We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“clean and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Not a thing wrong with this hotel. The staff was very friendly and the rooms clean. Not an outrageous price either for the amount of time spent in the room itself.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mccarthykris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Mccarthykris,
Thanks very much for your review; it’s great to know you enjoyed the hotel and we can’t wait to see you again!
Yours truly,
Abid Talic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    75
    36
    11
    5
See reviews for
79
48
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
422 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Spent one night here, first time at this property, but have stayed at other Fairfield Inns in the past. Last time in West Des Moines we stayed @ the Hampton Inn nearby, which is a better choice. Plus side: Plenty of free parking and easy access to Hwy 80. Many other hotels in the area and shopping a short drive away. Nice towels. But...the property needs facelift/updating. TV in room was the real old fashioned kind and had awful reception. Bad smell in the elevator. Equipment in business center was ancient. Front desk staffer was very ill and hacking and coughing all over. Sounded awful and looked terrible. Grimy, spotty, stained "chrome" in bathroom. Phone in room was very dirty and had the wrong info on it. I used the phone and looked down and it had the wrong room number on it. Fridge in room had terrible stench. I opened it and the smell was shocking. Rug and furniture were worn out. Lipstick smears on the mirror. The area is pretty nice, but this place needs some TLC stat.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinbeck, IA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Motel was a good location for our shopping excursion. The price was excellent. The motel was very clean, and had a nice selection for the breakfast. Pool area looked to be nice, but we did not use the facilities, as we really only needed a place to sleep, as we spent the whole day shopping. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side opposite the interstate, as the rooms will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
104 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I stay in a lot of hotels, but had never stayed at a Fairfield Inn before. I was pleasantly surprised. There was a lot with ample, well lighted parking. I was greeted promptly when I walked in the door and given my room key and the free wifi and breakfast were explained to me.

The property appeared in very good shape. My room was good sized with two queen beds and all the amenities I really needed in a hotel. The room was very clean and everything was in good repair. My only issue was that for the size of the room, the TV seemed a bit small. I believe it was a 27 inch old CRT model and the upgrade to a 32 to 40 inch flat panel would be welcome.

The bathroom was clean and had everything I needed as well. The tub even seemed a bit wider than most found in hotels. I was able to have a very comfortable bath.

The room was quiet as could be from inside noise. Even though the hotel was booked I didn't hear a peep. Not even the normal hallway noise. The only noise that was audible was the drone of cars and trucks passing by on the freeway. I like a bit of white noise so that did not bother me. But, if you are sensitive to noise you might want to request a non highway facing room.

The staff was nice and the place seems to attract a good base of business travelers. The free breakfast was what I expected at this star level of a hotel. They also had a workout room and a small pool and hot tub.

I was very happy with the Fairfield Inn for the price I paid. I have paid much more and have received much less at other places.

Room Tip: Stay on the non highway facing side if vehicle noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trm684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We traveled to Des Moines for Thanksgiving weekend. In looking online at different hotels in planning our trip, Fairfield Inn & Suites were offering a special for Thanksgiving night, adding special touches like fresh-baked cookies, hot chocolate, coffee, a local paper, etc. for guests and shoppers. We chose to stay here because of the price and specials.

Our party consisted of two families. Adjoining rooms weren't an option for the hotel, but our rooms were across the hall from each other which was nice. Our room was nice, but small with two queen beds. The beds were comfortable. The t.v. could use some updating. Our other party had a microwave in their room, but for some reason, we didn't.

The hotel was clean and the staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. They made us feel welcomed and "at home." It was in a good location for us, right off of I-80 and Jordan Creek Parkway.

Breakfast was a little better than a continental breakfast...make your own waffles, microwavable breakfast sandwiches, fruit, cereal, pastries, yogurt, breads.

Overall, this was a nice place to stay, and affordable for our family.

Room Tip: Choose if possible a room facing the front of the building. The back of the building faces the inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesAnnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed overnight in a king spa suite. The room was clean and the layout was great. The over-sized spa tub was in a room of it's own with a gas fireplace and flat screen tv apart from the tv in the bed area. The staff were very friendly and the room was neat and kept up.

The "continental" breakfast area was large and clean. They offered the typical fare you would expect, but also had hard boiled eggs, a Belgian waffle maker and microwave breakfast sandwiches.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Rooms just feel old and worn down. I think the pillows are as old as the property. Definitely wish I would have stayed at a newer hotel closer to Jordan Creek.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cedar_shake79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.2 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#13 of 22 in West Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#12 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Address: 7225 Vista Drive, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West Hotel West Des Moines
Fairfield Inn And Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn West Des Moines
Fairfield West Des Moines
West Des Moines Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing