We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a local "secret" any more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amherst Shore Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Lorneville B&B and Inns
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a local "secret" any more!”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Mary and Rob provide an extraordinary meal that includes vegetables and herbs freshly picked from their beautiful garden. Dinner began with fresh tomato bisque and then a mixed green salad with perfectly ripened peaches and a light vinaigrette dressing. The chicken wrapped in prosciutto and stuffed with brie was accompanied by perfectly prepared baby vegetables from the garden. Dessert included a choice of two sweet treats of homemade pastries that highlighted blueberries in season and a lemon cheesecake with chocolate to die for. The locals we met at dinner, who regularly dine here, were celebrating a family event and opined they hoped Amherst Shore Country Inn would remain a “local secret”… Shhhh! Don’t tell anyone that this was one of the most memorable meals we have ever had!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We did not get to do their dinner because of late golf down the road in Pugwash but our room was cooled and cozy when we arrived. Mary and Rob were gracious and the French toast breakfast next AM was excellent. The view from their dining windows and a short walk down the hill are goregous over the strait and bay. ( Think Adirondack chairs and white wine!) When we indicated interest in "hanging around " a bit after checkout and using their children's "chipping green" to have some fun and practice our short games, they encouraged it and Rob promptly appeared to mow the green so as to enhance our fun with best conditions.

Room Tip: Make sure you have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PepeNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Mary received us so well! Not only were we impressed by the quality of our accommodations and our meals but when the bill came, the "package deal rate" was applied and we spent less than expected. Now that's not an everyday occurrence. The sea side location is another bonus and we could go on. Ok. A bit more, Mary's hubby Rob is a top chef. Breakfast would of make the Ritz proud.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sajecoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

What a wonderful place to stay, catch your breath, enjoy wonderful food, and take in the ocean! The rooms are awesome. We stayed in a chalet which I highly recommend. There's even a beach. The gourmet food was absolutely amazing. I can't say enough about it....can't wait to go back and stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hundredacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed one night in a chalet and just didn't want to leave. The chalets overlook the gardens, fields and ocean and are nicely decorated and outfitted - stovetop, fridge, coffee maker with provisions plus a queen fourposter bed, a jacuzzi tub, living room area with flatscreen TV, desk, etc. Linens are plush and spa-like. We also had dinner and breakfast in the inn and those were wonderful meals - expertly prepared and served. Mary and Rob are wonderful hosts, welcoming and accomodating and on top of their game in running the inn and dining room. I only wish this place was closer to home so that we could take a weekend away without a lot of planning and driving. Hope to return!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buhuxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannali, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stayed here fror 2 nights in one of the chalets.Everything was perfect,including the weather.Mary and Rob are very welcoming(and very hard working)hosts.The chalet contained everything you would need for a stay including a spa bath,kitchen and refrigerator,very comfortable bed, nice bathroom,and a view from the deck over Nothumberlasnd Straight.This time of year the water is warm enough for swimming.I recommend Heather's Beach about a 20 minute drive.The dinner, which has to be ordered in advance, is excellent with lots of homegrown vegetables.Rob even found a nice local Blueberry Beer to have with my dinner. I definitely recommend this place for a relaxing stay at anytime.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekHulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My husband and I just returned from two nights at this inn while in Amherst to attend a wedding. Mary and Rob were very warm and welcoming hosts and the breakfast they served each morning was the best ever. The grounds and gardens are meticulously groomed and each morning we were beckoned to the ocean front by the gentle lane that runs through the property. Walking the beach at low tide was a great way to begin or end our day. Our very clean ground level room (room 7) had a double bed and a twin bed, a private bathroom, desk area, small refrigerator and free wi-fi. We opened the patio doors when we were in the room to feel the brush of the ocean breezes. It is a peaceful and restful place to spend time. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If we were to stay longer than the weekend, I would have liked to try the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheopat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorneville
16.7 mi away
Comfort Inn - Amherst
Comfort Inn - Amherst
#2 of 5 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
20.6 mi away
Coastal Inn Sackville
Coastal Inn Sackville
#1 of 2 in Sackville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
19.6 mi away
Tantramar Motel
Tantramar Motel
#2 of 2 in Sackville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Super 8 Amherst NS
Super 8 Amherst NS
#1 of 5 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
7.2 mi away
Pumpkin Inn B & B
Pumpkin Inn B & B
#2 of 3 in Port Elgin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
20.7 mi away
Sackville Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Shore Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Shore Country Inn

Property: Amherst Shore Country Inn
Address: 5091 Route 366 | RR#2 Amherst, Lorneville, Nova Scotia B4H 3X9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Lorneville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lorneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amherst Shore Country Inn is located near the town of Amherst in Lorneville, Nova Scotia. The inn is set on an oceanfront knoll along the shore of the Northumberland Strait. It boasts a spectacular sea view with a park like beach setting complete with seaside gazebo. The inn features the historic charms of a century old farmhouse, the modern conveniences of today, outstanding culinary experiences, walks on the expanse of sand flats at low tide and of course professional but relaxed hospitality. Operated by the Laceby family since 1980 it is a well established Nova Scotia Country Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Amherst
Amherst Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing