We had a great experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv4bigreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
luv4bigreds,
Thank you for choosing West Des Moines Marriott for your Girl's Shopping Weekend. We appreciate you sharing your experience, and we're glad our hotel, service, and accommodations perfectly suited your travels. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed in the Marriott Hotel in West Des Moines for 12 days on business. While I was there the staff was unbelievably helpful and contributed in every way to making the stay enjoyable and tolerable. The Front Desk man, Morgan, made me feel like I was in a Hotel in the 40's. He was very much like a throwback concierge. He cared about everything, listened to my words and requests and wants. He was simply the best Concierge I have ever had the pleasure of encountering. I admire the care and thought and time he puts into making sure that every single guest feels at home and taken care of.

The only issue I have is how expensive breakfast was every day. Gets very expensive after while and I started walking to McDonalds because of the cost difference.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msd s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
msd s,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us at Marriott West Des Moines. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than the recognition from our guests like you on our staff's excellence in service. Morgan's genuine passion for exemplary customer service leads him to enhance each guest's visit, making him an essential part of our team. I look forward to sharing your compliments with Morgan and recognizing him with a special commendation for sincere hospitality. We apologize for your disappointment in the breakfast costs and appreciate your valuable comments. We enjoyed having you as our guest, and we hope you'll visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Best regards,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is near Jordan Creek shopping area off I-80. The room was exactly what I have come to expect from a Marriott. Nice bed, clean, quiet. There wasn't much of a view from our room. It overlooked the interstate. It was quiet though and we never heard the interstate traffic. The fitness room had nice equipment and about 10 machines. I used the treadmill it had a tv on it and there was a nice pool area. It could have been a little cleaner in the pool area the tables are showing some wear and tear. They didn't have any towels in the pool area. The cups on the water dispenser were running low. Slight things can be easily fixed. This hotel was a little smaller than many of the Marriott's I have stayed at. They do have a lot of rooms but when you first walk in it doesn't grab your attention. They have just one computer in the lobby designated as their business center. On top of that the computer is visible to everyone walking by. I am used to the business center being in a room with a door for privacy. I am also used to multiple computers. The lobby is on the smaller side. It gives a boutique hotel feel. They didn't have the fruit infused water they said they only do that during the summer time. I was at the downtown Marriott in October and they had it. The downtown Des Moines gives a grander appearance. This hotel does have free parking which is nice. There is a McDonald's right next door connected to the parking lot which is convenient for families. We did eat in the restaurant on site. The food was good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iowaloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
iowaloves2travel,
Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate you sharing feedback from your stay, and we sincerely apologize for the areas we fell short of exceeding your expectations. Your valuable comments provides many opportunities for improving our guest experience. We're glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise and found our clean accommodations and comfortable bed to meet your satisfaction. We're happy to have had you as our guest and we hope you'll return for another visit in the near future. Thank you once again for writing.

Best regards,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just under 10 miles from the airport. I was surprised and so pleased by the staff - very friendly, helpful, accommodating of all our needs (i.e. shuttles, spur of the moment conference rooms, etc.), etc. The hotel lobby and rooms were tastefully decorated. Rooms were spotless. Fitness room offered more than some gyms in which I've worked out. All meals were delicious and accompanied by great service. I can't wait for our return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amm1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
amm1313,
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Marriott West Des Moines, and we thank you for writing a review. I'm pleased to hear that our staff's warm hospitality exceeded your expectations, and you found our accommodations and amenities perfectly suited for your travels. We're glad you had an enjoyable stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back as our guest. Thank you once again for writing.

Best regards,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at this hotel. The room was very nice, the lobby was neat and clean, the food in the restaurant was very good. However the best part of the stay was the staff - Morgan and Bridget went out of their way to make us feel welcome and gave exceptional service! They greated each person on their way in and put a smile on everyones face. This was a girls trip just to get away and we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Tricia V,
We're happy to hear from you, and we're pleased to know you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us at Marriott West Des Moines. It's fantastic to hear all the aspects that made your girls trip enjoyable. I look forward to sharing your complimentary feedback about the exceptional service you received during your visit, and I'll be certain to recognize Morgan and Bridget with special commendations for their sincere hospitality. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again in the future. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canandaigua, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Right off I-80, good price, late night menu where we could get what we wanted, A light salad and a cold beer. Beds and shower were awesome! For $5 a person we got the breakfast buffet which was worth it. Starbucks coffee, fresh fruit and Iowa bacon.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferf2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at West Des Moines Marriott, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Ferf2travel,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your visit to Marriott West Des Moines. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel and amenities well suited for your travels. We appreciate you selecting our hotel, and we hope you'll visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Best regards,
Lisa Tuller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#11 of 22 in West Des Moines
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#16 of 22 in West Des Moines
165 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
219 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West Des Moines-Jordan Creek
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites West ...
#10 of 22 in West Des Moines
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Des Moines Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Des Moines Marriott

Property: West Des Moines Marriott
Address: 1250 Jordan Creek Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-5825
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#4 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Des Moines Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest of West Des Moines hotels, the newly renovated West Des Moines Marriott is ideally located for business or leisure travel and is just 8 miles to downtown and 1 mile to Jordan Creek Town Center. We're close to businesses including Wells Fargo, Marsh, ATHENE, Farm Bureau and Mercy West Medical Center. Complimentary shuttle service to the airport (12 miles) is available 7am-11pm daily. This West Des Moines hotel offers 219 rooms including 38 suites with WIRELESS Internet and 37" flat screen TVs. On the Concierge Level, upgraded amenities such as complimentary breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres await you in the exclusive lounge for Concierge Level guests. Enjoy delectable cuisine at Two Rivers Grille or unwind with cocktails and conversation at Two Rivers Lounge. Freshly renovated event space for 10 to 450, enhanced by our award-winning service and catering, will make your presentation, wedding or reunion truly dazzle. We invite you to experience the best among hotels in West Des Moines! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your West Des Moines Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing