We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Like This Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“I Like This Place”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is easy to find. I was checked in very quickly and got the exact room and location that I had asked about, very nice. The hotel is extremely well kept, pretty nice fitness center, Very nice pool area. Spacious rooms. Plenty of variety in shopping within a short drive. I was able to cook and enjoy a couple meals in the room, which is homey and money-saving. Enjoy, I did!!

Room Tip: The HyVee Grocery Store near by "is" the place to buy food. Check it out!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geotreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you were pleased with your quick check-in, our fitness center and our pool area. As well, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your spacious room, our location and your fully equipped kitchen. I will be sure to share your kind remarks with our team.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    33
    16
    9
    17
See reviews for
25
20
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is my second time staying here for work. The rooms are clean, spacious, modern, and affordable. What more can you ask for! Oh, the free grab and go breakfast is convenient as well. I recommend this hotel for everyone, business traverals and families.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fang0026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It’s great to hear that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay at a great value. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed your clean, spacious room and our grab-and-go breakfast. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed there for about a month over the summer and liked it very much. Nice location to restaurants, the mall and grocery store. We definitely liked the kitchen in our room. Lisa at the front desk was nice and always helpful. If we're in the area we will definitely stay again!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank millwind13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad that you and your Husband enjoyed our hotel's location, the amenities we had to offer and the service our staff provided. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

If not for the very reasonable weekly/monthly rates compared to name-brand extended stay hotels, I would have rated lower. Condition of the room I received was lower than expected based on the sample room shown. TV and microwave were newer but most items in room (furniture, oven, carpet, cabinets, etc) and bath were tired and worn looking. Bathroom drains had a fair amount of rust staining. There was a distinct smell of smoke which seemed odd for non-smoking floor. Biggest complaint was housekeeping did not clean my room based on the weekly schedule I setup with front desk. 9 days and still waiting for a cleaning and fresh towels/linens. Wireless internet speed was fine and staff was friendly. Ample closet space for a longer stay. Good location close to Interstate, restaurants, malls and businesses. With some moderate upgrades this would be a much, much better place to stay. Until then I could not give a high recommendation.

Room Tip: If possible, view the exact room you will be getting ahead of time to see if it meets your expectati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAD999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We are sincerely sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations. In response to your feedback, I am working with staff to improve our housekeeping and maintenance services. As well, please know, we have recently received some upgrades to our hotel and are anticipating more to come in the near future.

We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at wdm@extendedstay.com. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed here this past weekend for 1 night. I have stayed here in the past when it was Studio Plus. I'm glad that Extended Stay America took over this. When you first walk in to the lobby, you have to walk into the office as there is no front desk, which is kind of unusual. Checking in was easy and the staff person was nice and friendly.

Stayed on the first floor to the right of the lobby. When I walked into the hallway past the lobby, there was a bad smell lingering, like some horrible food smell or something. It was unpleasant and not a good way to start off the stay here. Got into the room which was a nicer looking room than when it was Studio Plus. Received a call from the front desk asking how the room was. Said it was nice so far and then advised the staff about the smell in the hallway. The other complaints I have besides the smell in the hallway (which went away when I came back to the hotel that night) was that there was no alarm clock in the room, which is kind of unusual for a motel room not to have. Had to use my cell phone as an alarm clock. There are no plastic cups in the bathroom like what you would see at other motels. Had to use the drinking cups that were in a cupboard in the kitchenette. Finally, the room needed some dusting by the ceiling in the bedroom area and the kitchen area. Might need to teach their housekeeping how to dust a little better.

All in all, it was a nice place to stay. There has been some improvement since Extended Stay America took it over. There is still signs of Studio Plus (still says Studio Plus on the room numbers). It's right off I-235 in West Des Moines, so it's easy to get to different parts of town easily. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms to the right (east) of the lobby were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am sorry to that you found there to be a slight odor in the hallways and for the level of cleanliness in your room. In response to your feedback, I am working with the housekeeping staff to improve our cleaning procedures moving forward.

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at wdm@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This was an ok stay. My biggest upset was the poor bed and the sink in the kitchen took forever to drain. Overall we liked our stay. If you are looking for a descent priced, well located place to stay in Des Moines I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtressab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am sorry to hear of the bed discomfort and the plumbing issue. In response to your feedback, I have requested maintenance to investigate the mattress condition and to address the slow drain.

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at wdm@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KATY
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here for three nights and it met our expectation. The front desk was super friendly and even remembered my name when we checked out.

Its location is closed to the Valley West Mall and many places to eat.

There's coffee in the morning and some muffins and oatmeal packages in the lobby which was convenient when we needed a quick bite heading out.

We were satisfied and would definitely come back if ever we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
3.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
#18 of 22 in West Des Moines
91 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sterling Hotel and Suites
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#13 of 48 in Des Moines
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#13 of 22 in West Des Moines
150 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#11 of 22 in West Des Moines
203 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines

Property: Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
Address: 2701 Westown Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-1441 (Formerly Studio Plus Deluxe Studios)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pool will be temporarily closed this summer for repairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio Plus Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing