We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make your stay perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
west Des Moines, United States
1 review
“Make your stay perfect”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Perfect stay...quiet, comfortable, clean..If you travel this area be sure to consider the Hampton...you will not be disappointed. The breakfast is great and you will receive a great nights sleep....The hotel has been maintained and everything seems so new.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    144
    66
    13
    3
See reviews for
175
137
28
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our usual downtown hotel was unavailable, so we decided to venture into this area, attracted by lower rates. The Hampton Inn is a bit isolated, with the Motor Vehicles office the only major building nearby, but it's right off the highway and easily visible from the exit. There are, however, no shops or restaurants within walking distance. The hotel does have a pantry shop on the premises where you can buy food, and the rooms are equipped with microwaves and mini-fridges.

Our room was quiet and clean- standard Hampton Inn. Breakfast included a good variety of hot and cold foods. My husband got his high-cholesterol stuff; I got plain oatmeal and a couple of hard-boiled eggs, although his cinnamon roll looked good!

Exercise room had one of everything; I used the elliptical trainer which worked well except that I couldn't get the TV attached to it to turn on. Pool was a nice size and I had a swim the evening we arrived. Wi-Fi worked fine.

A few areas to improve: my husband found the TV menu hard to figure out (he eventually did). We were on the ground floor and there was a light shining directly from the sidewalk into our window. This is also standard for this type of motel but it doesn't really serve a safety purpose- it just lights up the building unnecessarily and irritates the inhabitants. Finally, our window had no sheer curtain, which meant that we had to either keep the blackout curtains on and the lights on even during daytime, or have our activities visible to people walking by on the sidewalk.

Overall, though, it met our needs: clean, quiet, decent fitness facilities. We'll definitely consider a repeat visit.

Room Tip: You may want to avoid the ground floor because of the outside lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AThena53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmond, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The check-in process went smoothly, room was very clean and couldn't hear the room beside us, and the complimentary breakfast was delicious and excellent overall. The location was right off of I-80 west with shopping and restaurants very close by. We would recommend this location to others without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Troy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We are staying on the way home to Tx from visiting family in Minnesota.
The hotel is sold out but booked with Many Many baseball teams. These youths (10-14yrs?) Are running up and down the halls, yelling, throwing balls, hollering at each other, playing in the elevators, overloading them, causing others to have to take the stairs..all while the parents are down in the lobby with coolers of beer, while the kids run unsupervised. I went to the front desk who advised me they must 'catch them'. I am very unhappy and disappointed with not only the situation, but the customer service as well. Front desk told me 'thats the way it is in the summer in Des Moines. Well, exactly How Is 5he General Traveler supposed to know this? Seriously? Thats the answer to an upset guest? Not good Customer Service

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhansenwdm, General Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-West, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you kindly for taking the time to provide your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We genuinely appreciate any feedback we receive from our guests.

I would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory stay you had due to the noise and service issues you experienced. As the summer months do bring many youth sports events and teams to our area, we do hire uniformed security when we have teams stay with us in order to help prevent noise or other issues for our guests. Typically we have had success in doing so; however, it sounds as though we had fallen short during your stay. I am reviewing our service expectations with the staff to avoid any similar experiences going forward. As I would like to follow up more directly with the staff member you spoke with, as well as our security provider, I would love to know what evening you stayed with us. If you are so inclined, I can be reached by phone at 515-223-4700 or email at rhansen@ncghotels.com.

Thank you again for your comments. We would certainly appreciate the opportunity to earn your future business if you would give us another try when your travels bring you back to our area.


Ryan Hansen | General Manager
Hampton Inn - West Des Moines | 7060 Lake Drive | West Des Moines, IA 50266
P: 515.223.4700 | F: 515.221.1010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We did not enjoy our one-night stay but are impressed that the hotel honored its guarantee of a free stay if not completely satisfied.
First our reservation was inaccurate. We thought we had agreed upon a room with two double beds but instead were presented with a king bed and sofa sleeper. Because of back problems none of us could use the sofa sleeper. The rude curt reception clerk informed us that the king study was considered as a two-bed room and that there were no other rooms available.

The toilet did not flush fully when we first used it, but we were too tired from our late night arrival to hassle a plumber. Later that night the toilet became almost completely plugged.

The bathroom fan was very noisy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsalot6285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhansenwdm, General Manager at Hampton Inn Des Moines-West, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate any feedback we receive from our guests.

I would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory stay you had due to the reservation and toilet issues. I am happy to hear that we did invoke our satisfaction guarantee for you. As I would like to follow up a bit more with our staff on my end, I would love to know if your room was booked direct with the property or through a third party website so that we may try to avoid a similar reservation scenario for future guests. If you are so inclined, I can be reached by phone at 515-223-4700 or email at rhansen@ncghotels.com.

Thank you again for your comments and for choosing to stay with us. We would certainly appreciate the opportunity to earn your future business if you would give us another try when your travels bring you back to our area.


Ryan Hansen | General Manager
Hampton Inn - West Des Moines | 7060 Lake Drive | West Des Moines, IA 50266
P: 515.223.4700 | F: 515.221.1010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, MO, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The entire staff is cordial and top-notch. The rooms are very nice and the breakfast and fitness facility were just what I needed to start my day right. Corey, the tech support guy and shuttle driver is terrific. He was everywhere and ready to lend a hand when you needed it with a positive attitude. I will definitely stay next time I am in West Des Moines!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Erica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed here earlier this week (June 2014) during a work trip for my husband. What a wonderful place! Very new and updated. We were upgraded to a whirlpool suite by the very nice female assistant manager when we checked in. Score! It was much appreciated. The room is decorated very nicely. The kind bed was huge and oh so comfortable. Four pillows so no fighting over those. Clean and just really, really nice. We forgot our toothbrushes and toothpaste and the hotel provided those to us at no charge. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful! Hot and fresh: cheese omelets, sausage, biscuits with gravy, waffle machine, fresh fruit, cereal, bagels, toast, etc. They have a large lobby area with lots of seating for everyone. Plug-ins throughout so you can charge your phone or laptop. Just really great hotel!

Room Tip: The whirlpool suite with king bed is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkbyrnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
580 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#11 of 22 in West Des Moines
203 reviews
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#14 of 22 in West Des Moines
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Des Moines-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Des Moines-West

Property: Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Address: 7060 Lake Dr, West Des Moines, IA 50266-2524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Des Moines
#4 Family Hotel in West Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Des Moines-West 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® hotel in Des Moines-West is conveniently located in West Des Moines, off of I-80 in West Lakes Office Park. Our Des Moines hotel is near Jordan Creek Town Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Des Moines-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West Hotel West Des Moines
Hampton Inn West Des Moines
West Des Moines Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing