We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING INN AND LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amherst Shore Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Lorneville B&B and Inns
Jannali, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING INN AND LOCATION”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stayed here fror 2 nights in one of the chalets.Everything was perfect,including the weather.Mary and Rob are very welcoming(and very hard working)hosts.The chalet contained everything you would need for a stay including a spa bath,kitchen and refrigerator,very comfortable bed, nice bathroom,and a view from the deck over Nothumberlasnd Straight.This time of year the water is warm enough for swimming.I recommend Heather's Beach about a 20 minute drive.The dinner, which has to be ordered in advance, is excellent with lots of homegrown vegetables.Rob even found a nice local Blueberry Beer to have with my dinner. I definitely recommend this place for a relaxing stay at anytime.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekHulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and I just returned from two nights at this inn while in Amherst to attend a wedding. Mary and Rob were very warm and welcoming hosts and the breakfast they served each morning was the best ever. The grounds and gardens are meticulously groomed and each morning we were beckoned to the ocean front by the gentle lane that runs through the property. Walking the beach at low tide was a great way to begin or end our day. Our very clean ground level room (room 7) had a double bed and a twin bed, a private bathroom, desk area, small refrigerator and free wi-fi. We opened the patio doors when we were in the room to feel the brush of the ocean breezes. It is a peaceful and restful place to spend time. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If we were to stay longer than the weekend, I would have liked to try the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheopat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigonish, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Each day starts with a great breakfast-tastey scones, bacon/sausage, blueberry pancakes etc. Cocktails are at 7 followed by your evening 4 course meal which is a gastronomic delight. All breads, pasteries and desserts are baked on site and are excellent. The meals are a rare combination of taste and textures that tantalizes.
The shore line is great. You can easily spend leisurly hours reading; swimming etc. The ocean breezes and the sounds of the waves are fantastic.
Would definately recommend this place to anyone and will be returning.

Room Tip: The chalets have a wonderful vista from bedroom and living area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arva
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed at the Amherst Shore Country Inn on the last night of our 2 week vacation in Nova Scotia. It was a perfect place to say goodbye to all that we loved about our holiday. The location is beautiful! We explored the beach at low tide and relaxed by the shore before our dinner. The meal was excellent: mushroom soup, salad with blueberry dressing (very yummy), pork tenderloin, stuffed sole, lemon creme brulee, chocolate pecan pie. Everything was freshly made and delicious. Our room looked out to the ocean. It was very comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was just as satisfying as our dinner. Mary was welcoming and friendly and the atmosphere of this special inn allowed guests to feel completely relaxed. We set off for home well rested and definitely well fed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigonish
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We had a delicious supper at the inn and we highly recommend dinner here. All courses were delicious. Our room was one of the chalets and was lovely with the minor exception of the bathroom which was quite small. Would love to come back and enjoy another meal.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMAC1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stopped here for the night on our way from Halifax to P.E.I. We stayed in one of the four suites located a short distance from the Main Inn, in two very nice duplexed cottages. Each unit has it's own deck with great chairs for lounging and taking in the view. The innkeeper was very friendly and accommodating.
Our unit had a Queen four poster bed, in suite jacuzzi tub as well as a kitchenette and sitting area. Also included free wifi - a great bonus as we were on a working 'vacation'.
The property is lovely, 20 acres of farm/lawn sloping down past a large pond and gazebo to the beach. We were lucky to have the tide out and went for a walk on the red sand after dinner in town. Breakfast was a separate fee - but was absolutely amazing! We had raisin scones and blueberry pancakes and bacon - everything was cooked to perfection and came with fresh fruit, juice and tea or coffee. Well worth the price. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lex333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ns
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This review is a little late, as we were there in August 2011 (for our 2nd time). We had a suite with a jacuzzi & fireplace. It has a mini kithcen with all the dishes, etc. you woud need so you could cook your own meals, if needed.

Lots of space and a little deck area which we hung out in and had a few drinks while watching the view - amazing.

The place was showing its age in a few areas (the door handle fell off in our hand) but just little things and I would still recommend the place.

The food was great. 4 course meal and they had a great wine (one of my favourites, made locally - Jost).

The grounds are nice to walk around & though it was full when we were there, it was still quiet and service was not impeded at meal time.

We love this little place and would stay there again - would recommend it to anyone travelling in that area.

Room Tip: Would prefer the suites versus the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sevp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorneville
16.7 mi away
Comfort Inn - Amherst
Comfort Inn - Amherst
#2 of 5 in Amherst
128 reviews
20.6 mi away
Coastal Inn Sackville
Coastal Inn Sackville
#1 of 2 in Sackville
92 reviews
17.4 mi away
Amherst Wandlyn Inn
Amherst Wandlyn Inn
#4 of 5 in Amherst
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Pumpkin Inn B & B
Pumpkin Inn B & B
#3 of 3 in Port Elgin
8 reviews
17.2 mi away
Super 8 Amherst NS
Super 8 Amherst NS
#1 of 5 in Amherst
497 reviews
15.7 mi away
Apothic Inn
Apothic Inn
#1 of 5 in Amherst
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Shore Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Shore Country Inn

Property: Amherst Shore Country Inn
Address: 5091 Route 366 | RR#2 Amherst, Lorneville, Nova Scotia B4H 3X9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Lorneville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lorneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amherst Shore Country Inn is located near the town of Amherst in Lorneville, Nova Scotia. The inn is set on an oceanfront knoll along the shore of the Northumberland Strait. It boasts a spectacular sea view with a park like beach setting complete with seaside gazebo. The inn features the historic charms of a century old farmhouse, the modern conveniences of today, outstanding culinary experiences, walks on the expanse of sand flats at low tide and of course professional but relaxed hospitality. Operated by the Laceby family since 1980 it is a well established Nova Scotia Country Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amherst Shore Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Amherst
Amherst Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing