We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated ... certainly nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Valley West Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Valley West Inn
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
156 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Dated ... certainly nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Room was clean and will maintained, however, furnishings seemed very dated. No WiFi which in my mind is a big negative, there was a room down the hall that had computers for guest use. There is a restaurant and separate sports bar in the hotel and a large shopping center across the street. Located just off I-235.

Room Tip: If you can't walk steps ask for something on the ground level or near an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terrell_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    23
    14
    25
    31
See reviews for
33
18
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somewhere, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Let me preface this by saying the actual bedroom itself was shockingly clean and decent compared to the rest of the facility. The hallways are dirty and run down, with stained carpeting and dingy dirty walls. The elevator belongs in a horror movie. To get to our room, we had to travel down 3 long hallways that just kept leading to another door and another door and then a staircase (even though we were on the first floor) and then another door. The "breakfast" consisted of a case of hard, stale mini-cinammon rolls. None of the outer doors into the hotel seemed to be locked no matter how late or early. And we didn't even attempt the pool after smelling the pool area. Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cableguy62120112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council Bluffs, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Great Hotel with very reasonable rates. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were perfect..VERY CLEAN. Great location, near tons of restaurants (Joe's Crab Shack is my favorite) and the Jordan Creek Mall is only a couple minutes away. I travel often for work and very few hotels offer the convenience that Valley West Inn has. The hotel has a sports bar inside along a great pool for the kids and a great diner for food (fabulous breakfast, get the homemade green chili on your hashbrowns). You really don't even need to leave the hotel! Thanks for the great stay, I will be returning again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Over the years, I hadn't heard great things about this hotel. But it recently went through a management change which has apparently done wonders for the place! I was impressed by the upgrades to the facility. It has a great little sports bar on the second floor, and was very convenient all the way across the board.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

I recently needed an extended stay hotel that was good for my business and some place my family would enjoy with me on the weekends. I heard thru the grapevine that my needs could be met at The Valley West Inn, in West Des Moines, Iowa. My kids were thrilled due to the great indoor swimming pool, my wife was pleased, because she could shop till she dropped at a beautiful mall acrosee the street, and I could get my work done. It was my home away from home in the 3 months I would be in Des Moines. The staff made me feel like part of a family rather than a guest, and they have a great bar for me at the end of the day to relax. It's hard to be out of town, but this hotel made my life and travels much more pleasant. "Happy Travels"

Room Tip: I stayed in the middle of property. It seemed to be very convienient, to lobby, parking lot, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4BigSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a concert I came to town for. I left my phone at the event and the lady at the front desk let me use hers to contact who I needed to. She was very friendly. The new owners have done a lot of work to this staple hotel in Des Moines. It is very nice and the rooms are up to date. It has everything you need with a resaurant and a bar inside the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fishaman36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galliano, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I was recently had a trip to DM and wasn't sure where to stay since it was my first trip there.
My travel agent recommended this place and it was a pleasant surprise! The check-in was really pleasant and smooth and all of the employees were really nice and helpful. When I checked into the room it was really clean and the beds were really comfortable. Definitely check out the penalty box-the food is great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
Extended Stay America - Des Moin...
#17 of 22 in West Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
#15 of 22 in West Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#10 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley West Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley West Inn

Property: Valley West Inn
Address: 3535 Westown Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley West Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great mallside location! Within walking distance to Target, and Hyvee (grocery store). Excellent location next to Interstate 235 in West Des Moines. Very close to downtown. Only a hop-skip-and-jump away from Des Moines entertainment venues! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valley West Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley West Hotel West Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing