We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Rooms and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Comfortable Rooms and clean”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We are an Marriott elite rewards member and there was no mention made of this upon my arrival. No upgrades or even hey we have your account information. The only way I knew it was in their system was when it came on the bill on the final day. The courtyard across the way puts up a nice sign welcoming each member which at least lets you know they value your visit. The staff seemed nice enough though. You can tell this hotel was recently renovated. Nice clean feel to it with the modern decor. The pool was 5 feet deep. The hot tub was out of order. We enjoyed swimming. The fitness center had an elliptical, some free weights, and a treadmill. It has a mirror facing equipment so pictures may make it look bigger than it is. The breakfast was not tasty. There was a waffle maker but the waffles turned out bland. There were hard boiled eggs and some sausage links. Packets of oatmeal some bread you could toast, some yogurt, juices. You could tell that all the food was set up to be of convenience to the employees rather than for comfort or taste. It was clean and you can make it work for a continental breakfast. We were looking for some scrambled eggs or a breakfast potato. The room brochure said there were Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches. Which they did not have. There was some decent fresh fruit cut up which I appreciated. The bed was king sized and comfy. I slept great. The elevator beeped throughout the night. We were on the opposite side of the interstate and I didn't hear traffic noise at all. There is an Arby's and a Quizno's within a short walking distance from the hotel. Probably 500 feet away.There is no restaurant on site. The hotel room did have a small refrigerator,coffee maker and microwave. The shampoo was Pantene. There was no lotion. Only shampoo, conditioner and soap. We got a decent rate for this hotel due to Easter. I have seen it advertised though for the mid $130's per night and that would not be worth it in my opinion. It is near Jordan Creek shopping mall and there are a lot of restaurant choices in that area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iowaloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abid T, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your candid review of your stay.Please know that we value and take all feedback very seriously as it helps us reach our goal of delivering exceptional service. I will be addressing these matters with my team during our weekly meeting. I look forward to your return visit with us so you can experience the true level of service and accommodations the Fairfield Inn and Suites West Des Moines has to offer.
Best Regards,
Abid Talic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    76
    38
    11
    5
See reviews for
80
49
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have stayed on 3 separate Saturday nights in April and March and checked in late, around 11pm. The front desk person was courteous. We had asked for a top (4th) floor room with two queen beds - no two-queen rooms on 4th floor, so our rooms were always on the third floor. Room were great - new decor, very clean, and very quiet. I thought the beds were comfortable, but they are firm and definitely too hard for my husband.

Breakfast was okay - the usual fare. The Fairfield Inn's website has multiple photos of the breakfast showing hot scrambed eggs, including the one advertising their 'HOT' breakfast. All three Saturday nights we spent here, we got down to breakfast an hour or more before it closed and there was never once any hot eggs of any kind - disappointing. Sometimes they had the cold hard boiled eggs, but were even out of those one time. The only 'hot' items were turkey sausages and waffles. Since I am gluten-intolerant and can't eat the waffles, cereal, muffins, etc, having eggs is probably a bigger deal for me than for most people.

We didn't try the pool or exercise equipment, so can't speak to those. All ice machines but the one on 4th floor were out of order, but not a huge deal, since it was so cold outside.

This Fairfield Inn was/is the most reasonably priced 2 1/2 star motel in the area, so with our discounts, we'll stay here again and just not count on seeing any hot eggs for breakfast!

Room Tip: Get down to breakfast early if you want a complete selection before they start running out of stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Like-to-hike24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abid T, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your candid review of your stay. Please know that we value and take all feedback very seriously as it helps us reach our goal of delivering exceptional service. I will be addressing these matters with my team during our weekly meeting. I look forward to your return visit with us so you can experience the true level of service and accommodations the Fairfield Inn and Suites West Des Moines has to offer.
Best Regards,
Abid Talic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel had recently been remodeled when I arrived and it was very inviting. The decor in the common areas and the rooms was fresh and modern. The fitness room and pool area were clean and a great place to unwind after a busy day.

The location is great with a large, modern mall just down the street. It is also in the nicer area of Des Moines and conveniently close to I-80.

This is what I expect when staying at a Marriott property!

Room Tip: I stayed in a room with an east-facing window and enjoyed the warm sunrises waking me up in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misses A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I recently stayed at the Fairfield Inn and Suites in West Des Moines. What a big difference from the last time I stayed there! They remodeled all the guest rooms with this fabulous new décor, very bright and colorful. The new beds were so comfortable and the breakfast area is brand new. I thought this was an excellent value for the money. Having stayed there before this is a big change. The hotel looks brand new.

Room Tip: I had a king room facing the highway. No noise from the highway at all. Very quiet and restful sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaycoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We stay at Fairfields a lot because typically they are nice and clean with our discounts the price has been fair. This one was more than we have ever paid at one of them, and worse, the older of the two ladies at the front desk said only, "that's a good price" rather than, we hope you decide to stay. Isn't the fairness of the price for us to decide. Overall, she did not seem to care whether we stayed or not, hardly looked up. As for the place otherwise, I do not remember much because I was so put off by the above. If they want to keep in business, they had better maintain the facility.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carroll H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. One floor is under construction. We had an issue with our room and they immediately moved us!! Very good free breakfast (scrambled eggs, turkey sausage, numerous pastries, oatmeal , juices, and coffee).

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchell m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We were dissapointed by the quality of the hotel.



There was a broken exit door handle in pool area, and we were worried once we were in the pool area, we might not be able to leave.

The carpet in the room was extremely worn out

The bathroom was very small with a low ceiling, hit my head when entering the shower

There was no stopper in bathtub, so we couldn't set up a bath for our child.

There was a small single trash basket in entire room, no trash can in the bathroom.

There were no power outlets easily accessible by bedside table to plug in devices (cell phone, etc)

The air conditioner was extremely loud/noisy, even on fan only mode.

The mattresses were very saggy and uncomfortable

There was no refrigerator in the room

The staff and hotel remodelers were using the guest elevators in the morning while guests are trying to check out. We had to wait 3 times for the elevators to be clear

The room cleaning staff were making messes in the hallway and elevator areas in the morning while cleaning rooms. They set their carts in the middle of the hallway, making it difficult to roll luggage out when we left.

The curb cut/ramp from driveway into hotel doorway not lined up with front door, making it difficult to roll the luggage cart in and out.

When we turned on the power to the on TV, it resulted in a static screen, and the TV remote was broken (it sounded like a childs rattle, something shaking inside of it)

The breakfast area was being serviced by one person, who was having a hard time keeping up with the customers. For some reason, she thought it was Monday, so she started putting the breakfast away early. When a customer reminded her that it was still the weekend, she had to apologize and start over again with setting out food, plugging in the waffle makers, making eggs and sausage (yucky turkey sausage, ugh) and there were no potatoes left.
so the breakfast was a huge letdown as well.


overall it just wasn't the quality we expect from a Marriott branded hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChazzVader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#14 of 22 in West Des Moines
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#15 of 22 in West Des Moines
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
#18 of 22 in West Des Moines
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Address: 7225 Vista Dr, West Des Moines, IA 50266-9315
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West Hotel West Des Moines
Fairfield Inn And Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn West Des Moines
Fairfield West Des Moines
West Des Moines Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing