We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service wins the day!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
“Service wins the day!”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

After a prestigious downtown hotel couldn't find our corporate rate, then asked me to call Chicago to get it straightened out, I told them I'd call Hampton Inn instead.

The representative from Hampton (Summer) quickly found our rates, and politely handled the call. I told her about my bad experience, and she infomed me that she was glad I selected Hampton Inn.

When I arrived at Hampton, I was greeted quickly and professionally. When I got to my room,there was a hand written note frm Summer welcoming me to The Hampton Inn West Des Moines, and letting me know the staff was available to help. she included two chocolates.

The rest of my hampton experience was equally impressive. Us

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aletaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    139
    66
    12
    2
See reviews for
168
133
28
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We have held several of our corporate sales meetings at the Hampton Inn West and the staff goes out of their way to ensure that all of our needs our met. From their meeting rooms, excellent breakfast, A/V equipment and overall hospitality - I would highly recommend this hotel for your business needs.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cody61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This was a great hotel, easy to find off I80. Quick to get to the Johnson Creek Mall area which has lots of restaurants.

Our room was spacious, clean and very nice. Your pretty standard Hampton Inn. The only downside and it was very small was that the hotel was booked so breakfast was busy. My husband was able to get food and bring it back to our room, so no real inconvenience.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stopped for a night at the Hampton Inn in West Des Moines. The room was well sized, well appointed (for a budget chain) and CLEAN - the latter being the most important aspect for us. The location, just off I-80, is ideal if you are traversing the country and need a spot for the night.

We had an excellent dinner at the Granite City Brewery near by. There is also a Panera and Starbucks close by.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Small town KS, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Since I knew I would be staying for a week, when they first assigned me a room on the 3rd floor and I knew I would be packing stuff in and out every day, I asked for something different. They couldn't accommodate my request right then because they were pretty packed but asked me to check back in the morning and immediately moved me to a room that was ideal for my needs. The A/C was leaking and the carpet was wet; they immediately fixed it. The housekeeping staff took great care to make sure I had everything I needed, often before I knew I needed it. The manager learned my name--freak accident--but took the time to make sure I was feeling okay and that everything about my stay was going well.
Extremely comfortable bed. Great internet connection. The one (minor) negative (for me) was that they were busy, busy, busy. (No surprise there, when they do so much to make your stay comfortable.) But the excellent breakfast and the room it was served in was always packed. The parking lot was almost always full. Minor inconveniences which obviously come with staying in a hotel that does such a good job, it's always full. (Oh, and I only got hot cookies one night because I was never there during their 'happy hour.' But even then, the front desk volunteered to save me one if I requested it.)

Room Tip: Ask and it shall be given. I seriously felt the staff in this hotel would do its utmost to fulfill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here while he was in Iowa on business. It was clean and the staff was friendly. It was in a good location and we would definiately stay here again.

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mlperdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

this hotel has alot to offer. i loved the location as it was easy to get to from interstate 80. it was in a quiet business park but within minutes of numerous great restaurants, groceries and the jordan creek mall. i enjoyed this as you can enjoy all that west des moines has to offer but still be in a quiet area to rest. the hotel was extremely clean and the room was very comfortable. the pool area was nice and the cookies and happy hour were bonuses. as always there was a large breakfast available with many choices. the staff was very helpful in giving directions or information. this is the nicest hampton inn we have stayed at and will return when we visit again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pckytrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#11 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#14 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Des Moines-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Des Moines-West

Property: Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Address: 7060 Lake Dr, West Des Moines, IA 50266-2524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#4 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Des Moines-West 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® hotel in Des Moines-West is conveniently located in West Des Moines, off of I-80 in West Lakes Office Park. Our Des Moines hotel is near Jordan Creek Town Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Des Moines-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West Hotel West Des Moines
Hampton Inn West Des Moines
West Des Moines Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing