We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SMH”
Review of Valley West Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Valley West Inn
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
1 review
“SMH”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Make sure you request a remodeled room. They will place you in an older, mildew smelling room if you are not knowledgeable of the Inn. I requested a roll away bed and was told they would have to find one....makes me think they went to the basement and were going ro dust me off an old cot, I'll pass! After requesting to be moved because of a filthy bathroom, I was told they could put me in another room with the same qualities, seriously? And that was all they were willing to do to accomodate me. No partial credit for the room, a meal ticket or even a toothbrush (they don't offer these items btw, just some old soap that should be called "use at your own risk")!! So, if you stay here please remember that PICS can be deceiving!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMommy214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas J, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. Unfortunately not all of our rooms have been renovated yet and some of our rooms are outdated. I apologize for the confusion on the rollaway, as our property is unique and divided into different buildings we try to keep items that we have limited amounts of such as rollaway's in storage closets throughout the property to make it easier to deliver due to stairs, unfortunately sometimes this means that we have to check the different storage areas to locate one if some of them are being used. All of our rooms offer the same qualities in regards to the amount of amenities and layout of rooms and number of beds. In order to provide rates that are lower than most of the other hotels in the area, we do have to limit our amenities that we offer such as toothbrushes and other extra request items in order to provide the low rates that we offer. I am truly sorry for the issues you experienced during your stay and will use these to work on improving our operation. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    23
    14
    25
    31
See reviews for
33
18
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The room I had was nice. It was missing a glass in the bathroom. The mirror over the desk was laying on the bed when I entered the room. I had to lean it against the wall. The location was great, close to the mall and two nice restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas J, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am sorry to hear about the mirror on the bed as that is something we should have had repaired prior to you receiving the room. I am happy to hear that despite of that you found our room nice and location great. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We liked the location - away from the usual trucker traffic. The lobby is beautiful. We stayed in the front and although the hallway, side entrance and rooms are dated, it is generally clean and comfortable. Certainly not luxury but we paid for comfort, cleanliness and a nice area of town and we for that.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas J, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our property and found it to be clean. We take pride in providing a clean, friendly, and affordable place to stay. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROSSVILLE
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Let me start this off by saying I was very nervous about our stay here after we found this was our hotel from a Hotwire booking. The lobby is great, the hall ways do need improvement but we stayed in the room and not in the hall way. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. Hotel staff was very nice. They have coffee and little cinnamon rolls in the morning. They do not advertise breakfast so don't expect it. My wife went to get ice and had to go to one of the back buildings. She said the hallway in that building stunk with an unpleasant odor. The front building we were in was fine. The next night the ice machines were fixed so the trip was not needed. It is not the Hilton but we did not pay Hilton prices either and they do not claim to be a luxury hotel. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: You want a room in the front building, (Building with the front desk)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KsSpots66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas J, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that your expectations were meet by our staff. We take pride in offering clean rooms, friendly staff, and affordable prices. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
212 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I do travel a lot, staying in Hampton Inns, usually. This hotel was cheaper. But it should be WAAAY cheaper. The room was okay, but the hallways were downright gross and creepy. Especially the back door. And it's very weird with all the steps and hallways. We were told it was 90 seconds to our room from the lobby. Maybe if you ran...
The cliental staying here can be somewhat dicey, too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TaurusMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas J, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit. We are always trying to find ways to improve our hotel. The hallway and door colors do provide us a great challenge as they do not appeal to all guests but we are working on ways to help make it more appealing. Our unique design does require the use of stairs but our back buildings are much more accommodating with a separate entrance and an elevator. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback so that we can better our operation in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Burlington, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Me and my husband just got married and were on our honeymoon. The lobby was nice, and that's about all that was nice. The person behind the counter was rude, and chewing tobacco. The hotel reeked of the smell of pot. The carpets where nasty!!! The whole place needed updated. We got the whirlpool room, which didn't work. The ceiling was falling apart, leaving bits of ceiling all over which we had to clean up to even get in the whirlpool. The vending machines gave us warm pop, and melted chocolate. They advertised a bar, which turned out to be closed down. Our stay was horrible and we will next time spend the fifteen extra minutes looking for another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas J, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for giving us your feedback. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I apologize for the issues you experienced with our property. We will continue to review our advertising on the internet to find that site that is still showing that we have a bar so that we can update that information as well. We are also working in checking the room you had to ensure that the tub is working properly. Thank you again for helping us by giving your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
Extended Stay America - Des Moin...
#19 of 22 in West Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
#15 of 22 in West Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#9 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley West Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley West Inn

Property: Valley West Inn
Address: 3535 Westown Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-1007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley West Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great mallside location! Within walking distance to Target, and Hyvee (grocery store). Excellent location next to Interstate 235 in West Des Moines. Very close to downtown. Only a hop-skip-and-jump away from Des Moines entertainment venues! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Valley West Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley West Hotel West Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing